Isaiah 58 – Here I AM

Posted: September 9, 2011 in Isaiah 58

In Russia, Christians are tested by hardship, but in America you are tested by freedom. And testing by freedom is much harder. Nobody pressures you about your religion. So you relax and are not so concentrated on Christ, on His teaching, how He wants you to live.”

i mentioned yesterday about being burned out… how do i get burned out in doing what God has told me to do? Another topic for another day.

Do this Feed the hungry, give shelter to the homeless, clothe the poor, and be there for your family. One of my favorite verses is 2 Corinthians 8:13-14 Amplified Bible (AMP) 2 Corinthians 8: 13For it is not [intended] that other people be eased and relieved [of their responsibility] and you be burdened and suffer [unfairly], 14But to have equality [share and share alike], your surplus over necessity at the present time going to meet their want and to equalize the difference created by it, so that [at some other time] their surplus in turn may be given to supply your want. Thus there may be equality,

and the lights will turn on, (NO  WANDERING IN THE DARK) and your lives will turn around at once. So is this saying, at once as in time or is at once as in everything about me? In the past i would tend to go with the time idea but now i’m thinking that it is the everything about me. i am a part of this crazy society that wants what it wants instantly yet when it comes to life changes for me i want to slow it down. my life turning around at once is more than i can… handle, understand, accept? If that were to happen what would i write about?  If my life turned around at once… what does that look like? i know that it doesn’t mean no more trials or tribulations. i know that it doesn’t mean that i immediately win the lottery and that all my relationships become fulfilling and wonderful. That is unless the entire New Testament has been rewritten in the last day or two. Your “MY” righteousness (right standing with God) will (NOT MAYBE, NOT PERHAPS) WILL pave (NO DIRT OR GRAVEL ROAD BUT PAVED) my way. i realize this could be another one of those places where taking the word so literal i could end up in trouble. But…

If my righteousness PAVES (I LIKE IT) my way then i do not have to wander around wondering what God’s will for my life is. i do not have to continually deal with feeling like less than. Right standing with God or my righteousness is found at the core of Isaiah 58. These, meaning all of them should be operating in my life for righteousness to truly be there. i don’t think this is all there is to righteousness but Isaiah 58 is the foundation for anything else to be established on.

The God of glory will secure your passage. The Glory of God WILL secure  (secure: get hold or get possession of) “my” passage. my passage… to where… to my prayers getting off the ground.

Then when you pray, No… then when i pray, yes, then.. when.. i.. pray,

God will answer. (my prayers will get off the ground. ) you’ll call out for help and I’ll say, ‘Here I am.’

CAUTION!!! This in no way is to imply that my prayers will be answered the way i want them nor in the time frame that i want. i can help those two things along by praying the Word versus my wants. CAUTION!!! i also am not saying that i am never to pray for my own desires, but i want those desires to be His desires. What i find that as i trust in the Lord i actually have less desires for me personally. Then i can focus on His desires and those of others.

Fifty-six men signed the Declaration of Independence. Their conviction resulted in untold sufferings for themselves and their families. Of the 56 men, five were captured by the British and tortured before they died. Twelve had their homes ransacked and burned. Two lost their sons in the Revolutionary Army. Another had two sons captured. Nine of the fifty-six fought and died from wounds or hardships of the war. Carter Braxton of Virginia, a wealthy planter
and trader, saw his ships sunk by the British navy. He sold his home and properties to pay his debts and died in poverty. At the battle of Yorktown, the
British General Cornwallis had taken over Thomas Nelson’s home for his headquarters. Nelson quietly ordered General George Washington to open fire on
the Nelson home. The home was destroyed and Nelson died bankrupt. John Hart was driven from his wife’s bedside as she was dying. Their thirteen children fled for their lives. His fields and mill were destroyed. For over a year, he lived in forest and caves, returning home only to find his wife dead and his children
vanished. A few weeks later, he died from exhaustion.

i desire a life that counts for my CONVICTIONS! Convictions: a fixed or firm belief. The state of being convinced. Am i convinced enough to break the chains of injustice, get rid of exploitation in the workplace, free the oppressed, cancel debts, share my food with the hungry, invite the homeless poor into my home,  put clothes on the shivering ill-clad, and be available to my own family?

At eighteen our convictions are hills from which we look; at forty-five they are caves in which we hide. F. Scott Fitzgerald

Leave a Reply

