Isaiah 58 – Together

Posted: September 20, 2011 in Isaiah 58

Pliny the Elder, was a Roman writer who lived during the same time period as Jesus. He told a story of the setting of an obelisk, which when erect would stand 99 feet tall. Twenty thousand workers where chosen to pull on the ropes and activate the hoisting apparatus. There was great responsibility and risk in the operation. Just one error could cause the obelisk to fall, ruining years of work. The King demanded one-act which insured the complete attention and best direction of the engineer. He ordered the engineer’s own son to be strapped to the apex of the obelisk, so that his heart as well as his head would be given to the task.

The scribes and Pharisees tried to legislate, in minute detail, all that was acceptable or unacceptable to do on the Sabbath. In doing so, they made the Sabbath a burden, something i don’t believe God ever intended 1 John 5:3 For this is the love of God, that we keep His commandments. And His commandments are not burdensome.. He gave the Sabbath with some specifics, but mainly by explaining it in broad, spiritual principles. This to me says that my Sabbath is to be all about my relationship with Him and out of a revelation of relationship of His love for me, i will have the correct response. That’s my summation in spite of not being done, so i’ll leave room for adjustment until completion.

What is God saying to me? To begin with God says, “Six days you shall labor and do all your work” (Exodus 20:9). i am not unfamiliar with this verse. When i was younger i would apply for a job and if told i would have to work Sundays i would explain that i could not, but if hired i would work all the more on the other six days. i usually was hired, i usually worked even harder during the six days, and i that’s how i became a workaholic. God ordained the first six days of the week for my business and work. my Creator intended that i be busy and productive, earning my daily bread. In Proverbs 19:15, He says, “Laziness casts one into a deep sleep, and an idle person will suffer hunger”. If i disregard my responsibilities the first six days of the week i am just as guilty of breaking God’s law as if i work on the seventh!

That brings me to the next portion in this word. “But the seventh day is the Sabbath of the Lord your God. In it you shall do no work: you, nor your son, nor your daughter, nor your manservant, nor your maidservant, nor your cattle, nor your stranger who is within your gates” (Exodus 20:10). So i am not to do any kind of real work on the Sabbath… be it my occupation, personal business, housework or any strenuous activity. Yes, i got all that out of those words. i am also responsible for those in the environment over which i have control to work as well. PAUSE…, preparing-or cleaning up after-a light meal would not be wrong as i understand it. There are a number of occasions when Jesus enjoyed a Sabbath meal with others. And He never condemned the practice of hospitality on the Sabbath (Luke 14:1-6).

But the temporary stopping of labor is not the only requirement God makes. He also gives positive instruction. In Moses’ recounting of the Ten Commandments, the fourth one begins by inviting us to “OBSERVE the Sabbath day, to KEEP IT HOLY” (Deuteronomy 5:12). We must look to God to tell us how to do that. Leviticus 23 lists “the feasts of the Lord [not the Jews], which you shall proclaim to be holy convocations.” God says, “These are MY feasts” (v. 2). The first one mentioned is the weekly Sabbath: “Six days shall work be done, but the seventh day is a Sabbath of solemn rest, a holy convocation. You shall do no work on it; it is the Sabbath of the Lord in all your dwellings” (v. 3). God then lists His seven other Feasts or Festivals, which contain seven annual Sabbaths. These days are also embraced by the spirit of the Sabbath commandment. So there it is, and i will defer studying those feasts for another time. The Sabbath is my focus for this season.

God’s Sabbaths-weekly and annual-are to be holy “convocations” and are, therefore, days commanded for worship services. When we fellowship with other people in whom God dwells, we are, in fact, also fellow-shipping with Him (1 John 1:3, 7). The New Testament states that we must make sure we are
“not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as is the manner of some, but exhorting one another, and so much the more as [we] see the
[millennial Sabbath] Day approaching” (Hebrews 10:25). We must not forsake assembling on the days God has appointed for that purpose. The number required to be called assembly remains unclear to me yet, but it seems to me that it can be as few as one and as for how large… that’s a good question.

Finally, to really understand how God intended the Sabbath to be used, i go back to Isaiah 58: “If you turn away your foot from the Sabbath, from doing your pleasure on My holy day, and call the Sabbath a delight… not doing your own ways, nor finding your own pleasure, nor speaking your own words,

Comments
  1. You’ve made some really good points there. I checked on the net for more information about the issue and found most people will go along with your views on this website.

  2. I was able to find good information from your blog articles.

  3. After looking at a few of the blog articles on your web page, I honestly like your way of blogging. I added it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back soon. Take a look at my web site too and tell me what you think.

  4. I really love your site.. Excellent colors & theme. Did you build this website yourself? Please reply back as I’m looking to create my own blog and would love to know where you got this from or exactly what the theme is called. Appreciate it!

  5. I really love your website.. Great colors & theme. Did you build this amazing site yourself? Please reply back as I’m looking to create my own site and want to learn where you got this from or what the theme is named. Cheers!

  6. Ricki Oballe says:

    Saved as a favorite, I really like your site!

  7. Everything is very open with a precise explanation of the issues. It was really informative. Your website is extremely helpful. Many thanks for sharing!

  8. I couldn’t resist commenting. Well written!

  9. Hello there, I think your blog could be having internet browser compatibility problems. Whenever I look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine however, when opening in Internet Explorer, it’s got some overlapping issues. I merely wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Besides that, wonderful site!

  10. This is the perfect blog for anyone who wishes to find out about this topic. You understand a whole lot its almost tough to argue with you (not that I really would want to…HaHa). You certainly put a brand new spin on a subject that has been discussed for many years. Excellent stuff, just excellent!

  11. This is a topic that’s near to my heart… Many thanks! Where are your contact details though?

  12. Zena Pilling says:

    Hello! I could have sworn I’ve visited this web site before but after browsing through many of the articles I realized it’s new to me. Regardless, I’m certainly delighted I came across it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back frequently!

  13. Veda Olivio says:

    Pretty! This has been an extremely wonderful article. Thank you for supplying these details.

  14. Hi, I do believe this is an excellent blog. I stumbledupon it 😉 I’m going to return once again since i have saved as a favorite it. Money and freedom is the best way to change, may you be rich and continue to help others.

  15. Irene Kernan says:

    Excellent post! We will be linking to this particularly great article on our website. Keep up the good writing.

  16. Mara Nifong says:

    Excellent post. I absolutely love this site. Stick with it!

  17. I needed to thank you for this excellent read!! I certainly enjoyed every bit of it. I have got you bookmarked to look at new stuff you post…

  18. There’s certainly a great deal to find out about this topic. I love all of the points you’ve made.

  19. I must thank you for the efforts you have put in penning this blog. I am hoping to check out the same high-grade blog posts from you in the future as well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own site now 😉

  20. Hey there! I simply wish to give you a big thumbs up for your excellent info you have here on this post. I will be returning to your web site for more soon.

  21. That is a great tip particularly to those fresh to the blogosphere. Brief but very accurate info… Many thanks for sharing this one. A must read post!

  22. After looking into a handful of the blog posts on your blog, I really like your way of writing a blog. I book-marked it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back soon. Please check out my web site as well and let me know what you think.

  23. It’s hard to come by knowledgeable people on this subject, but you seem like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

  24. See Leppanen says:

    Excellent blog you’ve got here.. It’s difficult to find quality writing like yours these days. I honestly appreciate people like you! Take care!!

  25. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s both equally educative and amusing, and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The issue is something that too few people are speaking intelligently about. I’m very happy that I stumbled across this during my hunt for something regarding this.

  26. Nicky Hetu says:

    An impressive share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a colleague who had been conducting a little research on this. And he in fact ordered me breakfast simply because I found it for him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thanks for the meal!! But yeah, thanx for spending some time to discuss this topic here on your site.

  27. I need to to thank you for this great read!! I definitely enjoyed every little bit of it. I’ve got you bookmarked to look at new things you post…

  28. Having read this I thought it was really enlightening. I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put this article together. I once again find myself personally spending a significant amount of time both reading and leaving comments. But so what, it was still worth it!

  29. Amber Leet says:

    Your style is unique in comparison to other folks I’ve read stuff from. Thank you for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I will just bookmark this site.

  30. Irmgard Memo says:

    A fascinating discussion is definitely worth comment. I think that you should publish more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but usually folks don’t discuss such topics. To the next! Cheers!!

  31. Denna Baird says:

    Good post. I will be experiencing a few of these issues as well..

  32. Hi, I do believe this is a great web site. I stumbledupon it 😉 I will revisit yet again since i have saved as a favorite it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to help other people.

  33. Great article. I will be going through many of these issues as well..

  34. I need to to thank you for this very good read!! I certainly enjoyed every bit of it. I have you book-marked to look at new things you post…

  35. Jodee Kahn says:

    I blog quite often and I genuinely appreciate your information. Your article has really peaked my interest. I am going to bookmark your website and keep checking for new details about once a week. I subscribed to your RSS feed too.

  36. I could not refrain from commenting. Perfectly written!

  37. We stumbled over here from a different page and thought I may as well check things out.
    I like what I see so i am just following you.

    Look forward to exploring your web page yet again.

  38. Madge says:

    I’m amazed, I have to admit. Seldom do I come across a blog that’s equally educative and engaging, and let me tell you, you have hit
    the nail on the head. The issue is an issue that
    not enough folks are speaking intelligently about. Now i’m very
    happy I came across this in my hunt for something regarding this.

  39. Kenton says:

    Hi, yup this piece of writing is truly pleasant and I have learned lot of
    things from it concerning blogging. thanks.

Leave a Reply

