By Design – Day 1

Posted: February 1, 2011 in By Design

“We are what we repeatedly do; excellence, then, is not an act but a habit.” —Aristotle

In the pursuit of “There” i have begun to wonder if i am ready to be a resident of “There.” i live in a HOA controlled community. Prior to buying my home i was required to read the HOA Covenants. If i was not in agreement with them then i would not be living there. It was required for me to sign an agreement. i am looking at “There” through those eyes. i am going all the way back to where i was created and what the covenants require of me to live “There.” So it’s back to Adam and Eden. my reason for doing this is simple. If it was good enough for Adam and the words have never been changed or revoked then it is for me today as well. So who am … and what was i created for will be found in my creation.

Genesis 2:15 And the Lord God took the man and put him in the Garden of Eden to tend and guard and keep it.

In this verse God is telling me what his intentions are for me. He is telling me of the transfer of power and authority from God to me, from heaven to earth and from the unseen to the seen world. This is the foundation of my divine authority for management and rulership over the earth.

God’s nature of holiness and integrity does not allow Him to violate His own words. So when God spoke these words, He established the conditions of His relationship to earth through mankind. He did not say, ‘’Let us have dominion over the earth.’’ He said, “Let them have dominion over the earth”. It shows that mankind is the only legal authority on the earth with the power of attorney to act on His behalf.

Then Jesus… the man… made Christ… the God… legal on the earth. This is the purpose and the power mankind has on the earth.

It is my belief that God’s original plan in creation was to extend His heavenly Kingdom on earth, and establish a family of sons, not servants, a Kingdom of sons, not subjects, commonwealth of citizens, not Christians.

It was Love that motivated the King of heaven to create spirit children/me (called mankind) to share His kingdom rulership. i was created for the purpose of rulership and leadership. And while those are positions that everyone loves the “How” is what is not so popular. In Matthew 25:34 Then the King will say to those at His right hand, Come, you blessed of My Father [you favored of God and appointed to eternal salvation], inherit (receive as your own) the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world. Jesus described the age of the Kingdom of God and its provision for me. He was saying that this Kingdom belonged to me before i was created.

i am the crowning act of a loving God. God is love. i am designed for rulership and leadership built on love. God so loved the world that He gave his only begotten Son (I john 4:16) And we/i know (understand, recognize, are conscious of, by observation and by experience) and believe (adhere to and put faith in and rely on) the love God cherishes for us/me. God is love, and he who dwells and continues in love dwells and continues in God, and God dwells and continues in him.

The role man has played inside and outside of Eden can be understood from the garden story itself. i already understand that God placed me in the garden of Eden not as a passive observer but in order for me to be an active participant in caring for the garden. i actually doubt that it was necessary for the garden’s survival, God set me apart from the rest of creation and assigns me this special task. i have never thought of this before but it appears that this action will prepare me for the similar but far more strenuous task i am to face when i must care for the rest of creation outside of the garden and prevent humanity from perishing in the process. That God prepares me for this task even before i fall and sin suggests that perhaps the duty of caring for the whole earth, and not just Eden, actually belongs to me the entire time.

In closing “People often say that motivation doesn’t last. Well, neither does bathing – that’s why we recommend it daily.” —Zig Ziglar

Leave a Reply

