Grace and Peace – Basics

Posted: June 11, 2011 in 1 Up and 1 Down
All the art of living lies in a fine mingling of letting go and holding on. Henry Ellis
2 Peter 1:2-13

12 So I intend always to remind you about these things, although indeed you know them and are firm in the truth that [you] now [hold].

13 I think it right, as long as I am in this tabernacle (tent, body), to stir you up by way of remembrance,

i like Peter explains why i write about things that have been heard before – these things to me are the basics of Christian living.

For this reason I will not be negligent to remind myself and others of these things, though you know and are established in the present truth.

For this reason: Coming to the kingdom is so important, it is helpful and necessary for Peter to remind me always of the basics of the Christian life.

I will not be negligent to remind you always of these things, though you know: Even though his readers and mine as well know the truth, in light of what was at stake – eternal destiny – it is worth it to go over theses things again and again.

A sports team going for the championship will practice the same fundamentals over and over again. They do this, even thought they know the techniques, because they know what is at stake. i as a Christian should never get tired hearing the basics of the Christian life. i should rejoice every time Jesus Christ and His gospel and plan for my life is preached.

Established in the present truth: Established is the same word translated strengthen in Luke 22:32, when Jesus told Peter “when you have returned to Me, strengthen your brethren.” Here, Peter fulfills that command of Jesus. He will establish and strengthen me by reminding me of the basics of the Christian life.

2. (13-14) The urgency in Peter’s heart and mine is this… I think it is right, as long as I am in this tent, to stir up myself and others by reminding myself and others, knowing that shortly I must put off my tent, just as our Lord Jesus Christ showed me.

I think it is right: Because of what is at stake, Peter knows it is right to remind people constantly, especially because he knows that the days of his earthly life are soon coming to an end. Shortly I must put off my tent: Peter considered his body no more than a tent. A tent is a temporary place to live. Tents should
be taken care of, but you wouldn’t invest large resources into fixing up a tent… unless your my wife, Ann Marie. You save your real resources for a more permanent place to live. My more permanent place to live is heaven, and i should invest more in heaven than in my tent.

c. How did Peter know that shortly I must put off my tent? Perhaps it was because Peter was simply getting old, just as i am. Perhaps it was because the flames of persecution were getting hotter around him. Church history tells us that Peter did die a martyr, just as our Lord Jesus Christ showed him (John 21:18-19).

This shows that Peter believed that the prophetic words of Jesus were to be fulfilled literally. Jesus showed Peter that he would die a martyr, and he believed it – even if he might have wished it were only symbolic.

i personally am not looking to die as a martyr, but i believe i would if it was required. i am speaking cautiously as i am not looking to be tested on this matter.

Here is the test to find whether your mission on Earth is finished: if you’re alive, it isn’t. Richard Bach

Read more: http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/topics/topic_life.html#ixzz1P0Txqbxg

Leave a Reply

