Segula – A Righteous Man

Posted: October 19, 2010 in Segula

i am looking back at the beginning of the nation of Israel. Their forefathers were settling into the Promised Land and Joshua, their leader, had challenged them,

Joshua 24:14, “Now fear the Lord and serve Him with all faithfulness. Throw away the gods your forefathers worshiped beyond the River and in Egypt, and serve the Lord.

So if i read this right there is a lack of fear for God, which triggers a lack of faithfulness in serving God, which allows them to set up some other gods. Keeping in mind of course that this has been handed down from their forefathers. It’s like a family recipe.

(Joshua 24:15) But if serving the Lord seems undesirable to you, then choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve, whether the gods your forefathers served beyond the River, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land you are living. But as for me and my household, we will serve the Lord.”

Joshua is leaving the choice up to the people but he is really establishing some guidelines or boundaries for those he is going to do life with. He says look this is what i believe and where i intend to spend my life and so if you’re going to come with me then this is what to expect from me and my family.

(Joshua 24:16-18) And the people had responded, “Far be it from us to forsake the Lord to serve other gods! It was the Lord our God Himself who brought us & our fathers up out of Egypt, from that land of slavery, & performed those great signs before our eyes. “He protected us on our entire journey & among all the nations through which we traveled. And the Lord drove out before us all the nations…who lived in the land. We too will serve the Lord, because He is our God.”

And so the people of Israel were onboard! That generation of Israelites was faithful to its vow, “Far be it from us to forsake the Lord … because He is our God.” They didn’t forget Him, or ignore Him! They didn’t find Him insignificant nor irrelevant. Their forefathers, had a deep & abiding faith & trust in God.

But…  by the time of Malachi it is painfully obvious that the nation of Israel, as a whole, had turned almost completely away from God. Listen again to what God was saying to them:

God says, “You have spoken hard, rude words to me.  “You ask, ‘When did we ever do that?’ When you said, ‘It doesn’t pay to serve God. What do we ever get out of it? When we did what he said and went around with long faces, serious about God-of-the-Angel-Armies, what difference did it make? Those who take life into their own hands are the lucky ones. They break all the rules and get ahead anyway. They push God to the limit and get by with it.'”  Malichi 3:13-15 The Message

Sound familiar?  This week i am faithful to the vow, “Far be it from me to forsake the Lord … because He is my God.” i didn’t forget Him, or ignore Him! i had a deep, abiding faith and trust in God. But…  by the time of Malachi (my next week) it is painfully obvious that the nation of Israel (i), as a whole, (as an individual) had turned almost completely away from God.

i realize that i could take the heat off me by using our nation as the example instead of personalizing it towards me. But then those that i have intended this to be for would never know the struggles that i live out and through my personal intimate relationship with my heavenly Father. i have the tendency to fall short just like Israel, but i am confident enough in my relationship with God that i know He’s right there to help me get back up and on track again in my deep, abiding faith, and trust in Him.

Amplified Proverbs 24:16 For a righteous man falls seven times and rises again, but the wicked are overthrown by calamity.

Warrior… i am a warrior in my pursuit of being a righteous man.  But as Twilla Paris puts it so clearly in her song, The Warrior is a child. Sometimes i fight so hard only to trip and fall over my own feet.

01 – The Warrior Is A Child

Comments
  1. Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Thanks, However I am encountering difficulties with your RSS. I don’t understand the reason why I cannot subscribe to it. Is there anybody else getting identical RSS problems? Anyone who knows the solution can you kindly respond? Thanx!!

  2. Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Thank you, However I am encountering problems with your RSS. I don’t understand the reason why I cannot subscribe to it. Is there anybody else getting identical RSS issues? Anybody who knows the answer will you kindly respond? Thanx!!

  3. I would like to thank you for the efforts you have put in penning this website. I really hope to check out the same high-grade content from you later on as well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own site now 😉

  4. Hello there! This article couldn’t be written any better! Looking at this article reminds me of my previous roommate! He always kept preaching about this. I will forward this post to him. Fairly certain he’ll have a great read. Thanks for sharing!

  5. Marine Geans says:

    Very good article. I am dealing with many of these issues as well..

  6. Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after looking at a few of the posts I realized it’s new to me. Regardless, I’m definitely delighted I stumbled upon it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back frequently!

  7. This is the perfect blog for anybody who hopes to understand this topic. You realize a whole lot its almost hard to argue with you (not that I actually will need to…HaHa). You certainly put a brand new spin on a subject that has been written about for many years. Great stuff, just great!

  8. Next time I read a blog, I hope that it doesn’t disappoint me just as much as this particular one. After all, Yes, it was my choice to read through, nonetheless I really thought you would have something useful to say. All I hear is a bunch of moaning about something that you could fix if you weren’t too busy looking for attention.

  9. Greetings, I think your web site might be having internet browser compatibility problems. When I look at your web site in Safari, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it’s got some overlapping issues. I merely wanted to give you a quick heads up! Aside from that, great site!

  10. I’m excited to discover this great site. I need to to thank you for your time just for this fantastic read!! I definitely really liked every bit of it and I have you saved as a favorite to look at new stuff on your website.

  11. This is the perfect site for anyone who would like to understand this topic. You realize a whole lot its almost hard to argue with you (not that I really would want to…HaHa). You certainly put a fresh spin on a subject that has been written about for a long time. Great stuff, just great!

  12. Great web site you have got here.. It’s hard to find high quality writing like yours these days. I truly appreciate people like you! Take care!!

  13. Nam Teare says:

    Having read this I thought it was really informative. I appreciate you finding the time and effort to put this article together. I once again find myself personally spending way too much time both reading and commenting. But so what, it was still worth it!

  14. I would like to thank you for the efforts you have put in penning this blog. I really hope to check out the same high-grade blog posts by you later on as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my very own site now 😉

  15. Having read this I believed it was rather enlightening. I appreciate you spending some time and energy to put this informative article together. I once again find myself personally spending a lot of time both reading and leaving comments. But so what, it was still worth it!

  16. Your style is very unique in comparison to other people I’ve read stuff from. Thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I’ll just bookmark this site.

  17. Greetings! Very helpful advice within this article! It’s the little changes which will make the biggest changes. Many thanks for sharing!

  18. Howdy, I do think your website could possibly be having web browser compatibility issues. When I take a look at your website in Safari, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it’s got some overlapping issues. I merely wanted to give you a quick heads up! Apart from that, fantastic website!

  19. This website really has all the information I needed concerning this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  20. Aw, this was an extremely nice post. Taking a few minutes and actual effort to generate a good article… but what can I say… I hesitate a whole lot and never manage to get nearly anything done.

  21. Brook Dybala says:

    There is definately a great deal to know about this topic. I really like all of the points you have made.

  22. Aw, this was an incredibly good post. Taking the time and actual effort to create a great article… but what can I say… I procrastinate a lot and don’t manage to get anything done.

  23. I was extremely pleased to find this page. I need to to thank you for your time for this fantastic read!! I definitely liked every bit of it and i also have you book marked to check out new stuff on your web site.

  24. Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon everyday. It will always be helpful to read through articles from other writers and use something from their sites.

  25. Oh my goodness! Amazing article dude! Thank you so much, However I am going through issues with your RSS. I don’t understand the reason why I am unable to subscribe to it. Is there anybody having the same RSS issues? Anybody who knows the answer can you kindly respond? Thanx!!

  26. Bruna Salts says:

    Good blog post. I definitely appreciate this site. Continue the good work!

  27. Howdy! I simply want to offer you a huge thumbs up for the excellent information you have here on this post. I will be coming back to your web site for more soon.

  28. Excellent article! We will be linking to this great article on our website. Keep up the great writing.

  29. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after browsing through a few of the articles I realized it’s
    new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back often!

  30. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in accession capital
    to assert that I get actually enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Anyway I will be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently fast.

Leave a Reply

