By Design – Literall and Figurative

Posted: February 11, 2011 in By Design

“Don’t accept your dog’s admiration as conclusive evidence that you are wonderful.” Ann Landers

 Tilling and tending can be applied both literally and figuratively. Adam and Eve have to remove the thorns and thistles that sprout in their fields if they are to cultivate their crops successfully (Gen. 3:18). For me today, many of the dilemmas, thorns and thistles that i face are of my own making. This applies to care of the earth as well as care of my relationships. The damage i have done to both have lasting consequences for generations. i must tend to these problems and repair the damage done as best i can, lest i end up disobeying God’s command to care for the earth and my relationships.

Tending also refers to the repair of social injustices and the restoration of fundamental fairness to society when it is lacking. When God punished but did not destroy Adam and Eve, he was modeling the compassion and justice that i should have incorporated into my life. i have a duty to use reasonable methods to pull the weeds of social injustice where ever they exist.  i have been given the capability to till and tend the earth on an individual level, so too has He given me the aptitude to cooperate and make use of my skills to develop and repair the entire earth.

i somehow get the idea that God was most concerned about the relationship change between man, woman and Himself. i remember the first time my daughter was disobedient and that disobedience turned into rebellion. Reminds me of James 1:12 – 15 Blessed (happy, to be envied) is the man who is patient under trial and stands up under temptation, for when he has stood the test and been approved, he will receive [the victor’s] crown of life which God has promised to those who love Him. Adam, Eve and myself way to often are not patient and i fail to stand up under the temptation and as a result i do not receive the victor’s crown of life. i settle for less than my potential. Sometimes i find others to blame and once in a while i blame God Himself.

13Let no one say when he is tempted, I am tempted from God; for God is incapable of being tempted by [what is] evil and He Himself tempts no one. 14But every person is tempted when he is drawn away, enticed and baited by his own evil desire (lust, passions).

i have seen this in me many times. i am tempted to respond to someone or something according to my own desire and then it grows and becomes more than i ever intended it to be.

15Then the evil desire, when it has conceived, gives birth to sin, and sin, when it is fully matured, brings forth death.

Obviously it has not resulted in a physical death for me but i think much like Adam and Eve it’s a spiritual death, a relationship death and many things have become more difficult for me as a result of those times of death. It appears to me that my words that out of a revelation of relationship with the Father will come a correct response are correct. So when i find myself sitting outside the garden or while my crops are being over run with thorns and thistles i must realize that there was obviously no revelation of my relationship with Him and thus there was not a correct response.

It is by design that i have authority. It is by design that i have dominion. my design is not a visitation but a habitation of that image and likeness. i imagine that words like these that follow would come from a walk with the Father in the garden.

I dreamed I was taking a walk with my Lord,
The One I’d been longing to see,
The same caring Saviour whose bride I’d become,
Who’d suffered and died just for me.

We walked hand in hand by the smooth, crystal shore
Through daisy-filled meadows in bloom,
I glanced at His profile, so chiseled and fair,
How tender the face of my groom!

We stood by the water, his hand gripping mine,
I felt I’d been floating on air.
I turned his hand over with palm facing up,
And asked, “Is my name written there?”

So, guiding my finger, He came to a spot
That was shaped like the point of a nail.
The skin all around it was perfect and clear
But this spot was thicker and pale.

I ran my forefinger across what had been
A very deep hole in His palm.
I instantly knew I was touching The Scar
Though I tried to remain very calm.

“The names of all those who have trusted in Me
Are found ‘neath this scar in My hand.
My blood that was spilled there has covered their names
In a way that you can’t understand.

“The spike that was driven had left a deep hole
That grieved my dear Father above.
God placed the saints’ names in that raw, tender place
Then applied a scar tissue of love.”

I lifted His palm to my quivering lips
And I kissed the scar covering my name.
I knew from the tears that spilled down from my face 
That I never would be quite the same.

“If it was necessary to tolerate in other people everything that one permits oneself, life would be unbearable.” Georges Courteline

Leave a Reply

