Isaiah 58 – You Do, I Watch

Posted: September 7, 2011 in Isaiah 58

We learn the inner secret of happiness when we learn to direct our inner drives, our interest and our attention to something outside ourselves. Ethel Perry Andrus

Isaiah 58 – What I’m interested in seeing you do is:

sharing your food with the hungry, A generous man will himself be blessed, for he shares his food with the poor (Proverbs 22:9).
Matthew 25:34-40 34 “Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. 35 For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, 36 I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’ 37 “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38 When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39 When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’ 40 “The King will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.” 

i have no lack of understanding when it comes to these words.  Sharing food with the hungry is foundational. It is core to… not their life but to mine. What that looks like for me today, i’m not quite sure. And that takes on a whole new meaning if the following quote has any truth within it.

“Sharing food with another human being is an intimate act that should not be indulged in lightly.”

So i take that to mean i am not to throw a few bucks at it and call it done. i also do not take it that it just means to feed the homeless or those that are down and out. Ann Marie and i were talking about bringing people to our home and preparing a dinner for them just a few weeks ago and this would appear to be a confirmation.

i just had to throw this verse into the mix. Romans 12:20 To the contrary, “if your enemy is hungry, feed him; if he is thirsty, give him something to drink; for by so doing you will heap burning coals on his head.”

i do remember that the bread, Jesus spoke about was more than just some ingredients thrown together in a pan, baked and then handed out for eating. just to fill a void in my stomach. i get the sharing food with the hungry but i also get the sharing of the real food with those that are really hungry for more than a meal.

inviting the homeless poor into your homes, If a man shuts his ears to the cry of the poor, he too will cry out and not be answered (Proverbs 21:13).  (2 Corinthians 9:11) You will be made rich in every way so that you can be generous on every occasion, and through us your generosity will result in thanksgiving to God.

This one gets up-close and personal. It’s one thing to have someone into my home for dinner, knowing that before the night is over they will leave, and having someone take up residency. i’d like to think that my remark is due to society having changed since the days the bible was written. i’m not sure that’s true as there were murderers and rapist and the likes of anything we see today way back in time, from the exposure of man’s fascination with sin.

“Generosity is not giving me that which I need more than you do, but it is giving me that which you need more than I do.” Khalil Gibran

putting clothes on the shivering ill-clad, Suppose a brother or sister is without clothes and daily food. If one of you says to him, “Go, I wish you well; keep warm and well fed,” but does nothing about his physical needs, what good is it? (James 2:15-6).
(1 John 3:16-18) This is how we know what love is: Jesus Christ laid down his life for us. And we ought to lay down our lives for our brothers. If anyone has material possessions and sees his brother in need but has no pity on him, how can the love of God be in him? Dear children, let us not love with words or tongue but with actions and in truth.

This one is much like the first. i can walk into my closet on any given day and clothe several people and, not even miss it. i also would have no problem giving someone the shirt i am wearing and in part that may be because i know what’s in my closet. If the shirt on my back is the only one i have… well that is yet to be seen. i am a giver by nature but i have never been in the position to have to give the last of what i have and money doesn’t count in my mind as i am confident that there is more where that came from. i think i would feel the same about all these items but to be fair i must leave the door open as i have not been tested.

“He who gives what he would as readily throw away, gives without generosity; for the essence of generosity is in self-sacrifice. Henry Taylor

“Keep feeling the need for being first. But I want you to be the first in love. I want you to be the first in moral excellence. I want you to be the first in generosity. – Martin Luther King, Jr.

Comments
  1. Absolutely worth to bookmark this article. Lots of important information we can get in this web page. Superb!

  2. dieta says:

    .Isaiah 55 1-3.Psalm 145.Romans 8 35 37-39.Matthew 14 13-21Click for the podcast. Eat this bread drink this cup .Come to me and never be hungry..Eat this bread drink this cup .Trust in me and you will not thirst Have you ever noticed how often the Scriptures talk about eating and drinking? Isaiah 55 reminds us that all of the thirsty can come to the water without paying and without cost. And Paul reminds the Romans and us that absolutely nothing can separate us from the love of God that has already been poured out in Christ Jesus our Lord. The Gospel story of the multiplication begins with the ominous news of the death of John the Baptist followed by Jesus divinely inspired compassion for the crowd of hungry and thirsty people who came to him in their need. Part of the problem with our American culture is that we think that hunger and thirst are bad things that we should never ever be hungry or thirsty in life.

Leave a Reply

