By Design – Not Forgotten!

Posted: February 24, 2011 in By Design

To change one’s life: 
         1. Start immediately. 
         2. Do it flamboyantly. 
         3. No exceptions.

The Sinner Calls Out To The Lord   16:28-31

Then Samson called to the Lord and said, “O Lord God, please remember me and please strengthen me just this time, O God, that I may at once be avenged of the Philistines for my two eyes.” And Samson said, “Let me die with the Philistines!” And he bent with all his might so that the house fell on the lords and all the people who were in it. So the dead whom he killed at his death were more than those whom he killed in his life. Then his brothers and all his father’s household came down, took him, brought him up [to the tribe of Dan], and buried him between Zorah and Eshtaol in the tomb of Manoah his father. Thus he had judged Israel twenty years.

Samson cried out to God and said, “God, remember me.” No God this is ed remember me! Who did the forgetting? This should read, ed remembered God and He answered. God is not capable of forgetting us. God didn’t go away. He was right there. He just wanted Sampson to remember Him. Regardless of  how bad the situation is, all he wants is for us to remember Him. i think that God is always speaking to me and reaching out to me so i don’t have to look for Him, i just need to listen and recognize Him. Your name is ed.” “Yes, Lord.” Then ed let me strengthen you, “Lord, please strengthen me.” God honors that in spite of the fact that my motives are mixed, because God is still going to be praised in the midst of my sin. Samson wants to be strengthened so he can avenge himself on the Philistines who gouged out his eyes, but God says, “No. I’ll strengthen you so that I can fulfill what I began in your life–to begin to deliver Israel from the Philistines–and in spite of your sin I’m still going to keep my plan right on schedule.” Then Samson says, “Let me die with the Philistines,” and God says, “Yes, I’m going to do that. I’m not going to bail you out anymore.”

That’s the way i am in my flesh. my flesh has to die before there can be life. We read that Samson died, but he did more in his death than he did in his life.  When i die to my sinful nature more is accomplished through my new nature than could ever be accomplished through my old nature. Samson died physically that day, but he didn’t die spiritually. According to Hebrews 11:32, God sees him as a man of faith. As i read this over and over, and i say, “Man of faith, man of faith. If that’s a man of faith I don’t know what a man of faith is.” But what we know here is that God judges a man based on his heart, not his activities. God took Samson, and because he is in the presence of God, all his sins are forgiven in the same way that all my sins are forgiven. The only thing God is going to see in me in eternity is my life perfect. i am made perfect in Christ.

The warning, one more time: “If you do well, surely you will be accepted, but if you do not do well, sin is crouching at the door and its desire is to master you, to consume you, to rule you. You must master it by depending on the power of the Lord Jesus Christ to keep you free from its power.”

“Remember, people will judge you by your actions, not your intentions. You may have a heart of gold — but so does a hard-boiled egg.”

Leave a Reply

