Grace and Peace – Multiplied

Posted: June 6, 2011 in Grace and Peace

2 Peter 1: 2-13 May grace (God’s favor) and peace (which is perfect well-being, all necessary good, all spiritual prosperity, and freedom from fears and agitating passions and moral conflicts) be multiplied to me in [the full, personal, precise, and correct] knowledge of God and of Jesus my Lord.

i have been experiencing at a new level, two of the most precious gifts of life, grace and peace – according to the words above this is occurring because they are mine in the knowledge of God and Jesus my Lord. As i know God i gain these essentials for living. They are multiplied to me as i pursue the full, personal, precise and correct knowledge of God.

3For His divine power has bestowed upon me all things that [are requisite and suited] to life and godliness, through the [full, personal] knowledge of Him Who called me by and to His own glory and excellence (virtue).

So that says to me, His divine power has given to me all things that pertain to my life and godliness. However, not only grace and peace – but all things that pertain to life and godliness are mine through the knowledge of Him. Knowing God is the key to all things that pertain to my life. What is knowing God? For me it comes down to an always growing and maturing in understanding of God’s love for me.

i am often willing to try almost anything except the knowledge of Him. i will trust in the schemes and plans of my so called gifting instead of the knowledge of Him. i will try knowing myself instead of the knowledge of Him. i want to come to the same place the Apostle Paul did, when he said that I may know Him (Philippians 3:10).

Here the Greek word knowledge doesn’t refer to a casual acquaintance. It means an exact, complete, and thorough knowledge.

So how do i come to an exact, complete thorough knowledge of Him? There are three ways that come to me at this moment. Through His Word, through prayer, and through the community of God’s people. It is true that i need God alone, but God does not meet me only in my “aloneness” but also in the community of His people.

This knowledge of God comes to me as a calling. It is knowledge, but it is not just intellectual understanding or intuition. It is the knowledge that comes by experience – my experience that i have of God Himself. It is Jesus’ glory and virtue that motivates Him to call me, and it is His glory and virtue that draw me to Him.

4By means of these He has bestowed on me His precious and exceedingly great promises, so that through them i may escape [by flight] from the moral decay (rottenness and corruption) that is in the world because of covetousness (lust and greed), and become sharers (partakers) of the divine nature.

It is by the glory and virtue of God that He called me and that He gave me exceedingly great and precious promises. This means that the promises of God are based upon His glory and virtue, and therefore perfectly reliable. God would never compromise His glory and virtue. Psalm 138:2 reminds me that God honors His word even above His name. i never have to doubt any promise of God. Instead i should let God be true but every man a liar (Romans 3:4). For these reasons, God’s promises are both exceedingly great (in the sense of being large and imposing), and they are precious, in the sense of being valuable.

That through these i may be a partaker of His divine nature. Peter’s idea is similar to Paul’s idea of our glorious status as adopted sons and daughters of God
(Galatians 4:5-7).

i have through this knowledge the opportunity to escape the corruption that is in the world. God is above and beyond the corruption of this world. i am also above and beyond as a partaker of the divine nature. The corruption that is in the world expresses itself through lust – the ungodly wants of this world.

Leave a Reply

