Expectations – Time Line

Posted: October 3, 2011 in Expectations, Wandering Thoughts

“Good is not good, when better is expected.” Fuller, Thomas

Good better best, never let it rest, till your good is the better, and your better is the best.

God says He knows the plans He has for me, that the hairs on my head are numbered. This truth has never been more evident to me than in the past 90 days. In the middle of Isaiah 58 i’m driving down the road, minding my own business, when the word EXPECTATIONS seems to appear and suspend itself in front of my car about 12 feet ahead. Thirty five minutes of the word EXPECTATIONS staring me in the face. My initial reaction, i didn’t have any. That’s right i didn’t have any, i have lowered them for everybody and everything. It’s taken five years for me to get there but i made it. i can handle most anything now. And i meant that the way it sounded. But… if were that easy i would not have three weeks of postings on this single word EXPECTATIONS.

It will be important to know the time line over the past 60 days to understand why i am posting on this topic. It would be simpler to just move on but i believe that “there is power in the process to the promise,” that’s what i am sharing, the process which has given me the power to proceed toward the promise. The time line. i begin looking at Isaiah 58 because of an email that Ann Marie received and then forwarded to me. i then get the word expectations while driving to the center. No clue as to why because…, that will come later. In my initial study of Isaiah 58 i find the three elements of feeding, housing and clothing the poor, expectations? Then the second tier of words that expose unfair practices, blaming victims, and gossip, expectations? The final chapters are all about Sabbath, expectations? On the final post i use a quote that speaks volumes to me. Be patient toward all that is unsolved in your heart and try to love the questions themselves, like locked rooms and like books that are now written in a very foreign tongue. Do not now seek the answers, which cannot be given you because you would not be able to live them. And the point is, to live everything. Live the questions now. Perhaps you will then gradually, without noticing it, live along some distant day into the answer.” Then comes a week of posts regarding the quote. And if that were not enough i watched a DVD series, Staying In Love, by Andy Stanley and the last session is about expectations and the gap between expectations and behavior. On top of that i watched another series Two Gather, by Craig Grochel and it talks about the expectations of doing life together in community. All the while i am journaling what you will read over the next few weeks regarding the process. Here’s the short version. i am led to what i believe gives me clarity as to some things at the prayer center and what to do over the remainder of our lease. Along with that i am given a word, expectations, that i have come to believe i can do better without than with. In a quote i get some personal clarity to be patient toward the unresolved issues of my heart and to stop looking for answers which led me to believe that i didn’t need to figure out what the unresolved issues in my heart were. Wow, this is more complicated when i try writing it than if i could just speak it. Any way because of the series Staying in Love i find out that the unresolved issues in my heart are unmet expectations in the behavior of others. Which…. have been growing over the past three years. Each one expanding the horizon of unmet expectations to the point of perhaps losing hope, and the word says, “hope deferred makes the heart-sick.” Ohhhh, i am led to one of my favorite verses which says that, “I am to guard my heart with all diligence.” Didn’t do such a great job of that. And that brings me to today where i begin a serious look at that single word EXPECTATIONS.

Expectation: the act or state of looking forward or anticipating, an expectant mental attitude, presumed degree of probability of an occurrence. Expectations or lack of expectations are the reason why i do or do not do something… in other words anything done without knowing the reason why, will keep me aimlessly wandering as well as waste valuable time that can never be gotten back. Please, i have not drawn any conclusions regarding EXPECTATION so i may sound confused, contradictory, scattered, delusional or utterly lost, but i am sure by the time i am done i will be… shall we say changed

“In a word, I was too cowardly to do what I knew to be right, as I had been too cowardly to avoid doing what I knew to be wrong.” ― Charles Dickens

Comments
  1. Waneta Alson says:

    Your style is unique compared to other folks I’ve read stuff from. Thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I will just bookmark this page.

  2. The next time I read a blog, Hopefully it does not fail me just as much as this one. I mean, I know it was my choice to read through, however I actually believed you would probably have something helpful to talk about. All I hear is a bunch of crying about something that you could fix if you were not too busy searching for attention.

  3. This site definitely has all of the information I needed concerning this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  4. Nikia Trumps says:

    Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you penning this article and also the rest of the website is really good.

  5. I’m amazed, I have to admit. Seldom do I come across a blog that’s both equally educative and engaging, and without a doubt, you have hit the nail on the head. The issue is something that too few men and women are speaking intelligently about. Now i’m very happy I came across this during my hunt for something regarding this.

  6. Good day! I could have sworn I’ve visited your blog before but after looking at a few of the articles I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back often!

  7. Can I just say what a comfort to discover an individual who genuinely knows what they’re discussing on the internet. You definitely understand how to bring a problem to light and make it important. More people have to read this and understand this side of your story. I was surprised that you aren’t more popular since you definitely have the gift.

  8. Gina Remos says:

    Good article! We are linking to this particularly great content on our website. Keep up the great writing.

  9. Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you penning this post plus the rest of the website is also very good.

  10. Kecia Picart says:

    Pretty! This has been an incredibly wonderful article. Thank you for providing this information.

  11. Pretty! This was an extremely wonderful article. Many thanks for providing this information.

  12. Asia Alphin says:

    I blog frequently and I seriously appreciate your content. The article has really peaked my interest. I will book mark your website and keep checking for new details about once a week. I opted in for your Feed as well.

  13. Laure Dupoux says:

    Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Thank you so much, However I am encountering problems with your RSS. I don’t understand the reason why I am unable to subscribe to it. Is there anybody getting the same RSS issues? Anyone who knows the answer will you kindly respond? Thanx!!

  14. Fe Borr says:

    Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you writing this article plus the rest of the website is also really good.

  15. Sina Suggitt says:

    I really like it when individuals come together and share opinions. Great site, continue the good work!

  16. Can I just say what a relief to discover somebody who actually understands what they are discussing online. You certainly know how to bring a problem to light and make it important. More and more people really need to read this and understand this side of your story. I was surprised you are not more popular given that you most certainly possess the gift.

  17. Spot on with this write-up, I truly believe this web site needs far more attention. I’ll probably be returning to read more, thanks for the info!

  18. Kit Potier says:

    Having read this I thought it was rather enlightening. I appreciate you finding the time and energy to put this informative article together. I once again find myself spending way too much time both reading and leaving comments. But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  19. Good article! We will be linking to this particularly great content on our site. Keep up the great writing.

  20. Spot on with this write-up, I really think this web site needs a great deal more attention. I’ll probably be back again to read more, thanks for the information!

  21. Neva Rasch says:

    I was excited to uncover this web site. I want to to thank you for your time due to this fantastic read!! I definitely appreciated every bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new things in your website.

  22. David Korsak says:

    Hi there! I simply want to give you a huge thumbs up for your excellent info you have right here on this post. I am coming back to your web site for more soon.

  23. That is a great tip particularly to those new to the blogosphere. Short but very accurate information… Appreciate your sharing this one. A must read article!

  24. Inger Bohr says:

    There is definately a great deal to know about this subject. I like all of the points you have made.

  25. Hi there! This article could not be written much better! Looking through this article reminds me of my previous roommate! He always kept preaching about this. I will forward this article to him. Fairly certain he’s going to have a good read. I appreciate you for sharing!

  26. That is a very good tip particularly to those new to the blogosphere. Simple but very accurate information… Many thanks for sharing this one. A must read article!

  27. This is the perfect site for everyone who really wants to find out about this topic. You realize so much its almost tough to argue with you (not that I really will need to…HaHa). You definitely put a fresh spin on a subject which has been discussed for many years. Excellent stuff, just excellent!

  28. I wanted to thank you for this fantastic read!! I certainly enjoyed every little bit of it. I’ve got you bookmarked to look at new things you post…

  29. Spot on with this write-up, I truly believe this web site needs a great deal more attention. I’ll probably be returning to read through more, thanks for the info!

  30. The very next time I read a blog, I hope that it won’t disappoint me just as much as this one. After all, Yes, it was my choice to read through, nonetheless I genuinely believed you would have something interesting to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something you can fix if you were not too busy seeking attention.

  31. Lady Messier says:

    A motivating discussion is definitely worth comment. I believe that you ought to publish more about this topic, it might not be a taboo matter but typically people do not talk about such topics. To the next! Cheers!!

  32. Kia Luk says:

    Greetings! Very helpful advice in this particular article! It’s the little changes which will make the biggest changes. Thanks a lot for sharing!

  33. You should be a part of a contest for one of the greatest websites online. I am going to highly recommend this website!

  34. Delila Yafei says:

    I could not resist commenting. Very well written!

  35. Spot on with this write-up, I absolutely think this site needs a great deal more attention. I’ll probably be back again to see more, thanks for the information!

  36. Nice post. I learn something new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon on a daily basis. It’s always helpful to read through articles from other writers and use a little something from their websites.

  37. Karlyn Dease says:

    This is a topic which is near to my heart… Cheers! Where are your contact details though?

  38. Delena Loque says:

    Next time I read a blog, Hopefully it does not disappoint me just as much as this particular one. I mean, Yes, it was my choice to read through, nonetheless I actually thought you’d have something interesting to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something you could possibly fix if you weren’t too busy seeking attention.

  39. Hi, I do believe this is an excellent website. I stumbledupon it 😉 I’m going to revisit yet again since i have book marked it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to guide other people.

  40. Very energetic blog, I liked that bit. Will there be a part 2?

  41. Wow, this paragraph is fastidious, my sister is analyzing these
    things, therefore I am going to tell her.

Leave a Reply

