Mellifluous – Oh no!

Posted: September 22, 2010 in Mellifluous

Here i am doing life with a group of people who are at least 25 years younger than i am. i see that my years of life experience could save them much time and energy but my experience from raising my own two children tells me they most likely will have to learn much of life on their own. But doing life together with these individuals is not all about what i can offer them. No they often bring… yes sometimes challenges… sometimes frustration… but so often new life or new perspective to my experiences. This series of writings is just that. Many of these songs i would never have searched out, let alone listen to. But that being said they are speaking volumes to me.

Yesterday the song spoke about almost letting go and i shared that i have been there. But for God! Regarding that song and this person, i hope as we continue to do life together, that we can remind each other of the mercy of God that the song talks about and that we both have had to rely on.

Unlike the first two songs, today’s song and artist i am familiar with. i hope that shows i’m not totally out of touch. Yesterday the song spoke about almost letting go and i shared that i have been there. BUT FOR GOD! That takes me right into today’s song and intercession for yet another person. This is a person whom i’ve known for a little over a year and all my can say is WOW! The growth that has come in that short period of time has been an encouragement to myself and many others. Sometimes to the point of others being jealous. my heart is leading me to put this song into the third person, as though it is the Father singing these words back to this individual. The capitalized words are the changes i made to accomplish that. Please forgive me Matt Redmond.

01 – You Never Let Go – Matt Redmond

Even though YOU walk through the valley of the shadow of death
MY perfect love is casting out fear
And even when YOUR caught in the middle of the storms of this life
YOU won’t turn back
YOU know I AM near
And YOU will fear no evil
For I YOUR God is with YOU
And if I YOUR God is with YOU
Whom then shall YOU fear?
Whom then shall YOU fear?

(Chorus:)
Oh no, I WILL never let go
Through the calm and through the storm
Oh no, I WILL never let go
In every high and every low
Oh no, I WILL never let go
I YOUR LORD, WILL never let go of YOU

And YOU see a light that is coming for the heart that holds on
A glorious light beyond all compare
And there will be an end to these troubles
But until that day comes
YOU WILL live to know YOU here on the earth

Yes, YOU can see a light that is coming for the heart that holds on
And there will be an end to these troubles
But until that day comes
Still YOU will praise ME, still YOU will praise ME

The word that comes to me  is Psalm 56:4 By [the help of] God you will praise His word; on God you lean, rely, and confidently put your trust; you will not fear. What can man, who is flesh, do to you?
When to many of my thoughts are on what i think man and flesh can do to me, and i almost give up, i must remember that “By [the help of] God I will praise His word” because He never lets go, never lets go of me!
Comments
  1. Nickel Cilia says:

    This song is perfect for this person’s current situation of growth and stretching. I agree, the growth in this person through this past year has been amazing 😀 It can only be credited to God alone, and the blessing that Onething has been in this person’s life!

Leave a Reply

