1 Up and 1 Down – Evie 1 Corinthians 13:13

Posted: November 15, 2010 in 1 Up and 1 Down

1 Corinthians 13:13 And so faith, hope, love abide [faith–conviction and belief respecting man’s relation to God and divine things; hope–joyful and confident expectation of eternal salvation; love–true affection for God and man, growing out of God’s love for and in us], these three; but the greatest of these is love.

i’ve decided to begin with verses 8 thru 10 and i switched to the Message. Less words.

Love never dies. Inspired speech will be over some day; praying in tongues will end; understanding will reach its limit. We know only a portion of the truth, and what we say about God is always incomplete. But when the Complete arrives, our incompletes will be canceled.

It’s all great stuff but that last line is stirring my heart. “When the Complete arrives, our incompletes will be canceled. my initial thought is, of course when Jesus returns all of mans or my incompletes will be canceled. But, i don’t see this as something i’m waiting for, but rather something that i experience every day since being born again. Not a destination, but the journey of a lifetime. In my life are many incompletes, as the Complete arrives daily, it exposes the incompletes one by one, day by day, minute by minute. As i recognize them and repent from them they are canceled. i may have to revisit this one day.

 11When I was an infant at my mother’s breast, I gurgled and cooed like any infant. When I grew up, I left those infant ways for good. i shared recently that sometimes i am a warrior and other times a child.

Gurgled: to flow in a broken, irregular, noisy current.

Cooed: to utter or imitate the soft, murmuring sound characteristic of doves.

So like a child means irregular, noisy, at one moment and then soft sounding like a dove. Reminding me of my expected trip to see family. Three grandsons and our two children that all fit that description in a way. Gurgling and cooing?!

12We don’t yet see things clearly. We’re squinting in a fog, peering through a mist. But it won’t be long before the weather clears and the sun shines bright! We’ll see it all then, see it all as clearly as God sees us, knowing him directly just as he knows us!

 There is incompleteness that i don’t see. There could be a couple of reasons for that. It says, like a fog or mist. The fog or mist could be other things that have captured a portion of my attention and so i do not see the Complete as it is. Then the fog or mist could be the Complete prophesying to what is coming. Giving  me just a glimpse of incompletes in my life. At the same time letting me know that He is here to assist me in canceling them. Either way at some time, the Complete will be clear, as will the incompletes and the opportunity for the incompletes to be canceled will be in my hands.

 13But for right now, until that completeness, we have three things to do to lead us toward that consummation: Trust steadily in God, hope unswervingly, love extravagantly. And the best of the three is love.

It says, “we have three things to do to lead us toward that consummation.”  i am not to sitting around waiting for this to take place but in my, trusting steadily in God, hoping unswervingly, and loving extravagantly, i am in the process. Actions of faith for me at this point. i trust, hope, and love by faith. The Complete comes, i repent (turn away from) my lack of trust, my deferring of hope and my unwillingness to love. The Complete cancels my incompletes. Love is not the answer but the assignment, “love–true affection for God and man, growing out of God’s love for and in us”.  i realize that my hope, my “joyful and confident expectation of eternal salvation,” deferred has made my heart-sick. my lack of trust “conviction and belief respecting man’s relation to God and divine things,” has set my course in a wrong direction.

Much thanks Evie for your choice of this verse. I think i need to put on my “Headphones” and continue to meditate.

Comments
  1. Adell Wussow says:

    When I originally left a comment I appear to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four emails with the exact same comment. Perhaps there is a means you are able to remove me from that service? Thanks a lot!

  2. Lilly Locus says:

    Excellent blog you have here.. It’s difficult to find high-quality writing like yours these days. I seriously appreciate people like you! Take care!!

  3. Oh my goodness! Amazing article dude! Thanks, However I am going through issues with your RSS. I don’t know the reason why I can’t join it. Is there anybody else having similar RSS issues? Anyone that knows the solution will you kindly respond? Thanks!!

  4. Having read this I thought it was really informative. I appreciate you spending some time and effort to put this informative article together. I once again find myself spending way too much time both reading and posting comments. But so what, it was still worth it!

  5. There is certainly a great deal to find out about this topic. I really like all of the points you’ve made.

  6. Great post. I am dealing with many of these issues as well..

  7. An impressive share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a colleague who has been conducting a little research on this. And he actually bought me dinner simply because I discovered it for him… lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thanks for the meal!! But yeah, thanx for spending the time to discuss this issue here on your internet site.

  8. Having read this I believed it was rather enlightening. I appreciate you finding the time and energy to put this information together. I once again find myself spending a significant amount of time both reading and commenting. But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  9. You ought to be a part of a contest for one of the finest blogs on the web. I most certainly will highly recommend this site!

  10. This website was… how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I have found something which helped me. Thank you!

  11. May I simply say what a comfort to find somebody that actually understands what they are discussing over the internet. You actually understand how to bring a problem to light and make it important. A lot more people really need to check this out and understand this side of your story. I can’t believe you’re not more popular because you certainly have the gift.

  12. Everything is very open with a clear explanation of the challenges. It was really informative. Your website is very helpful. Many thanks for sharing!

  13. Your style is really unique in comparison to other people I have read stuff from. Many thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I will just book mark this site.

  14. Van Rodberg says:

    You’re so cool! I don’t believe I’ve truly read a single thing like that before. So good to find somebody with a few original thoughts on this topic. Really.. thanks for starting this up. This web site is one thing that’s needed on the web, someone with a little originality!

  15. Spot on with this write-up, I actually think this website needs much more attention. I’ll probably be returning to read more, thanks for the advice!

  16. I blog frequently and I genuinely appreciate your information. Your article has truly peaked my interest. I’m going to bookmark your site and keep checking for new information about once per week. I opted in for your Feed too.

  17. I blog frequently and I seriously appreciate your content. Your article has really peaked my interest. I will book mark your site and keep checking for new information about once a week. I opted in for your Feed too.

  18. Next time I read a blog, Hopefully it does not fail me as much as this particular one. After all, Yes, it was my choice to read through, however I genuinely believed you would probably have something interesting to talk about. All I hear is a bunch of complaining about something you can fix if you weren’t too busy seeking attention.

  19. My Habibi says:

    After I originally left a comment I appear to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on each time a comment is added I receive 4 emails with the same comment. There has to be an easy method you can remove me from that service? Thanks a lot!

  20. Yuk Utzinger says:

    A fascinating discussion is worth comment. There’s no doubt that that you ought to write more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but typically folks don’t discuss such subjects. To the next! Cheers!!

  21. Sung Beren says:

    Aw, this was an extremely good post. Taking a few minutes and actual effort to produce a really good article… but what can I say… I hesitate a whole lot and don’t manage to get nearly anything done.

  22. Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you penning this post and also the rest of the site is very good.

  23. Kelli Fanti says:

    The next time I read a blog, I hope that it won’t disappoint me just as much as this one. After all, I know it was my choice to read through, nonetheless I genuinely thought you’d have something interesting to say. All I hear is a bunch of crying about something you can fix if you weren’t too busy searching for attention.

  24. Great info. Lucky me I found your website by accident (stumbleupon). I’ve saved as a favorite for later!

  25. Pretty! This was an incredibly wonderful post. Thanks for providing this information.

  26. Monet Hieb says:

    Great article. I’m facing many of these issues as well..

  27. The next time I read a blog, I hope that it doesn’t disappoint me as much as this particular one. After all, I know it was my choice to read through, however I truly believed you would have something interesting to say. All I hear is a bunch of complaining about something that you could fix if you were not too busy seeking attention.

  28. Rosina Raney says:

    There’s certainly a lot to know about this topic. I really like all of the points you made.

  29. This blog was… how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I’ve found something that helped me. Thank you!

  30. Mario Nill says:

    You’re so awesome! I don’t think I have read through anything like this before. So nice to find another person with genuine thoughts on this issue. Seriously.. thank you for starting this up. This website is one thing that is needed on the internet, someone with some originality!

  31. Greetings! Very useful advice in this particular post! It’s the little changes that make the most important changes. Many thanks for sharing!

  32. Hi there! This blog post could not be written any better! Looking at this article reminds me of my previous roommate! He continually kept preaching about this. I’ll forward this article to him. Fairly certain he’s going to have a very good read. Thank you for sharing!

  33. Wow! This blog looks just like my old one!
    It’s on a completely different topic but it has pretty
    much the same page layout and design. Outstanding choice
    of colors!

  34. I blog frequently and I genuinely appreciate your content.
    This great article has truly peaked my interest. I am going to book mark your site and
    keep checking for new information about once per week. I opted in for your RSS feed as well.

  35. What’s up colleagues, pleasant article and good arguments commented here, I am really enjoying
    by these.

Leave a Reply

