By Design – Knock, Knock…, Knock, Knock!

Posted: February 18, 2011 in By Design

When a watch goes ill, it is not enough to move the hands; you must set the regulator.  When a man goes ill, it is not enough to alter his handiwork, you must regulate his heart.  ~Augustus William Hare and Julius Charles Hare

You would think Samson would be thankful that God bailed him out once again, but no. And as for me, well i am thankful for a time… the next time to be more precise. The next time for Samson wasn’t long: This time he loved a woman in the valley of Sorek, whose name was Delilah. And the lords of the Philistines [here they are again] came up to her, and said to her, “Entice him, and see where his great strength lies and how we may overpower him that we may bind him to afflict him. Then we will each give you eleven hundred pieces of silver. So Delilah said to Samson, “Please tell me where your great strength is and how you may be bound to afflict you.” PLEASEEEEEEEE, not again!

Sin makes no attempt to hide itself. It’s as bold as it can get. Samson opens the door and sin springs in again, this time with Delilah. It is not the power of sin that overwhelms me, but my own unwillingness to depend on the strength of the Lord to close the door of sin for me. Is  that right? It was not the power of sin that overwhelms me…, but my own unwillingness to depend on the strength of the Lord to close the door of sin for me. This takes the responsibility out of anyone elses hands and places it directly on me.

Delilah is able to open Samson’s physical door with a sexual relationship, but the enemy wants her to open his spiritual door in order to discover the secrets of his strength, and then kill him. Instead of force evil/sin uses deceit and a beautiful woman. Now it’s not entirely the enemies fault. Sampson and i are both given choice and the ability to say no. There is a series of four knocks on his spiritual door. Delilah got him physically (she got through the first door, she’s in the living room right now), and now she’s going to get into the inner secrets of his life. Look what happens, in four events.

The first knock is in verse 6: “Please tell me where your great strength is and how you may be bound to afflict you.”

She gives it away. “Hi, I’d like to bind you and then beat you to a pulp, so would you tell me what will make you weak so I can do that?”

And Samson said to her, “If they bind me with seven fresh cords that have not been dried, then I shall become weak and be like any other man.” Then the lords of the Philistines [they’re standing right outside the window] brought up to her seven fresh cords that had not been dried, and she bound him with them. Now she had men lying in wait in an inner room. And she said to him, “The Philistines are upon you, Samson!” But he snapped the cords as a string of tow snaps when it touches fire. So his strength was not discovered.

Samson was playing with Delilah like a cat plays with a mouse. i can relate to this in this way. Jesus dealt with the enemy by speaking truth and when truth was not received by the enemy Jesus simply says, “Get behind me.” He didn’t toy with the enemy. If anyone could it would have been Jesus.

Now the second knock at his door: Then Delilah said to Samson, “Behold, you have deceived me and told me lies; now please tell me, how you may be bound.” And he said to her, “If they bind me tightly with new ropes [he’s done that one before, remember?] which have not been used, then I shall become weak and be like any other man.” So Delilah took new ropes and bound him with them and said to him, “The Philistines are upon you, Samson!”  For the men were lying in wait in the inner room. But he snapped the ropes from his arms like a thread.

Again, Samson leads Delilah on a wild goose chase. He’s actually enjoying this. And why not as his flesh is satisfied by Delilah.

In this, the late afternoon of my life, I wonder: am I casting a longer shadow or is my shadow casting a shorter me?  ~Robert Brault

Leave a Reply

