Am i… Will i… Desire?

Posted: December 13, 2010 in Wandering Thoughts

What a weekend! A wedding, a Christmas party, sharing at a church Sunday morning, many possibilities to post about but i’ll continue with holiness.

If i am a holy man i will follow after humility. i will desire, in lowliness of mind, to esteem all others better than myself. i will see more evil in my own heart than in any other. i will understand something of Abraham’s feeling, when he says, “I am dust and ashes,”  Jacob’s, when he says, “I am less than the least of all Your mercies,” Job’s, when he says, “I am vile,” and Paul’s, when he says, “I am chief of sinners.”  A man by the name of Grimshaw said in his final words, when he lay on his deathbed, “Here goes an unprofitable servant.”

If i am a holy man i will follow after faithfulness in all the duties and relations in my life. i will try, not merely to fill my place as well as others who take no thought for their souls, but even better, because i have higher motives and more help than they. Paul’s words should never be forgotten: “Whatever you do, do it heartily, as to the Lord”: “Not slothful in business; fervent in spirit; serving the Lord” (Col. 3:23; Rom. 12:11). as a holy man i should aim at doing everything well and should be ashamed of allowing myself to do anything ill. Like Daniel,i should seek to give no “occasion” against myself, except concerning the law of God (Dan. 6:5). i should strive to be a good husband, a good leader, good servant, good neighbor, good friend, good subject, good in private and good in public, and good in the marketplace. Holiness is worth little if it does not bear this kind of fruit. Jesus puts a searching question to me when He says, “What do you more than others?” (Matt. 5:47).

Last, but not least, as a holy man i will follow after spiritual–mindedness. i will endeavor to set my affections entirely on things above and to hold things on earth with a loose hand. i will not neglect the business of the life that now is, but the first place in my mind and thoughts will be given to the life to come. i will aim to live like one whose treasure is in heaven and to pass through this world like a stranger and pilgrim traveling to my home. As a holy man i will commune daily with God in prayer, in the Bible, and in the assembly of His people—these things will be my chief enjoyments. i will value everything, every place and every person, just in proportion as it draws me nearer to God. i will enter into something of David’s feeling, when he says, “My soul follows hard after You”; “You are my portion” (Ps. 63:8; 119:57).

I am not without fear that my meaning will be mistaken, and the description I have given of holiness will discourage some. I would not willingly make one righteous heart sad or throw a stumbling block in any believer’s way. I do not say for a moment that holiness eliminates the presence of indwelling sin. Far from it. As a holy man it is misery that i live in a “body of death”, that often when i would do good “evil is present with me”; that the old man is distracting my movements and, and is, trying to draw me back at every step i take. (Rom. 7:21). But it is the excellence of a holy man that i would not be at peace with sin, as others are. i am to hate it, mourn over it and long to be free from it. The work of sanctification within me is like the wall of Jerusalem—the building goes forward “even in troublous times” (Dan. 9:25).

Leave a Reply

