Expectations – Preparation

Posted: October 11, 2011 in Expectations, Wandering Thoughts

A master can tell you what he expects of you. A teacher, though, awakens your own expectations. Patricia Neal

Expectation… And a certain man lame from his MOTHERS WOMB…(Acts 3:2a)

The lame mans mother like all pregnant women had come to the conclusion that she was expecting…and because of that fact she was now placed into a different role… that of mother. When i expect things to come to pass, desires to manifest, etc i must be willing to step into another role. Whether a
mother wants to be a mother or not…at the time of expectancy that is what she is, and she must begin to do whatever is necessary to take care of the baby. If i desire to be a friend or a mentor i must be willing to step into another role than that currently filled in the relationship. A person… whether man or woman who is pregnant with an idea or vision must protect that idea by,,, 1. not allowing anyone to talk me out of it… 2. Believing in myself to do what is needed to bring it to pass…3. Believing that God will help do what i cannot…4. Don’t procrastinate…5. Look for divine connections needed for support…6. Keeping an atmosphere around that is conducive for the idea during times of not seeing any physical evidence, remember an expecting mother does not see any physical evidence of her pregnancy in the beginning…and neither will i see physical evidence of success in the beginning. This principle keeps yours truly working toward my ideas though-out my life, because I know it will be awhile before I see any fruit of my labors…but I must continue expecting good things to happen. All of these suggestions help to keep a healthy idea growing until it becomes a reality.

Preparation: a proceeding, measure, or provision by which one prepares for something

An expectant mother prepares in advance for what is about to transpire in nine months. She eats a balanced diet…maintains daily doctor check-ups…obstains
from smoking and other activities that could be harmful to the child…attends a baby shower that helps to provide for the child… to name a few. This preparation in advance helps to relieve the stress that accompanies expectancy. A blessing that comes before one is ready and capable to handle it …is really
not a blessing. Many lotto winners were not prepared to handle the blessing of finance…and it caused problems that were undetected because of a lack of experience in that area. Prepare by reading and gaining knowledge, by asking questions, through mentorship by those who have done what i am trying to do, by learning from my mistakes and failures, and most importantly…by not giving up.

2 Timothy 2:15 Do your best to present yourself to God as one approved, a workman who does not need to be ashamed and who correctly handles the word of truth.

Expectation? i’m just not sure? If i am to do my best to present myself to God as one approved, does that happen as a result of God’s expectation of me or do i do so out of a revelation of God’s love for me. To me one requires my purposed effort and the other comes as a natural response. One is form and function and the other is lifestyle.

Romans 12:2 Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.

Again is this an expectation? i realize that God is stating this as fact and i see that in order for me to be able to test and approve what is God’s will, His good, pleasing and perfect will, then i must not be conformed to this word, and the way that happens is for me to be transformed by the renewing of my mind. But is this, His perfect will an expectation or a desire presented as opportunity? Would God speak this to me if He didn’t expect me to do it? But again He may speak it to me and then the expectation is not that i do it as a command, but again out of revelation of His love for me. i do it because it’s my lifestyle, it’s who i am, who i am becoming.

How about being pregnant with the Word? And one step further, the woman must prepare for a new role because she is pregnant . i don’t see that as expectation, if anything perhaps consequence, cost or better yet privilege. Once i accept Jesus into my heart, now come expectation? Or… i now have the privilege to step into a new role.

God says, “Study to show yourself approved before God.”

The Bible is the inspired Word of God. It is His written Instruction Book to mankind. It answers every important question in life. It explains how to live—and reveals the road to salvation. So am i expected to read and apply it or is it just suggested that i read it, that reading it will be to my benefit.

Rightly dividing the Word of Truth—knowing the Bible, inside and out—takes a lifetime. God’s Holy Spirit opens one’s mind to this spiritual understanding (Psa. 119:18; John 16:13). True biblical knowledge and understanding come from diligent effort and God’s Spirit working in me. Is that His expectation?

Does God expect me to familiarize myself with His Word. Only by fully appreciating it will i act on it. Christ said, “…It is written, Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceeds out of the mouth of God.”

Taking in the Word of God for spiritual nourishment surpasses the need of taking in physical food. The Bible provides light to avoid pitfalls in the path of life. The Bible gives me wisdom to understand the aspects of salvation. All scripture is inspired by God to mold and teach His people so that they may become perfect and equipped “for good work of every kind.” At this moment it sure sounds like expectation.

Is this my part of the cleansing process, do i have a part—doesn’t God expects me to do my part or… does God just expect me to love Him and out of a revelation of that love i will be and then do. The process takes place as i internalize God’s Word. This leads to the desire to repent and grow in godly character. God’s Spirit is instrumental in this cleansing process.

But in any case, I did poorly on the tests and so, in the first three years of school, I had teachers who thought I was stupid and when people think you’re stupid, they have low expectations for you. Robert Sternberg

Leave a Reply

