Isaiah 58 – You Do I Watch #2

Posted: September 8, 2011 in Isaiah 58

The thing about family disasters is that you never have to wait long before the next one puts the previous one into perspective.   Robert Brault

i am reminded of some things Ann Marie and i have learned about giving in the situations from yesterdays post. First and foremost giving is not an option. i do not get to check my finances and then decide if i am to give nor how much i am to give. my giving has always been in faith because after all if it is impossible to please God without faith, then everything i do must be inclusive of some element of faith.

As a steward of God’s money, i am responsible to exercise wisdom as i give. i don’t think i must donate to every need. i am not responsible to
help each one of the hundreds of ministries i may hear about. i pray for wisdom, and then make choices. Once i make choices, i don’t feel guilty or sinful if i throw away a letter soliciting funds, even if it’s for a worthy cause.

We pray for wisdom. We ask God for “knowledge and depth of insight” (Philippians 1:9).  We try to identify real needs.

We give a tithe to local churches. Then we consider giving extra offerings also. i pay for my groceries at the store where i got them not the store down the street.

We support Christian workers we know. Ann Marie and i feel a sense of confidence and excitement when we support the ministries of people we know personally.

We evaluate the need if we give to an individual. If we have a friend who is a single mother struggling to make ends meet, a helping hand may go a long way. On the other hand, if we have a friend who is living irresponsibly, bailing him or her out may be the worst thing we could do. Giving cash is not the best way to help a malnourished, alcoholic parent. Buying groceries or giving a meal would be wiser.

We give to local Christian relief organizations. Why reinvent the wheel. Ann Marie and I occasionally give money to people in financial trouble, we usually prefer to give to organizations, not individuals. Local shelters and feed-the-hungry programs have the experience and expertise to make sure the money is used in the best way.

If i become burned out, i must not become stingy. It’s likely someone will try to take advantage of us at one time or another. If this happens, we can’t let the experience stop us from aiding others. We pray for the person who misused the help, and ask God to help us be wiser in the future.

Give from a thankful heart. God is interested in my heart, not just my actions. Each man should give what he has decided in his heart to give,
not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver (2 Corinthians 9:7).

Isaiah 58 – What I’m interested in seeing you do is:

being available to your own families. i was amazed to find the following information, yet i understand how it happens as i have been there. I’d like to think that i have been available to my family, but it’s not about what i’d like to think, it’s about what they think. But no doubt there have been times when life required me to be unavailable for some period of time.

George Barna, president and founder of Barna Research Group, commented: “While it may be alarming to discover that born again Christians are more
likely than others to experience a divorce, that pattern has been in place for quite some time. Even more disturbing, perhaps, is that when those individuals experience a divorce many of them feel their community of faith provides rejection rather than support and healing. But the research also raises questions regarding the effectiveness of how churches minister to families. The ultimate responsibility for a marriage belongs to the husband and wife, but the
high incidence of divorce within the Christian community challenges the idea that churches provide truly practical and life-changing support for
marriages.” According to the Dallas Morning News, a Dallas TX newspaper, the national study “raised eyebrows, sowed confusion, [and] even brought on a little holy anger.” This caused  George Barna to write a letter to his supporters, saying that he is standing by his data, even though it is upsetting. He said
that “We rarely find substantial differences” between the moral behavior of Christians and non-Christians. Barna Project Director Meg Flammang said: “We would love to be able to report that Christians are living very distinct lives and impacting the community, but … in the area of divorce rates they continue to be the same.” Both statements seem to be projecting the belief that conservative Christians and liberal Christians have the same divorce rate.

Dr. Tom Ellis, chairman of the Southern Baptist Convention’s Council on the Family said that for “…born-again Christian couples who marry…in the church after having received premarital counseling…and attend church regularly and pray daily together…” experience only 1 divorce out of nearly 39,000 marriages or 0.00256 percent.

Here’s what that says to me, premarital counseling is important and i just recently viewed some material that i will require couples to view and discuss prior to me ever marrying anyone again. Secondly, i know Dr. Ellis said, church, but my opinion would be community. Community: a group of men or women leading a common life. Doing life together day-to-day and hour to hour if necessary. Lastly he says, “Pray together daily.”

Praying puts us at risk of getting involved in God’s conditions.  Be slow to pray.  Praying most often doesn’t get us what we want but what God wants, something quite at variance with what we conceive to be in our best interests.  – Eugene Peterson

i find it interesting that praying is a part of these statistics. Not that prayer makes a difference, that part i know, but that people would recognize it as a part of the success in their marriage, that does surprise me. “If two of you shall agree on earth as touching any thing that they shall ask, it shall be done for them of My Father which is in Heaven. For where two or three are gathered together in My name, there am I in the midst of them” Matthew 18:19,20 “Ask of Me, and I will answer your requests.”

i would have thought that spending time together would have rated higher than prayer. Go God!

So many times church comes before family and the results are… well dismal.

The other night I ate at a real nice family restaurant. Every table had an argument going. George Carlin

Comments
  1. You’re so cool! I don’t believe I’ve truly read something like this before. So great to find someone with unique thoughts on this issue. Really.. thank you for starting this up. This website is something that is required on the internet, someone with a bit of originality!

  2. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after looking at many of the articles I realized it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m certainly pleased I found it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back regularly!

  3. Hello there! This blog post couldn’t be written much better! Looking at this article reminds me of my previous roommate! He constantly kept preaching about this. I am going to forward this post to him. Fairly certain he will have a very good read. Thank you for sharing!

  4. Right here is the right webpage for everyone who wants to understand this topic. You know so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I actually will need to…HaHa). You definitely put a new spin on a topic which has been written about for years. Great stuff, just excellent!

  5. You made some really good points there. I checked on the internet for more information about the issue and found most individuals will go along with your views on this website.

  6. Lucy Semrad says:

    Saved as a favorite, I like your blog!

  7. Sona Svatos says:

    Hey there! I simply want to offer you a huge thumbs up for the great information you’ve got here on this post. I will be returning to your web site for more soon.

  8. I was very happy to find this website. I need to to thank you for ones time due to this wonderful read!! I definitely loved every part of it and i also have you bookmarked to check out new stuff in your web site.

  9. You are so cool! I do not suppose I have read anything like that before. So great to find another person with original thoughts on this subject matter. Seriously.. thank you for starting this up. This web site is one thing that’s needed on the web, someone with a bit of originality!

  10. Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude! Thank you so much, However I am going through difficulties with your RSS. I don’t understand the reason why I cannot subscribe to it. Is there anybody getting the same RSS problems? Anybody who knows the answer can you kindly respond? Thanx!!

  11. You need to take part in a contest for one of the finest blogs on the net. I’m going to recommend this site!

  12. I used to be able to find good information from your blog posts.

  13. Having read this I believed it was really informative. I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put this informative article together. I once again find myself spending a significant amount of time both reading and posting comments. But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  14. Hello! I simply want to give you a huge thumbs up for your excellent information you have here on this post. I will be coming back to your web site for more soon.

  15. I have to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this site. I am hoping to view the same high-grade content from you later on as well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own, personal blog now 😉

  16. Greetings! Very helpful advice within this article! It is the little changes that make the most important changes. Thanks for sharing!

  17. Han Oglesbee says:

    Great site you have got here.. It’s difficult to find good quality writing like yours nowadays. I seriously appreciate people like you! Take care!!

  18. I like looking through a post that can make people think. Also, many thanks for allowing for me to comment!

  19. Good post. I learn something totally new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon everyday. It’s always helpful to read through content from other writers and practice a little something from other websites.

  20. I’m amazed, I must say. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s equally educative and amusing, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. The problem is something that not enough people are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I stumbled across this during my search for something relating to this.

  21. This site was… how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I have found something that helped me. Thank you!

  22. Pretty! This has been a really wonderful article. Thanks for supplying these details.

  23. Greetings! Very helpful advice in this particular article! It is the little changes which will make the most important changes. Thanks for sharing!

  24. The very next time I read a blog, Hopefully it doesn’t fail me just as much as this one. I mean, Yes, it was my choice to read through, however I really thought you would probably have something helpful to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something you could possibly fix if you were not too busy seeking attention.

  25. I could not resist commenting. Perfectly written!

  26. There is certainly a lot to learn about this issue. I really like all the points you’ve made.

  27. Yolanda Del says:

    You should be a part of a contest for one of the most useful websites online. I will highly recommend this web site!

  28. Becky Qadir says:

    Oh my goodness! Amazing article dude! Thank you so much, However I am going through difficulties with your RSS. I don’t know why I am unable to join it. Is there anyone else having the same RSS issues? Anyone that knows the answer will you kindly respond? Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

