A Place Called “There” Love and Strength

Posted: January 26, 2011 in A Place Called "There"

When I stand before God at the end of my life, I would hope that I would not have a single bit of talent left, and could say, “I used everything you gave me.”  ~Erma Bombeck

Continuing with looking at what moving forward looks like. Thus far i have looked at Think, Focus, Aim, Give. Today is Love and Strength.

Do what i love – Only by doing what i love (Psalm 27:4) will i have enough motivation to persist during times of difficulty. All i have to do is look at what i love, then develop my habits and find a way to make a living while doing them. Today’s post is not so much about the how, but still more about the what. In order to move forward in life, i need a firm foundation to step from. (Habakkuk 2 1[OH, I know, I have been rash to talk out plainly this way to God!] I will [in my thinking] stand upon my post of observation and station myself on the tower or fortress, and will watch to see what He will say within me and what answer I will make [as His mouthpiece] to the perplexities of my complaint against Him. 2And the Lord answered me and said, Write the vision and engrave it so plainly upon tablets that everyone who passes may [be able to] read [it easily and quickly] as he hastens by. 3For the vision is yet for an appointed time and it hastens to the end [fulfillment]; it will not deceive or disappoint. Though it tarry, wait [earnestly] for it, because it will surely come; it will not be behindhand on its appointed day.) Understanding what and where i want to go in life will provide vision and spirit – my foundation. The how will come together when i know i want to keep moving forward.

“I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world.  This makes it hard to plan the day.” Elwyn Brooks White Improving the world will require more of me than enjoying the world. One is living as a spectator and the other requires active participation. For the believer i do not see the spectator as a true or viable option.

Develop my strength and faith – Because of heredity,environmental influences, and who i am created to be, i have strengths or the potential for strengths. I learned long ago that i must focus on my strengths. It used to be that i focused on my weaknesses so that i would be good at everything or at least better. Sports is a good example. i am not particularly good at any sport but i played them often when i was younger. The hope was that if i did it long enough i would get better. When it came time to picking teams i was always last and no matter how hard i tried and how many sports i endured i remained the last one picked and the humiliation finally caused me to quit playing sports. i then tried playing guitar. i never got good enough to do anything with it other than write songs for myself and family. I decided to work in areas of strength. After many years of attempts, i found that i am good at the word. Not in memorizing it but in applying my life to it. It is a strength that i continue to work on, improve in and enjoy.  (Nehemiah 8:10 Then [Ezra] told them, Go your way, eat the fat, drink the sweet drink, and send portions to him for whom nothing is prepared; for this day is holy to our Lord. And be not grieved and depressed, for the joy of the Lord is your strength and stronghold.) my strength in the Lord is my best asset for moving passed the resistance i’ll run into.

Faith: A strong belief in something without proof or evidence. Faith is believing it from the moment you pray it until the moment it is manifest. At the end of the day when i am weary from all of the effort and energy i have expended and i am sore and tired from being hit hard so many times, yet the dream is not realized, the one thing that tells me to keep going; to get up tomorrow and to keep moving forward, is my faith.That is my faith in God. i need to learn to honor this and cherish it. Faith in God  is what gives me energy and hope. And if i let it, my faith in God will deliver me to wherever i want to go in life.

“Here is the test to find whether your mission on earth is finished.  If you’re alive, it isn’t.”  Richard Bach

Leave a Reply

