A Place Called There – Elijah

Posted: January 5, 2011 in A Place Called "There"

May your passion be the kernel of corn stuck between your molars, always reminding you there’s something to tend to.  ~Jeb Dickerson,

There is more to Power in the Process to the Promise but i must continue on to “There” first.

James 5:17 says, Elijah was a human being with a nature such as we have [with feelings, affections, and a constitution like ours]; AMP.

Yet he was mightily used of God. “and he prayed earnestly for it not to rain, and no rain fell on the earth for three years and six months.” 1 King 17:1

But, Elijah didn’t have it all figured out. In 1 Kings 19:4 we see and hear a different Elijah. “But he himself went a day’s journey into the wilderness and came and sat down under a lone broom or juniper tree and asked that he might die. He said, It is enough; now, O Lord, take away my life; for I am no better than my fathers.”

Elijah wasn’t perfect; yet he called fire down from heaven three times; he was the first person to raise someone from the dead; he caused the greatest revival in history up to that point; his word started and ended a three-year drought; he multiplied food miraculously; and he is one of only two men who never died—he was caught up alive into heaven. There is a lot i have learned from Elijah, both positive and negative.

There is little background on Elijah. It wasn’t his pedigree or education that brought him into a position of influence and power. Elijah was nobody until he received a word from God. It was the word God gave him that put him into a position of leadership.

The same is true for me.  i or me, who is born again, baptized in the Holy Spirit, and has a personal intimate relationship with the Lord, has a word from God too. Just as Elijah’s word from God put him into a position of influence, i or me who has the word of God has the potential to influence others also. The only difference is that Elijah knew what he had and was bold enough to speak.

Many times i have been intimidated by the ungodly. i wasn’t boldly speaking the truth that i had from the Lord. What if Elijah hadn’t spoken the word, that prophecy to King Ahab? The drought may have occurred anyway, but Elijah wouldn’t have been able to use it to affect the nation. The people would have dismissed the drought as a natural occurrence.

Elijah was bold enough to speak before there was any proof that what he was saying would come to pass. That took faith and great courage. When the drought came as promised, Elijah became the most sought after man in the nation:

As the Lord your God lives, there is no nation or kingdom where my lord has not sent to seek you. And when they said, He is not here, he took an oath from the kingdom or nation that they had not found you. (1 Kin. 18:10).

If i would speak forth the truths God has shown me, just like Elijah, the truths i speak would ultimately prevail.

Without the correct purpose statement i could not be an Elijah. When my purpose became applying my life, my actions and my words to the word, i became bold in the truths that God gave me. It became or i should say is becoming a lifestyle for me. Even though this was years ago i am a work in progress. my hope is that with every forward step i take i leave behind some protion of myself because of the word showing through me.

Alfred Kirybski said, “The map is not the territory.” my purpose statement is not my territory (There). It (the word) is a guide to keep me on the right road.

Comments
  1. Megan says:

    I have always been a ‘results rather than process’ kind of person. If God spoke to me about something He was going to do in me, I wanted to get ‘there’ as fast as possible so I could move on to the next assignment and get THERE! Haha… But this neverending cycle of getting there just to discover that the there had moved or there was always another there to pursue left me feeling disappointed in myself & discouraged & often times I just gave up.

    My mom used to tell me that Joy is found on the journey, not at the end of it (the there). I argued with her for a long time about that. But the longer I live, the more I see that Gods whole purpose for me has never been about results, its always been about relationship with me. The process 🙂

Leave a Reply

