The Nature of God – Psalm 84a

Posted: April 26, 2011 in The Nature Of God

It has been almost 4 years ago that i was given what was to be a word from the Lord for me. It has and continues to change my life because every time situations or circumstances come and i listen to it, it brings rest, security and encouragement to me. It’s twenty minutes long and is done by a man named Graham Cooke and assisted musically by Ruth Fazel. i know i have listened to it over one hundred times and probably closer to two hundred and i have no plans to stop listening to it any time soon, in fact i listened to it again prior to this post. i have watched as it ministers to dozens of people over the years. i can’t say that it will do anything for anyone as it is read but it is vital to me so i must share it for future reading by grandchildren.

i must preface this post by saying that Graham uses the word happiness and at first that was fine but these days i would use the word joyful, gracious and possibly peaceful in it’s place and oh ya… i am going to personalize it. Words in red and italicised are some recent thoughts about the statements made by Graham.

Psalm 84 expresses the yearnings and the prayers of a pilgrim approaching the dwelling place of God in Jerusalem. His entire being yearns for the courts of God; his soul, his heart and his flesh “cry out for the living God. The plural “tabernacles” is not the plural of amount, but of majesty. It is intended to magnify the greatness of the dwelling place of God. The passion of the Psalmist’s heart is fueled by his desire to come into God’s presence. In his observations, he has observed the sparrow and the swallow as they made their home in the dwelling place of God. This is his desire, to dwell in the security of God’s presence; to take up residence in the house of God. He envies these winged creatures who daily dwell in God’s glorious presence. With this passionate flame burning in his heart and the clarity of his objective in mind, he now must face the journey to his desired goal, the presence of God. Psalm 84 coincides with the reading by Graham and my heart.

How blessed is ed whose God is the Lord. i am immediately ready to hear more as i begin to recall just how blessed i am. 1HOW LOVELY are Your tabernacles, O Lord of hosts! 2My soul yearns, yes, even pines and is homesick for the courts of the Lord; my heart and my flesh cry out and sing for joy to the living God.

When i know, when i really know the sovereignty of God and His Lordship over all things seen and unseen. This for me has been a struggle but currently i am experiencing a new level of maturity in knowing the sovereignty of God and His Lordship over ALL THINGS SEEN AND UNSEEN.  3Yes, the sparrow has found a house, and the swallow a nest for herself, where she may lay her young–even Your altars, O Lord of hosts, my King and my God.

When i am able to confess Him as the Supreme Ruler over all things and to confess that He is my Lord and i am His possession, then at that point, i am the joyfulest of people. i could not get any joyfuler. i find a key to experiencing this joy is in my confession of Him being Ruler versus speaking the problem. 4Blessed (happy, fortunate, to be envied) are those who dwell in Your house and Your presence; they will be singing Your praises all the day long. Selah [pause, and calmly think of that]! 

Nothing could happen that could be so wonderful, that it could possibly be better than the joyfulness i have  in the Lordship and Supremacy of Jesus Christ. At 59 years old i can tell you that i have never experienced anything greater than this place that i occupy today. While it is uncomfortable because i have never been here before i would not trade it for anything else that i have experienced. 5Blessed (happy, fortunate, to be envied) is the man whose strength is in You, in whose heart are the highways to Zion.

When i know that i am situated, that i am located in the heart of the joyfulest, most powerful person ever to live, then i cannot be more joyful than at that point. Absolutely true, and only comes when i know beyond a shadow of doubt who i am because of who He is. 6Passing through the Valley of Weeping (Baca), they make it a place of springs; the early rain also fills [the pools] with blessings.

BLESSED MEN GO THROUGHThey don’t camp out. They don’t quit. They don’t have pity parties. They get up and they go on. It is here that i learn that my blessedness is not dependent upon the cause or the circumstance, but upon my response.

Comments
  1. Just last year the Presbyterian Church USA voted to receive a document that called for Father Son and Holy Spirit to be replaced or supplemented with triads such as Sun Light and Burning Ray Overflowing Font Living Water and Flowing River and Fire that Consumes Sword that Divides and Storm that Melts Mountains..That report even suggested an explicitly female triad Compassionate Mother Beloved Child Life-Giving Womb. Many feminists simply insist that they cannot or will not worship a God who names Himself exclusively in male terms.

  2. Hi! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us beneficial information to work on. You have done a wonderful job!

  3. I was suggested this website by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by
    him as no one else know such detailed about my problem.
    You are amazing! Thanks!

  4. I must thank you for the efforts you have put in penning this website.
    I really hope to check out the same high-grade blog posts by you in the future as
    well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired
    me to get my very own blog now 😉

  5. After looking over a number of the blog posts on your website, I really like your
    technique of blogging. I saved as a favorite it to my
    bookmark site list and will be checking back soon. Please
    visit my website too and let me know what you think.

  6. Definitely believe that which you said. Your favorite reason appeared
    to be on the web the easiest thing to be aware
    of. I say to you, I certainly get annoyed while
    people consider worries that they plainly do not know about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole
    thing without having side effect , people could take a signal.
    Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  7. Hi there I am so excited I found your web site, I really found
    you by accident, while I was looking on Bing for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say thank you for
    a marvelous post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have
    time to look over it all at the minute but I have book-marked it
    and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read
    more, Please do keep up the excellent work.

  8. Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the pictures on this
    blog loading? I’m trying to determine if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any responses would be greatly appreciated.

Leave a Reply

