Psalm 131

Posted: May 18, 2011 in Wandering Thoughts

The love of God reigning in my heart, will subdue self-love.

Psalm 131 – A psalm of David.

 1 Lord, my heart is not proud; my eyes are not haughty. I don’t concern myself with matters too great or too awesome for me to grasp.

To know God and my duty, is learning sufficiently high for me. It is my wisdom not to meddle with that which does not belong to me. i am to be reconciled to every condition the Lord places me in. my heart is desirous of worldly things, i cry for them, and i am fond of them; but, by the grace of God, my soul, that is made holy, is weaned from these things.

2 Instead, I have calmed and quieted myself, like a weaned child who no longer cries for its mother’s milk. Yes, like a weaned child is my soul within me.

i am as humble as a little child about the age of weaning, and as far from aiming at high things; as entirely at God’s disposal, as the child at the disposal of the mother or nurse. my converted soul quiets itself under the loss of what it loved, and disappointments in what it hoped for, and is easy whatever happens.

 3 O Israel, put your hope in the Lord— now and always.

And so i, a psalmist like David recommends confidence in God, to all people, from my own experience. It is good to hope, and quietly wait for the salvation of the Lord under every trial.

In closing i am paying close attention to the details of my days. i do not want to lose my way as the journey changes. For five years Psalm 46:10 has been shown me from every possible perspective and now is the time to experience it in fullness.
Leave a Reply

