Passive and Active Trusting

Posted: April 25, 2011 in Wandering Thoughts

Okay so i’m sitting with my computer set-up and ready to go, stacks of papers sorted by topic all over the place, my calculator at my side and now just waiting for my mind to engage. Immediately i get an email with instructions to read today’s Jesus Calling. Jesus Calling is the only devotional that i read fairly regular. Of course i like the format of God speaking to me directly, and it feels like the words were written just for me, all the while i know that thousands read it daily. So i read it and proceed to put away everything that i just sorted and put out to work on.

Forgive me Lord as 1 Peter 5:8-9 are my assignment. The thing bothering me is that i feel like people expect me to do what i do and to have plan A, plan B, and plan C as i have always done. i am sharing this word so that if there is disagreement with what i am doing… or should i say not doing that they will know i listened and this is what i heard.

REST IN THE STILLNESS of My presence while I prepare you for this day. Let the radiance of My Glory shine upon you, as you wait on Me in confident trust. Be still and know that I am God. There is both a passive and an active side to trusting in Me. As you rest in My Presence, focusing on Me, I quietly build bonds of trust between us. When you respond to the circumstances of your life with affirmations of trust, you actively participate in the process.

I am always with you, so you have no reason to be afraid. Your fear often manifests itself in excessive planning. Your mind is so accustomed to this pattern of thinking that you are only now becoming aware of how pervasive it is and how much it hinders your intimacy with Me. Repent of this tendency and resist it, whenever you realize you are wandering down this well-worn path. Return to My Presence, which always awaits you in the present moment. I accept you back with no condemnation.

Psalm 46:10 – Let be and be still, and know (recognize and understand) that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations! I will be exalted in the earth!

Romans 8:1 – THEREFORE, [there is] now no condemnation (no adjudging guilty of wrong) for those who are in Christ Jesus, who live [and] walk not after the dictates of the flesh, but after the dictates of the Spirit.

In closing i think this may be a better description of drafting than what i tried to share a few days ago. me drafting with I Am. i was allowed to do about 15 minutes of fact gathering and now i am simply lifting it up as Jesus did when feeding the five-thousand and said “Lord Bless it.” It being the facts and not a plan to accomplish the task.

Comments
  1. insurance says:

    In the great pattern of things you get a B- for effort. Where you misplaced us ended up being on the particulars. You know, it is said, the devil is in the details… And that could not be more correct in this article. Having said that, let me reveal to you precisely what did give good results. Your authoring is actually rather engaging which is most likely why I am taking the effort in order to opine. I do not make it a regular habit of doing that. Secondly, despite the fact that I can easily see the jumps in logic you make, I am not necessarily confident of exactly how you appear to unite the points which in turn produce the final result. For right now I shall subscribe to your position but wish in the foreseeable future you actually link your facts much better.

Leave a Reply

