A Place Called “There” Intro.

Posted: January 3, 2011 in A Place Called "There"

Nobody trips over mountains.  It is the small pebble that causes you to stumble.  Pass all the pebbles in your path and you will find you have crossed the mountain.  ~Author Unknown

A Place Called “There.” This has been stirring in me for some time. i have been working on a book titled “Are We There Yet?” Well… working on may be a slight exaggeration. It was first a thought for two years. Then it was a work for a year as i put together the chapter titles and even wrote two chapters. For the past two years i have accomplished nothing other than to reference that i am writing a book. Perhaps this series of posts will give me a kick in the seat of the pants and get me back to work. Like these posts the purpose of the book is more for my children and grandchildren to read at some time after i am gone than to publish it. Both are to let them know about me and my relationship with I AM. Intertwined are life experiences. i believe my search for a place called “there” is going to be one of my most exciting life experiences.

So a legitimate question would be, “where is there?” i here people ask all the time, are you going to be there?” i hear them say, i’ve been or i was there.” There are all kinds of references to “there”. i understand that in most cases the reference to “there” is attached to a specific place or event. “There”, could be grandpa’s house, the movies, a particular eating place, any number of places.

i am intrigued by the idea of another place called “There.” It is not an event scheduled on my calendar or place my phone’s GPS can locate and direct me to. i am embarking on a journey to find “There,” in another, for lack of a better word, realm.

i believe every family or person should have a purpose statement. For me it brings perspective to my life especially in the hard times. It was my “there” for a long time. For Ann Marie and i “there” was, “We live each day to apply the word to us, our family and others.” Sounds really good, right? Well, it did to me. Everyday i knew my purpose, it was “There,” (applying the word) where i would find peace and satisfaction in life. 

Then one day i heard, “it’s wrong.” “Wrong?” “How can applying the word to my life be wrong?” “How can applying the word to my family be wrong?” “How can applying the word to others be wrong?” “Get behind me satan.” It took weeks before i would give any real consideration to those words, it’s wrong, and that’s because i couldn’t shake it them off. Stubborn, set in my ways, possibly but i just couldn’t get it.

Then came the question. Yes, again with i heard. The question was, “so you’re the foundation?” “No, i am not the foundation, i never said i was.” i repeated the purpose statement over and over.  “We live each day to apply the word to us, our family and others.” i wrote it down and read it to myself and then out-loud.  “We live each day to apply the word to us, our family and others.” My answer to the question was, “the word is the foundation.” “Yes, the word is the foundation,” i heard. i remember saying, “God, i’m not getting this so just get to the point.” This was causing me to doubt my purpose and i quit saying the statement everyday.

One day while studying, i was preparing to read the book of John , not for anything to do with this. John 1 says, 1IN THE beginning [before all time] was the Word (Christ),… something caused me to pause and then read it again.  1IN THE beginning [before all time] was the Word (Christ), In THE beginning (before all time) was the FOUNDATION.

Suddenly a light went on!

Leave a Reply

