Relationship and Obedience – Contradictions! ARG….

Posted: March 31, 2011 in Relationship and Obedience

Jonah’s Lesson (4:5-8) So Jonah goes out of the city to pout and see if maybe God will destroy them. Pouting? Okay so i have pouted a time or two. It is hot so God causes a plant to grow and give Jonah shade. The text says Jonah was “extremely happy about the plant.” Then, when the plant withers, Jonah wants to die. Doesn’t it seem a little odd that Jonah would be so happy about the plant and so distraught over a plant’s death? In my opinion, Jonah is all mixed up in his priorities, but then who am i to speak.

In this story i see God’s omnipotence as He controls the wind, the sea, the fish and the plant. And all of His power is directed toward a single goal – the reclamation of sinful humans – both Jonah and the Ninevites.

I think this book shows that Jonah knew a lot about God. He presumed on God’s grace and assumed his deliverance while still in the fish. Jonah knew God was compassionate and gracious and would not destroy the Assyrians if they repented. So, although Jonah knew about God, he did not want to obey him. It could even be said that Jonah disobeyed in the name of justice. The Assyrians certainly had committed enough atrocities that they deserved judgment, and Jonah wanted them to get their due. But he was ignoring the sovereignty of God and disobeying God. He also was displaying a double standard. He was forgetting that Israel had been forgiven many times for her sins and that he himself had just been forgiven for his disobedience. He was a walking contradiction. Walking contradiction! i so have a problem with walking contradictions.

I work very hard not to be a walking contradiction, but…. i am especially stirred up by Christian walking contradictions. i am staying away from examples or specifics so that i do not offend anyone who may read this. If the shoe fits wear it? Okay so i’ll use one example. We get people who come into the cafe and order a diet drink of some sort and then purchase a snickers bar with it. Contradiction? Mixed signals at the least.

I see Jonah as a good example of how we tend to judge others and consider ourselves to be better than others. Jonah’s life illustrates his failure to forgive and love. Jesus summed up the whole law in one phrase, “Love your neighbor as yourself.” Jonah clung with pride to his heritage as a Jew, the chosen people of God, and he condemned the Assyrians. I think Jonah mistakenly thought that he deserved the favor of God. He called on God for deliverance without repenting of his evil. Why did God choose Israel? Because they were the biggest nation? Because they were more spiritual than the rest? No. He chose them out of grace. If you read Eze 16, you will see a good description of what Israel was like and what God did for them. It also describes how they became proud and forsook God. They certainly did not deserve the special relationship with God.

Well i think i’m done with Jonah even though there is much more. Tomorrow is Ann Maries birthday so i do not want to be a walking contradiction who says that she is a gift from God and yet treats her as ordinary so as much as i can tomorrow will be about her. We are going away for a couple of days. As i said tomorrow is all about her and then the remaining two days are about me and I Am. While i am taking steps in the natural i have no clear-cut thus saith the Lord. i am very focused on taking my thoughts captive right now and this is proving to be a challenge with what is happening in the natural. Nothing i have not seen before but certainly things that i had hoped i would never see again. But God!
Comments
  1. Ann Marie says:

    BUT GOD….BUT GOD…..BUT GOD….THAT IS WHERE WE HAVE TO STAY. WE r only one adjustment from ….(you know the rest)…from goo to playdough!

  2. Lauri Isabel says:

    I like reading through an article that will make men and women think. Also, many thanks for allowing me to comment!

  3. Excellent article. I am experiencing some of these issues as well..

  4. You’re so cool! I do not think I’ve read through anything like that before. So wonderful to discover somebody with a few original thoughts on this issue. Seriously.. thanks for starting this up. This web site is one thing that is needed on the web, someone with a little originality!

  5. Gay Loske says:

    Good day! I simply wish to offer you a huge thumbs up for your excellent info you have here on this post. I will be returning to your site for more soon.

  6. Ilona Paskin says:

    Hello there, I believe your blog may be having browser compatibility issues. Whenever I look at your site in Safari, it looks fine however, when opening in Internet Explorer, it’s got some overlapping issues. I simply wanted to give you a quick heads up! Aside from that, wonderful website!

  7. Your style is so unique compared to other folks I have read stuff from. Thank you for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I will just bookmark this site.

  8. This is a good tip particularly to those new to the blogosphere. Simple but very accurate info… Thanks for sharing this one. A must read post!

  9. There is definately a great deal to know about this topic. I love all of the points you’ve made.

  10. Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you writing this article and also the rest of the website is also very good.

  11. Loree Tsuda says:

    You should be a part of a contest for one of the finest websites on the net. I’m going to recommend this site!

  12. Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you penning this article and also the rest of the site is extremely good.

  13. Tia Washell says:

    Very good information. Lucky me I came across your blog by chance (stumbleupon). I’ve book marked it for later!

  14. Sonja Flint says:

    I’m more than happy to discover this website. I want to to thank you for your time for this wonderful read!! I definitely liked every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to look at new information on your web site.

  15. The very next time I read a blog, Hopefully it won’t disappoint me just as much as this one. After all, I know it was my choice to read, nonetheless I really believed you’d have something useful to talk about. All I hear is a bunch of moaning about something you could possibly fix if you were not too busy looking for attention.

  16. The very next time I read a blog, I hope that it does not fail me as much as this one. After all, Yes, it was my choice to read, nonetheless I genuinely believed you would probably have something interesting to say. All I hear is a bunch of crying about something that you can fix if you were not too busy seeking attention.

  17. Having read this I thought it was extremely enlightening. I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put this informative article together. I once again find myself spending a significant amount of time both reading and posting comments. But so what, it was still worth it!

  18. Shirl Boote says:

    You made some good points there. I checked on the internet for additional information about the issue and found most people will go along with your views on this web site.

  19. Hello! I simply would like to give you a big thumbs up for the excellent info you’ve got right here on this post. I will be coming back to your blog for more soon.

  20. Greetings! Very helpful advice within this article! It is the little changes that will make the most significant changes. Thanks a lot for sharing!

  21. This is the right web site for anybody who really wants to find out about this topic. You realize a whole lot its almost tough to argue with you (not that I actually will need to…HaHa). You certainly put a new spin on a topic which has been written about for years. Wonderful stuff, just excellent!

  22. Illa Churape says:

    Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve visited this blog before but after going through many of the posts I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m certainly happy I stumbled upon it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back regularly!

  23. Next time I read a blog, Hopefully it doesn’t fail me as much as this one. I mean, Yes, it was my choice to read through, nonetheless I actually believed you would have something helpful to talk about. All I hear is a bunch of moaning about something you can fix if you were not too busy looking for attention.

  24. I like looking through a post that will make people think. Also, thank you for permitting me to comment!

  25. Shyla Jurney says:

    Hi, I do think your blog might be having internet browser compatibility problems. Whenever I look at your site in Safari, it looks fine but when opening in I.E., it has some overlapping issues. I merely wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Besides that, fantastic blog!

  26. Le Weimar says:

    This web site truly has all the information I wanted about this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  27. Your style is so unique in comparison to other folks I’ve read stuff from. Thanks for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I will just bookmark this web site.

  28. Hello, I do think your web site may be having internet browser compatibility problems. When I look at your web site in Safari, it looks fine but when opening in IE, it’s got some overlapping issues. I just wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Other than that, excellent blog!

  29. Excellent blog post. I absolutely appreciate this website. Stick with it!

  30. Samara Neita says:

    Excellent article! We are linking to this particularly great post on our site. Keep up the great writing.

  31. It’s really a great and useful piece of information. I am satisfied that you simply shared
    this useful info with us. Please stay us informed
    like this. Thank you for sharing.

  32. Excellent way of describing, and good post to obtain information about my presentation topic, which i am going to present in academy.

  33. Great beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your web site, how could i subscribe for a blog
    website? The account aided me a acceptable
    deal. I have been a little bit familiar of this your broadcast provided bright clear
    concept

  34. Hi, I do think this is a great blog. I stumbledupon it 😉 I will come back once again since i have book marked it.
    Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to help other people.

  35. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article.
    I will be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post.
    I will certainly return.

  36. You’re so cool! I don’t think I’ve truly read anything like that before.
    So nice to find somebody with a few genuine thoughts on this topic.

    Really.. many thanks for starting this up. This website is one thing that’s needed on the web, someone with
    some originality!

Leave a Reply

