Expectations – Aimless Wandering

Posted: October 4, 2011 in Expectations, Wandering Thoughts

Let us be about setting high standards for life, love, creativity, and wisdom. If our expectations in these areas are low, we are not likely to experience wellness. Setting high standards makes every day and every decade worth looking forward to.   Anderson, Greg

The last portion of the sentence in the closing paragraph yesterday said, aimlessly wandering as well as wasting valuable time that can never be gotten back,” it’s a fair description of where i had been since at least the beginning of this year. Let me make it clear that i do not see everything thing i have done as aimless wandering as that would lead to regret and i do not regret one single thing, including the mistakes. Am i aimlessly wandering because of lowwer or no expectations? That’s a great question. i am so aware of how much more was possible, is that an expectation? i have some time left to “be” that so much more. It’s not about numbers or pats on the back, it’s about what comes out of having the right relationships around me. Perhaps more detail will come down the road. It’s a good thing i don’t go by feeling and yet i can not disregard them either. i have no clue as to how much of my thoughts i will post as in some cases it can get very personal, not for me but for others.

The reason why i go to the store is because i expect to buy something… the reason i would go to a wedding… is because i expect to witness a marriage, the reason why i go to a restaurant… is because i expect to eat food, good food at that, which is fairly priced and served in a timely manner as well as served hot or cold whichever is appropriate. OKAY… i have expectations and yes… yes, in some areas more than others which makes my statement that i have lowered my expectations of everybody and everything around me more serious.

So let me share a few statements….

Expectation is the purpose for a thing and without purpose there would be no expectation.

Goals and objectives are what i expect to reach in a certain amount of time and it is these goals that keep me headed in the right direction.

Preparation and proper support is needed to obtain what is expected.

Expectations are the father to disappointment.

Oh i’m sorry i didn’t mean to imply that i was agreeing or disagreeing with them at this time. This all actually began about 4 months ago when Ann Marie asked me what i wanted to do when our lease is up at the Center. i said i have no driving plan, that i have done pretty much what i have wanted to do through-out my life and i am now out of fresh ideas. She then said, “so you have no vision?” i responded, “not at this time.” i knew this was not the end of our conversation.

Here is what i have come to realize thus far regarding this word expectations. i have found that in my circle of influence the lowering of my expectations, right or wrong presented me with the opportunity to lose hope, again right or wrong aside. The word says that “without a vision people perish,” “aimlessly wandering as well as wasting valuable time that can never be gotten back,” That being said i have had a sick heart and to some degree perishing. HEAR ME… i am not sitting around waiting to die. i was just pushing through each day to survive, to hang in there as we say. i am not depressed nor disappointed. i have been trying to holding things and people together versus pursuing and running the race. But in my personal life, putting aside the lack of expectations, i am pushing into God, more for the future than for today, right or wrong. i am aware that some of this may sound harsh, but it is not intended to, nor is it to place blame, nor bring guilt nor condemnation to anyone. i am completely responsible for the condition of my heart, my actions or lack of, my words, healthy or not. i struggled with posting this, i have no intention of hurting anyone, but my children and grandchildren need to read of my struggles and learn from my successes and failures so they can have hope of being overcomers in hard times. For me that’s when truth comes to light, in the hard times. Do i just curl up and want to hide or do i press in and “ride on the high places of the earth?” (previsous words in a post.)

Now let’s take a look at this word expectation…

“It is better to lead from behind and to put others in front, especially when you celebrate victory when nice things occur. You take the front line when there is danger. Then people will appreciate your leadership.” Nelson Mandela

Comments
  1. Spot on with this write-up, I really think this web site needs a great deal more attention. I’ll probably be back again to read more, thanks for the advice!

  2. After I initially commented I seem to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on every time a comment is added I receive 4 emails with the exact same comment. Perhaps there is a way you are able to remove me from that service? Appreciate it!

  3. I need to to thank you for this excellent read!! I certainly enjoyed every bit of it. I have got you saved as a favorite to look at new things you post…

  4. A motivating discussion is definitely worth comment. I do believe that you should publish more about this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but usually folks don’t speak about such issues. To the next! Cheers!!

  5. An outstanding share! I have just forwarded this onto a colleague who had been conducting a little research on this. And he actually ordered me lunch because I discovered it for him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanx for spending the time to discuss this topic here on your internet site.

  6. Na Hartage says:

    Aw, this was a really good post. Taking the time and actual effort to generate a top notch article… but what can I say… I procrastinate a whole lot and never seem to get anything done.

  7. Everything is very open with a really clear explanation of the issues. It was definitely informative. Your website is very useful. Many thanks for sharing!

  8. Hi there! This post couldn’t be written much better! Looking through this article reminds me of my previous roommate! He continually kept talking about this. I will forward this information to him. Pretty sure he’s going to have a good read. Many thanks for sharing!

  9. An outstanding share! I have just forwarded this onto a friend who was doing a little homework on this. And he actually ordered me lunch simply because I found it for him… lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thanks for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending the time to talk about this topic here on your web page.

  10. An interesting discussion is worth comment. There’s no doubt that that you need to publish more on this issue, it may not be a taboo subject but typically people do not discuss these topics. To the next! Many thanks!!

  11. Alpha Streva says:

    Hi, I do believe this is a great web site. I stumbledupon it 😉 I may return once again since I book marked it. Money and freedom is the best way to change, may you be rich and continue to help others.

  12. An impressive share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a coworker who has been doing a little homework on this. And he actually ordered me dinner due to the fact that I stumbled upon it for him… lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thanks for the meal!! But yeah, thanx for spending time to discuss this matter here on your web site.

  13. Rory Vire says:

    Great post. I am experiencing many of these issues as well..

  14. You need to be a part of a contest for one of the best websites on the web. I most certainly will highly recommend this blog!

  15. Renae Szabat says:

    An interesting discussion is definitely worth comment. I think that you need to publish more about this topic, it might not be a taboo matter but typically people do not speak about such issues. To the next! Kind regards!!

  16. Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on blogs I stumbleupon on a daily basis. It’s always interesting to read articles from other authors and practice something from other web sites.

  17. Sol Stank says:

    Good post! We will be linking to this particularly great content on our site. Keep up the great writing.

  18. After looking at a handful of the articles on your site, I truly like your way of writing a blog. I added it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back in the near future. Please check out my website as well and let me know how you feel.

  19. Ethel Lien says:

    Can I simply say what a comfort to discover somebody that truly understands what they’re talking about on the net. You actually understand how to bring an issue to light and make it important. A lot more people need to read this and understand this side of your story. I can’t believe you’re not more popular because you definitely possess the gift.

  20. Kindra Eary says:

    There’s certainly a great deal to know about this issue. I really like all the points you have made.

  21. You ought to be a part of a contest for one of the highest quality websites on the internet. I will highly recommend this site!

  22. This is the right blog for anybody who would like to understand this topic. You realize so much its almost tough to argue with you (not that I really would want to…HaHa). You certainly put a brand new spin on a subject that’s been discussed for many years. Great stuff, just excellent!

Leave a Reply

