To… not For… Love

Posted: December 1, 2010 in Wandering Thoughts

Anthony Robbins says, “The quality of your life is the quality of your relationships.” True or false?

From the beginning of time, God intended for men and women to enjoy relationships. So if God is all about relationships then there is truth in what Anthony is saying. Several years ago God spoke to me and said, “ed it’s time you stopped enduring people and started enjoying them. Those words rang in my head for quite some time and i am reminded of them often years later. It was one of those spiritual markers in my life. It was as if my head was on the inside of a large bell and someone kept pulling the rope to make it ring. Enjoy not endure! Enjoy not endure! Enjoy!! How funny… i am listening to music as i write and there was just now a pause in the words and music where all that i could hear were the sound of bells ringing. God and His humor!

i had no option but to dig in and see what that was to look like for me. i began by looking at some material Ann Marie and i had been teaching for some 20 years. Get this it was about the five priorities in life…. all pertaining to relationships! Yes i could teach it but living it was less than pretty or should i say truthful. It wasn’t that i disliked people, i just didn’t have need for them. i couldn’t count on them so why put myself in position to be disappointed. Anyway what i found in searching my own study material explained what God meant when He said enjoy not endure.

Relationship number one in the word is my relationship with Him.

Genesis 2:7 And the LORD God formed man of the dust of the ground, and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life; and man became a living soul.

And in verse 8 “the Lord God planted a garden toward the east, in Eden [delight]; and there He put the man whom He had formed (framed, constituted).”

Verse 15 says, “And the Lord God took the man and put him in the Garden of Eden to tend and guard and keep it.” I get a picture of that when i am setting up or taking down chairs and tables in the Onething Prayer room. It’s quiet, no one else around. Just me and God caring for His creation.

But then in verse 18 “the Lord God said, It is not good (sufficient, satisfactory) that the man should be alone; I will make him a helper meet (suitable, adapted, complementary) for him.”

And those words make Anthony Robbins words absolutely true. It is not good, sufficient, satisfactory that man should be alone. God said it clear as night and day. It’s not good that ed should be alone. Whether ed can count on anyone or not, it’s not good that he is alone. If they come one day and leave the next it’s not good that ed is alone. If they hurt ed or wound ed it is not good that ed is alone. REGARDLESS of all the ifs, it is not good that ed is alone.

And so, I/God will make him a helper meet (suitable, adapted, complementary) for him.

Yes this is specifically talking about Eve, and the husband wife relationship but i have to believe this is a life principle that God intended to be more than just that. It is the beginning of human relationships, right? Man will no longer be alone and will now have to learn what it is to be in relationship outside of God. Scratch that. Man must now learn relationship with women within the relationship of God. I guess that’s what i had to learn first. That relationships all begin and end in Him.

And so i had to redefine my relationship first with God in order to understand what enjoying verses enduring would like.

Deuteronomy 6:5-6 And you shall love the Lord your God with all your [mind and] heart and with your entire being and with all your might. And these words which I am commanding you this day shall be [first] in your [own] minds and hearts; [then]

The first and great commandment, is that i love Him, and that i do all to Him from the principle of love. i am to love God with all my heart, and soul, and might.  With a sincere love, not in word and tongue only, but inwardly in truth. With a strong love. He whom is my All, must have my all. i must love God above any whatever, and love nothing, but what i love for him. i am to love with an intelligent love. In order to love him with all my heart, and with all my understanding, i must see good reason to love him. With an entire love. He is the ONE, my heart must be united in love with.

In closing, my deepest fear is not that i am inadequate in relationships. my deepest fear is that i am powerful beyond measure. It is my light regarding relationships, not the darkness from them, that frightens me most. i am a child of God. i was were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within me. And when i let my light shine through relationship, i unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As i am set free from my own fear of relationships, God’s presence automatically frees others.

Comments
  1. I agree Ed- understanding the depth of God’s love for us and seeking him as our first priority creates the ability to accept and give love to others! The human love is not a perfect love so it may be fraught with challenges at times, yet our love/relationship with God is perfect and that allows us to enjoy others!

Leave a Reply

