Satisfaction Brought Him Back

Posted: March 8, 2011 in Wandering Thoughts

The seventh “To” is “Want To.” Webster’s defines want as: to feel a need or a desire for, crave, demand, to be deficient by the absence of some part or thing. Unless there is a feeling of need for, a craving for, a desire for or an awareness of an absence within myself, then there is no “Want To” and nothing will express motion or direction toward the point.

 i can talk about a direction toward something all day long. i can and have convinced myself that i wanter to move in a direction and then when the first cost arises, i slip away and never mention it again, that is until the next time. Real want to produces movement. i will pray all day long and tell everyone what i want to happen but there is no life, no urgency, no action. As much as i wish it were different the word does not give me “Want To.” Knowing full well the “Why To” does not give me “Want To.” But both should encourage me to want to. If i prayer for things and actually applied effort to them and believed them from a position of holiness my world would be way different. The old saying that talk is cheap, is absolutely correct.

This unknown quote is helping me to determine the level of my “Want To.”

“There’s a difference between interest and commitment. When you’re interested in doing something, you do it only when circumstance permits. When you’re committed to something, you accept no excuses.” If you do it you get it, if you don’t you won’t!

 INTEREST: something that concerns, involves, draws the attention of, or arouses the curiosity.

 COMMITTMENT: the act of committing, pledging, or engaging oneself, a promise, obligation. COMMITTING: to pledge oneself, to bind or obligate, to send into a battle.

 That sure simplifies my want to, interest or committment? Is God catching my attention, arousing curiosity, and thus i have an interest in Him and what He has to to say? Or am i willing to obligate myself, send myself into battle for Him, His word, His lifestyle and, and accept no excuses

This is what each man and woman must determine for themselves. No one can make me make a committment. In fact no one can even make me be interested. i have concluded that this is where i must write my story. i can write it from an interested perspective or from a committed perspective. John Maxwell says to make my decisions early and then all i have to do is manage them. i made my decision early and all i should be doing is managing it. But sin crouches at my door and tries to tell me that i made no such decision. That is a well dressed lie. i made the decision to commit. i may fall short but i will not doubt my decision. i will simply manage it and continue to increase the level of commitment.

There is peace in staying firm in the knowing that i made the decision to  be committed. my heart has more than a casual interest for the things of God. There is an emptiness that can only be filled through my committment to God and so i manage my mouth, my thoughts, my words and my actions.

Leave a Reply

