To be or not to be? Part #3

Posted: August 12, 2010 in To be or not to be?

Captivated by this little word “be” i looked deeper into the word and yes i know i said i was going to move on to do, but…. well i have to go with the flow.

Ephesians 5:1 says, “Therefore be imitators of God as dear children.” It goes on to say in verse 2, and walk in love, as Christ also has loved us and given Himself for us, an offering and a sacrifice to God for a sweet-smelling aroma.

my jesting the other day about putting my two most devalued words together, “be love” isn’t very funny in light of Ephesians 5:1,2. my reason for looking at this verse is that there is more to the word be than just existing, living and occupying a place. Therefore – in consequence of that; as a result; consequently; for this reason. In consequence of or as a result of, for this reason “be” imitators of God as dear children. In those instructions i find purpose. i experience significance in imitating God. And if i’m not sure what that looks like He takes me back to something i am familiar with and says as dear children. i am not so old as to not remember those days but if i were, i would only have to watch my grandchildren. They are little mimics of their parents. Sometimes for the good and not so much other times. Now i know that i can’t physically see God, so to me that means that i must see Him in His writings, His words and even in others who are followers of Him. That works for me! Well… some it works for me. Then i found another therefore “be.”

Luke 6:36 is the actual verse but you must keep it in context which then includes verse 35. But love your enemies, do good, and lend, hoping for nothing in return; and your reward will be great, and you will be sons of the Most High. For He is kind to the unthankful and evil. Therefore be merciful, just as your Father also is merciful.

So here we go again. Therefore – in consequence of that; as a result; consequently; for this reason. In consequence of or as a result of, for this reason “be” merciful, just as your Father. Once again in those instructions i find purpose. i experience significance in “be”ing merciful by imitating God. By the way i caught the first words of verse 35 as well. “Love your enemies.” It’s starting to hurt my ears. i got it, “be” love! And if that’s not enough the next words are, “do good.” So without further a”do” (it’s a funny).

so often i make the word complicated, but there is nothing complicated about either of these two verses. i am given a clear picture of what i am to “be.” i can only hope that “do” is as clear.

If i go back to Luke 6:36 it says, “do good.” And i could take it that the way i am to do good is to “Be” love to my enemies, and to lend hoping for nothing in return. My, my, my, my,my! i feel the need to selah! (pause and think on that) And as sure as i say that the verse we used from James a day or so comes back . James 1:22 But be doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving yourselves. In conjunction with Luke 6:36 all i can say is once again, my, my, my, my, my! i don’t want to be (ha ha) misunderstood. I by nature am a giver and for many years have lived by the policy that i don’t lend money, i give money. No strings attached. No expectation of it being returned. If i can’t give it freely then i don’t give it. So it’s not the giving part that causes my selah (pause and think on that).

i am considering if God is telling me that in some current circumstances i am not being a doer of the word in regards to the lending aspect of these verses. So before i open mouth and insert foot i will be a doer of another verse that comes from James 1:19 Understand [this], my beloved brethren. Let every man be quick to hear [a ready listener], slow to speak, slow to take offense and to get angry. No, i’m not getting angry. The words quick to listen, slow to speak are just good directions for any situation, specifically when i am unsure of what i’m speaking about. So God, spirit and readers, i’ll get back to you on this.

Leave a Reply

