Four Freedoms –

Posted: May 14, 2011 in Wandering Thoughts

i did not post yesterday and thus the reason for a rare Saturday post. i was sitting minding my own business when i heard the man on the television start speaking about 4 freedoms. It caught my attention and so i continued to listen where i found out that it was an art show and they were featuring Norman Rockwell paintings. The 4 freedoms were the story of how President Franklin D Roosevelt addressed congress on January 6, 1941 regarding the 4 freedoms and Norman Rockwell captured them in 4 paintings. 

When i start on a journey, it’s always good to know where i’m going. Some destinations are easier to define than others. If i’m going to take a road trip then a destination is a somewhat simple matter. As soon as i decide where i want to go, i can look it up on a map, plan my itinerary and i’m off. The destination of spiritual freedom is a bit more challenging. And political freedoms that apply to world governments seem to be impossible. One of the problems with spiritual and political freedom is that they are more of a direction than a destination. It is dangerous for me to say that i have arrived when the object is beyond my reach.

Freedom principles whether spiritual or political apply to many areas of my life. As soon as i “become free” in one area i find that i am still in bondage in another. Becoming free and living free is the journey of a lifetime.

Martha Coakly lost the senate race in Massachusetts. Her story caught my attention because of her processing of the experience. She said, “You do not win all the time, but you put in your best efforts because sometimes it’s more important to travel hopefully, than to arrive.” To accept that it is more important to travel hopefully than to arrive is to capture the spirit of every journey facing mankind.

President Roosevelt was a gifted communicator. On January 6, 1941, he addressed Congress, delivering the historic “Four Freedoms” speech. At a time when Western Europe lay under Nazi domination, Roosevelt presented a vision in which the American ideals of individual liberties were extended throughout the world. Alerting Congress and the nation to the necessity of war, Roosevelt articulated the ideological aims of the conflict. Eloquently, he appealed to Americans` most profound beliefs about freedom.

Prior to this time a man called Paul seemed to speak just as strongly about spiritual freedom and it’s effect on the world. Merrill Tenney says, “Few books have had a more profound influence on the history of mankind than has this small tract, for such it should be called. Christianity might have been just one more Jewish sect, and the thought of the Western world might have been entirely pagan had it never been written. Galatians embodies the germinal teaching on Christian freedom which separated Christianity from Judaism, and which launched it upon a career of missionary conquest. It was the cornerstone of the Protestant Reformation, because its teaching of salvation by grace alone became the dominant theme of the preaching of the Reformers.”

For me all freedom is spiritual.  The basic definition of “freedom” according to Webster’s dictionary is as follows: (1.) The quality or state of being free: as the absence of necessity, coercion, or constraint in choice or action. Freedom involves a choice. With that definition in mind here are the 4 freedoms that President Roosevelt shared as his ideas for the world.

“We look forward to a world founded upon four essential human freedoms.

The first is freedom of speech and expression–everywhere in the world.

The second is freedom of every person to worship God in his own way– everywhere in the world.

The third is freedom from want . . . everywhere in the world.

 The fourth is freedom from fear . . . anywhere in the world.

Like Paul, Roosevelt presented a vision in which the Christian/American ideals of individual liberties were extended throughout the world. Alerting Congress and the nation to the necessity of war, Paul and Roosevelt articulated the ideological aims of the conflict. Eloquently, both appealed to Christians/Americans` most profound beliefs about freedom.

Comments
  1. Chris and Beth Holmes says:

    The third is freedom from want? We both went hmm? What would this be? Chris says having everything you need and lacking nothing. Im thinking of a state of mind and not seeing your self as in lack. But what was the real meaning of this?

  2. Right here is the perfect webpage for anyone who hopes to find out about this topic. You understand so much its almost tough to argue with you (not that I really will need to…HaHa). You certainly put a fresh spin on a topic that has been written about for many years. Excellent stuff, just great!

  3. Good information. Lucky me I discovered your site by accident (stumbleupon). I’ve book marked it for later!

  4. Billye Myatt says:

    Excellent article. I am experiencing some of these issues as well..

  5. I must thank you for the efforts you have put in penning this website. I’m hoping to see the same high-grade blog posts from you in the future as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my own blog now 😉

  6. Having read this I thought it was really enlightening. I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put this information together. I once again find myself personally spending a lot of time both reading and leaving comments. But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  7. This is a great tip especially to those fresh to the blogosphere. Simple but very accurate information… Thanks for sharing this one. A must read post!

  8. Melvin Kells says:

    That is a good tip particularly to those fresh to the blogosphere. Short but very accurate information… Thank you for sharing this one. A must read post!

  9. I have to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this site. I am hoping to check out the same high-grade blog posts by you in the future as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own, personal blog now 😉

  10. Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you writing this post plus the rest of the website is very good.

  11. It’s nearly impossible to find well-informed people for this topic, however, you sound like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

  12. Elisa Jarva says:

    Your style is really unique compared to other folks I’ve read stuff from. I appreciate you for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I will just book mark this blog.

  13. Mana Kaua says:

    Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you penning this article plus the rest of the website is very good.

  14. Hi, I do think this is a great blog. I stumbledupon it 😉 I am going to come back once again since i have book-marked it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to guide others.

  15. Your style is very unique compared to other people I’ve read stuff from. Thank you for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I will just book mark this page.

  16. Excellent article. I absolutely love this site. Stick with it!

  17. After I initially commented I seem to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on each time a comment is added I receive four emails with the same comment. Is there an easy method you can remove me from that service? Thanks a lot!

  18. Having read this I believed it was extremely informative. I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put this content together. I once again find myself spending a lot of time both reading and posting comments. But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  19. Spot on with this write-up, I honestly believe that this site needs far more attention. I’ll probably be returning to read through more, thanks for the information!

  20. I was able to find good info from your articles.

  21. You need to be a part of a contest for one of the finest sites on the internet. I am going to recommend this web site!

  22. I blog often and I truly appreciate your information. This article has really peaked my interest. I’m going to take a note of your blog and keep checking for new details about once a week. I subscribed to your Feed too.

  23. Nice post. I learn something new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon on a daily basis. It’s always helpful to read articles from other writers and practice a little something from their websites.

  24. Everything is very open with a very clear explanation of the issues. It was really informative. Your website is very helpful. Thanks for sharing!

  25. I really love your blog.. Excellent colors & theme. Did you develop this website yourself? Please reply back as I’m wanting to create my own site and would like to learn where you got this from or what the theme is named. Cheers!

  26. I blog frequently and I really thank you for your content. The article has really peaked my interest. I am going to book mark your website and keep checking for new information about once per week. I subscribed to your RSS feed as well.

  27. You need to be a part of a contest for one of the most useful websites on the net. I most certainly will highly recommend this site!

  28. Pretty! This has been a really wonderful article. Thank you for providing these details.

  29. Bobbye says:

    Great article. I’m dealing with many of these issues as
    well..

  30. Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all of us you actually know what you are speaking about!
    Bookmarked. Please also consult with my website =). We could have a link alternate contract among us

Leave a Reply

