Am i… Will i… A/be holy man?

Posted: December 10, 2010 in Wandering Thoughts

If i am a holy man i will strive to be like Jesus. i will not only live the life of faith in Him and draw from Him all his daily peace and strength, but i will also purpose to have the mind that was in Him and to be conformed to His image (Rom. 8:29). It will be my aim to bear with and forgive others, even as Christ forgave me. If i am a holy man i will be unselfish, even as Christ pleased not Himself, to walk in love, even as Christ loves me, to be lowly–minded and humble, even as Christ made Himself of no reputation and humbled Himself. If i am a holy man i will remember that Christ was a faithful witness for the truth, that He came not to do His own will, that it was His purpose to do His Father’s will, that He would continually deny Himself in order to minister to others, that He was meek and patient under undeserved insults, that He thought more of godly poor men than of kings, that He was full of love and compassion to sinners, that He was bold and uncompromising in denouncing sin, that He sought not the praise of men, when He might have had it, that He went about doing good, that He was separate from worldly people, that He continued instant in prayer, that He would not let even His nearest relations stand in His way when God’s work was to be done.

As a holy man i will follow after temperance and self–denial. i will purpose to put to death the desires of my flesh, to curb my passions, to restrain my sinful cravings. Jesus told the apostles, “Take heed to yourselves, lest at any time your hearts be overcharged with surfeiting, and drunkenness, and cares of this life” (Luke 21:34), The apostle Paul said, “I keep under my body, and bring it into subjection: lest that by any means, when I have preached to others, I myself should be a castaway” (1 Cor. 9:27).

As a holy man i will follow after charity and brotherly kindness. i will endeavor to observe the golden rule of doing as i would have men do to me and speaking as i would have men speak to me. i will be full of affection towards others, towards their bodies, their property, their characters, their feelings, their souls. “He who loves another,” says Paul, “has fulfilled the law” (Rom. 13:8). i will take a stand against all lying, slandering, backbiting, cheating, dishonesty and unfair dealing, even in the least things. i will not be content with doing harm, i will do good. i will strive to be useful to lessen the spiritual wants and misery around me as far as i can. Paul said, “I will very gladly spend and be spent for you,” he says, “though the more abundantly I love you, the less I be loved” (2 Cor. 12:15).

As a  holy man i will follow after purity of heart. i will dread all filthiness and uncleanness of spirit, and seek to avoid all things that might draw me into it. i know my own heart is like tinder and will diligently keep clear of the sparks of temptation.

As a holy man i will follow after the fear of God. i do not mean the fear of a slave, who only works because i am afraid of punishment and would be idle if i did not dread discovery. i mean rather the fear of a child, who wishes to live and move as if i am always before my father’s face, because He loves me. Nehemiah gives me a great example of this! When he became governor at Jerusalem, he might have been chargeable to the Jews and required of them money for his support. The former governors had done so. There was none to blame him if he did. But he says, “So did not I, because of the fear of God” (Neh. 5:15).

If i am a holy man…

Leave a Reply

