IF… Any Man Wills

Posted: March 10, 2011 in Wandering Thoughts

Luke 9:23 (Amp) 23And He said to all, If any person wills to come after Me, let him deny himself [disown himself, forget, lose sight of himself and his own interests, refuse and give up himself] and take up his cross daily and follow Me [cleave steadfastly to Me, conform wholly to My example in living and, if need be, in dying also].

That sounds like all or nothing to me. i can not resist in looking at the same verse in the Message. 23-27Then he told them what they could expect for themselves: “Anyone who intends to come with me has to let me lead. You’re not in the driver’s seat—I am. Don’t run from suffering; embrace it. Follow me and I’ll show you how. Self-help is no help at all. Self-sacrifice is the way, my way, to finding yourself, your true self. What good would it do to get everything you want and lose you, the real you? If any of you is embarrassed with me and the way I’m leading you, know that the Son of Man will be far more embarrassed with you when he arrives in all his splendor in company with the Father and the holy angels. This isn’t, you realize, pie in the sky by and by. Some who have taken their stand right here are going to see it happen, see with their own eyes the kingdom of God.”

i am going to use this verse to give an example of using the “TO’s.”

23-27Then he told them (WHO TO) what they (WHO TO) could expect for themselves(WHO TO): “Anyone (WHO TO) who intends (WHO TO) to come with me. If “them” does not directly include me nor “what they” or even “themselves” ANYONE certainly does, that is if i intend to come with Him, has to let me lead (WHAT TO). You’re not in the driver’s seat—I am. This is another (WHO TO) establishing who to listen to or who to be directed by. Don’t run from suffering (HOW TO); embrace it (HOW TO). Follow me (WHAT TO) and I’ll show you (WHO TO) how (HOW TO). Self-help is no help at all. (HOW TO). Self-sacrifice is the way (HOW TO), my (WHO TO) way (WHAT TO), to finding yourself (WHY TO), your true self (WHY TO). What good would it do to get everything you want and lose you, the real you? (WHY TO) If any of you is embarrassed with me and the way I’m leading you, know that the Son of Man (WHO TO) will be far more embarrassed (WHAT TO) with you (WHO TO) when he arrives (WHEN TO) in all his splendor in company with the Father and the holy angels (WHO TO). This isn’t, you (WHO TO) realize, pie in the sky by and by (WHAT TO). Some who (WHO TO) have taken their stand (WHAT TO) right here WHEN & WHERE TO) are going to see it happen (WHY TO), see with their own eyes (WHO TO) the kingdom of God WHERE TO).”

Anyway the conclusion is that IF… ed wills to go after HIM, let ed deny himself [disown himself, forget, lose sight of himself and his own interests, refuse and give up himself] and let ed take up his cross daily and follow HIM [cleave steadfastly to HIM, conform wholly to HIS example in living and, if need be, in dying also].

Matthew 10:37-39 KJV
He that loveth father or mother more than me is not worthy of me: and he that loveth son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me. And he that taketh not his cross, and followeth after me, is not worthy of me. He that findeth his life shall lose it: and he that loseth his life for my sake shall find it.

Again i just had to read it in the Message and in it’s entirity. 32-33“Stand up for me against world opinion and I’ll stand up for you before my Father in heaven. If you turn tail and run, do you think I’ll cover for you? 34-37“Don’t think I’ve come to make life cozy. I’ve come to cut—make a sharp knife-cut between son and father, daughter and mother, bride and mother-in-law—cut through these cozy domestic arrangements and free you for God. Well-meaning family members can be your worst enemies. If you prefer father or mother over me, you don’t deserve me. If you prefer son or daughter over me, you don’t deserve me. 38-39If you don’t go all the way with me, through thick and thin, you don’t deserve me. If your first concern is to look after yourself, you’ll never find yourself. But if you forget about yourself and look to me, you’ll find both yourself and me. 40-42“We are intimately linked in this harvest work. Anyone who accepts what you do, accepts me, the One who sent you. Anyone who accepts what I do accepts my Father, who sent me. Accepting a messenger of God is as good as being God’s messenger. Accepting someone’s help is as good as giving someone help. This is a large work I’ve called you into, but don’t be overwhelmed by it. It’s best to start small. Give a cool cup of water to someone who is thirsty, for instance. The smallest act of giving or receiving makes you a true apprentice. You won’t lose out on a thing.”

Comments
  1. wayne thorn says:

    I like it. It not about ME it’s about the Father and our relationship with Him. It’s all or nothing.

Leave a Reply

