“The Egg and I”

Posted: May 16, 2011 in Wandering Thoughts

Pride is believing that I have achieved what in reality God and others have done for me and through me.

It’s a quiet afternoon and i decided to work on my project of being able to personalize the word, as well as my book and listening to an audible book. No surprise that none are getting my full attention. Oh ya, the television is on and there is an old movie called “The Egg and I” showing. It’s a ma and pa Kettle movie and i’ll save the details as they are not important. Near the end of the movie there is a fire that wipes out Fred Mac Murray and his chicken farm. As he and Claudett Colburn decide to rebuild in spite of the hardships they had already gone through there is noise and commotion coming from outside. They go out to see what it’s all about and there before them are all the people who live in the area. As they stand there, people begin yelling out what they have come to give to help them rebuild and suddenly i am overwhelmed to the point of tears. Out of the clear blue my emotions are in control and my mind is filled with gratitude for the relationships that God has been building in my life. It has been a life long desire to see people come together in spite of themselves. I find that when i see it, whether on television or for real  that it overwhelms me and brings me to tears.

It was funny and i know probably coincidence but as i was being mellifluous it began raining outside and i thought for a moment that God was shedding tears with me. Silly i know, after all it was a very old television show, not real life.

If asked for a show of hands, i know a huge number of people would say, “I am grateful for my salvation.”  Certainly if  i am saved and i know that i’m saved and i know how i got saved, and know that i couldn’t save myself as the scripture says, i am amazed at the grace it took.  So i want to continue to share about gratefulness.  As a parent i have said to my kids, “You’re the most ungrateful kid . . .” and to me now it’s understandable.  Because in order for someone to be grateful, they must recognize what has been done. And basically it is difficult for children to be grateful, because they don’t understand all that is or was being done.  That is something i understand better looking back more than when i was there.

But also, my gratefulness cannot be contained or at least it shouldn’t be contained.  True gratefulness is going to flow out of a life that has been touched by God.  Let me give you a definition of “gratefulness” – from Webster’s Dictionary  — “a feeling or expressing gratitude, being thankful, or appreciative; gratitude is a feeling of thankful appreciation for favors or benefits received; a warm appreciative response to kindness.”

Now a definition from Achieving True Success: How to Build Character as a Family – and i’m excited about the fact that this definition is more action oriented – so the definition from the Gothard book is: “Letting others know by my words and actions how they have benefited my life.”  In that definition are some “I Will’s” for me to express this quality in my life.  So for gratefulness, the “I Will’s” are: I will show my parents and teachers that i appreciate them.  i will write “thank you” notes.  i will take care of my things.  i will be content with what i have.  i will count my benefits rather than my burdens.  i want to build gratefulness in my life, if it is not already there. All of these character qualities are an expression of the character of God.  So when i become more grateful, i am becoming more like God. 

i imagine that in doing so there may just be some tears in the eyes of God.

Luke 17:11 As Jesus continued on toward Jerusalem, he reached the border between Galilee and Samaria. 12 As he entered a village there, ten lepers stood at a distance, 13crying out, “Jesus, Master, have mercy on us!” 14 He looked at them and said, A“Go show yourselves to the priests.” And as they went, they were cleansed of their leprosy. 15 One of them, when he saw that he was healed, came back to Jesus, shouting, “Praise God!” 16He fell to the ground at Jesus’ feet, thanking him for what he had done. This man was a Samaritan. 17 Jesus asked, “Didn’t I heal ten men? Where are the other nine? 18 Has no one returned to give glory to God except this foreigner?” 19 And Jesus said to the man, “Stand up and go. Your faith has healed you.”

Leave a Reply

