Prayer and Duct Tape – Unanswered Prayer

Posted: July 29, 2011 in Prayer and Duct Tape

It’s said that if it can’t be repaired with duct tape then it can’t be repaired. Where does that leave prayer?

2. Not seeking to Please the Lord – 1 John 3:22 “And whatever we ask we receive from Him, because we keep His commandments and do those things that are pleasing in His sight.” Answers to prayer come when i seek to keep His commandments and please the Lord with my life. This is not to suggest that
i “earn” answered prayers, any more than i can earn salvation which comes only by faith (Eph. 2:8-9). He answers my prayers from his “grace” and “mercy” (Heb. 4:16), not merely from my good deeds. However, keeping His commandments and pleasing the Lord is a product of my obedience to His word, which is faith in action (James 2:20). What are His commandments? He commanded that i am to love the Lord with all my heart, mind, and soul, and to love my neighbor as ourself (Mark 12:30-31). Further, Jesus said i am to love my brethren as He has loved me. “This is My commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you” (John 15:12). Lack of love, bitterness, forgiveness is the root of many unanswered prayers, since faith works by love (Gal 5:6). i believe that my hearts desire is to please the Lord, i also believe that i spend a large amount of time thinking about it and trying to let my words and deeds line up.

3. Unconfessed Sin in my Life – 1 Peter 3:12 “For the eyes of the LORD are on the righteous, And His ears are open to their prayers; But the face of the LORD is against those who do evil.” i have no doubt that sin will disrupt the flow of God’s blessings and answers to prayer. The psalmist, David wrote, “If I
regard iniquity in my heart, The Lord will not hear” (Psalm 66:18). All acts of rebellion and disobedience to God are considered sin. Sins of “commission,” are
those overt acts which are done in disobedience. However, sins of “omission,” are those things i don’t do in obedience, but know i should (James 4:17). The
remedy for all sin is to confess it to God, forsake it, and ask Him to forgive me (1 John 1:9). If there is one thing i have learned in the five years of directing a prayer center it’s to confess my sins quicker than i used to. i remember the old ed would just be quiet about them in hopes that they would go away on their own. It’s sort of embarrassing how many times a day i have to ask for forgiveness.

4. Improper Motives – James 4:3 “You ask and do not receive, because you ask amiss, that you may spend it on your pleasures.” my motives in my prayer requests are of concern to the Lord. He wishes to help me in my time of need, but is not obligated to answer prayers which will merely feed my carnal, worldly appetites and (lustful) pleasures. my motives and desires can be corrected by humbling myself, and drawing near to God (James 4:8-10). Being a giver if i am guilty of wrong motives it would have to be that i want to do things for others more than they want to or seem to want to, so ed to the rescue.

5. Not asking in God’s will – 1 John 5:14-15 “Now this is the confidence that we have in Him, that if we ask anything according to His will, He hears us.
And if we know that He hears us, whatever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we have asked of Him.”
God will only answer those prayers that are in “His” will. When i ask anything that is in His will, i can have assurance that those “petitions” (requests) are granted to me. God’s will is revealed through
His Word, the Bible. Anything promised by His Word is His will, and i can be confident that He’ll honor my prayers based on His Word… BUT… along with His will is His timing. This is also where my own perception of what the word is saying comes into play and can lead me astray. The best resolution i have found for this is to have a community of people around me that i can have discussions with to curb my perceptions.

iam begining to imagine what i’d look like if each of these were pieces of duct tape.

Comments
  1. Sugel says:

    By the breaking of that flask and the anointing of the Lord Jesus the house was pervaded with the sweetest fragrance. Whenever you meet someone who has really suffered someone who has gone through experiences with the Lord that have brought limitation and who instead of trying to break free in order to be used has been willing to be imprisoned by Him and has thus learned to find satisfaction in the Lord and nowhere else then immediately you become aware of something.

Leave a Reply

