Action!

Posted: May 17, 2011 in Wandering Thoughts

If i keep doing what i’m doing now, where do i see myself in one year? i may make progress in some areas of my life but are they the areas that i care most about? Are they the areas that mean the most to me?

i would love to move forward in certain areas of my life but, sometimes it’s hard. Sometimes i am so used to thinking a certain way that i can’t seem to make a first definite step, even though i know deep down in my heart that it’s the right thing to do.

With that in mind, I compiled a list of actions i can take today that could make a big difference in my life:

Think as if – my present circumstances are the result of my past thinking and my future will be the result of what i am thinking now. my thoughts have to be higher than my present circumstances for me to rise higher. i must think on those things which are above. i must also think as if i have something to learn from everybody or i may cease to learn and grow in an area. Just because i don’t agree with something doesn’t mean i should be completely ignorant about it. The better option for me would be to keep an open mind at all times. If i choose to be more receptive to ideas that i’m not used to, i’ll have more opportunities to look at a different perspective that could prove beneficial to me.

Aim high – Think about the direction i have set for myself. Is it really the most that i am capable of? Chances are, i am better than i think and i can do things that i previously never thought possible. i have Christ like potential inside of me, like a seed, but i need to elevate my thoughts to agree with that Christ like potential. I refuse to be average or normal. At the low end of the spectrum i would be peculiar.

Act on one definite goal – If i direct my energy toward too many objectives at once, i won’t make enough progress in any direction. In order to move forward, i have to literally walk down a singular path toward a major definite purpose that defines what i want to do most with my life. my one definite goal in life is to love the Lord with all my heart, with all my mind and with all my strength. Out of this i will love others as myself. i should devote at least a couple of hours a day to what i am trying to accomplish in life. On average, the total number of hours a person sleeps and works in a day is 16 hours. That leaves another 8 hours of free time that can used for anything that i want. Never tell myself that i “don’t have time.” Instead, find a way to blend what i currently do with what i desire to do.

Give more than i receive – One of the greatest guarantees in life is if i give the world the best that i have to offer, i am certain to be rewarded. Seed time and harvest is a God principle not just a law. If you do it you get it if you don’t you won’t. Solving my problems in life isn’t always easy. my toughest problems often require the most creative solutions—solutions that are outside my scope of thinking. But when i help people solve problems that are similar to my own, i’ll find it easier to solve my own problems. By solving the same problem from different perspectives, i’ll find the all-inclusive answer that seems to work repeatedly.

Do what i love – Ann Marie went to a Disney training class many years ago and they told her to do what she loved and find a way to make a living at it. We have done that most of our lives. Only by doing what i love will i have enough motivation to persist during times of difficulty. When i reach a point in my life when things seem to be moving in my favor, i should stick with it. This is my best opportunity to work harder than i’ve ever worked before because i’m already moving at a faster pace because of the momentum behind me. When i have momentum, the work that i do will have a greater effect than usual and i’ll make much more progress than at any other time.

Develop my strengths – Because of heredity and environmental influences, i have strengths or the potential for strengths that others may not have. my strengths are my best asset for moving passed the resistance i’ll run into. The joy of the Lord is my strength and it is not in my own strength but it is God who all the while energizes and creates within me both the will and the desire to do His good pleasure. A lot of people focus too much on the “can’t do” portion of an important task and end up not making a move at all. Instead, i should focus on the “can do” portion so that i’ll gradually gain the sufficient tools and momentum to take on the harder parts later.

Associate with people who inspire me – i have noticed when i associate with someone long enough, their habits and ways of thinking start to rub off on me. That is because states of mind are contagious; they are transmittable from one mind to another. If i hang around someone who thinks little of themselves and has self-destructive habits, i’ll eventually show signs of being influenced by them. If i hang around someone who is confident and aims high in life, the same subsequent effect will occur.

In closing, i can not wait until the time is just right to take the first step toward taking these steps in my journey. The time will never be just right. i am making the resolution to start where i am now and go for what matters most in my life. Where i end up one year from now is up to me.

Leave a Reply

