Protective Shade

Posted: May 19, 2011 in Wandering Thoughts
“Prayer is the burden of a sigh, The falling of a tear, The upward glancing of an eye, When none but God is near.”  Unknown
 
Psalm 121
1 I look up to the mountains— does my help come from there?
 2 My help comes from the Lord, who made heaven and earth! This is an anticipation for divine help.

I look – signifies that the psalmist makes a choice of his will to look up to God. How often when faced with a test, trial or affliction, i choose to look down in self-pity or around at adverse circumstances, rather than gazing upward to God! As great as the mountains are they are subject to the One who is greater. They are limited in their abilities yet the One who made them has no limits. It’s a no brainer for me… look to the limited or the limitless?

 3 He will not let me stumble; the one who watches over me will not slumber.
 4 Indeed, he who watches over Israel never slumbers or sleeps. This is the assurance of divine help.

He works all things together for the good of those who love Him. That’s why i can not stumble. i must stay alert and stand watch AND… in stillness and KNOW that He is God. There is much competition for the role of stillness and knowing God in my life. Gifts, talents, position, finances, opportunity, all would be glad to fill the role.

 5 The Lord himself watches over me! The Lord stands beside me as my protective shade.
 6 The sun will not harm me by day, nor the moon at night.

Protective shade… i love the outdoors and those words bring a visual picture to mind. Ann Marie and i love the island of St Maarten and have been there many times. One of the things i love to do there is find a nice shade tree lay back in my chair with some worship music and then let the constant gentle breeze keep me cool. i currently feel like that with God. I have found protective shade.

 7 The Lord keeps me from all harm and watches over my life.
 8 The Lord keeps watch over me as i come and go, both now and forever.

This brings another picture. This time my protective shade is like an umbrella and as i walk my journey, my protective shade walks alongside me making sure no harm comes to me.

Yesterday i decided to go home early and take Ann Marie to lunch at one of her favorite spots. Together we sat and ate in physical protective shade while a constant breeze helped the two of us imagine that we were in St Maarten for lunch. i had already read Psalm 121 so i was able to visualize the protective spiritual shade that hoovered over us as well. God is so good and i am so blessed.

Comments
  1. business says:

    They travel down to Egypt without seeking my will seeking Pharaoh s protection and looking for safety in Egypt s protective shade. But Pharaoh s protection will bring you nothing but shame and the safety of Egypt s protective shade nothing but humiliation..

Leave a comment