K.I.S.S.

Posted: November 3, 2011 in "While The Cats Away"

Keep It Simple S(weetie)tupid

Dealing with complexity is an inefficient and unnecessary waste of time, attention and mental energy. There is never any justification for things being complex when they could be simple. – Edward de Bono

Simple is just not simple, at least not for me. Let’s just say I started this blog about three hours ago and have deleted it three times. I have over-analyzed, over-thought, and underestimated myself. I woke up this morning with this “Keep it simple” resounding in my head. So what does simple look like? Is it plain? Is it boring? Is it homely? Not to me. When I picture simple I picture laying in my Father’s lap with my ear pressed firmly against His warm chest. Simple is listening to His breath and matching the rhythm of my own with His. When I picture simple I see a sunny day, clear blue sky, and a glass of sweet tea. Simple is not just these things. Simple is knowing what you know about God, yourself, and others around you. Simple is just breathing and letting God be God. The most intimate times I’ve ever had with God is when I am perfectly simple with Him. When I am just me, and I just speak the simpleness of my heart. It’s been the times that I’ve overcomplicated my heart or overcontemplated my faults or failures that we’ve been the most distant.

When the solution is simple, God is answering. –Albert Einstein

11And He said, Go out and stand on the mount before the Lord. And behold, the Lord passed by, and a great and strong wind rent the mountains and broke in pieces the rocks before the Lord, but the Lord was not in the wind; and after the wind an earthquake, but the Lord was not in the earthquake;And after the earthquake a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire; and after the fire [a sound of gentle stillness and] a still, small voice. 1 Kings 19:11-12 AMP

God can speak however He chooses. He can choose an earthquake, He can choose fire, He’s even used donkeys to get man’s attention, but He knows what really moves us. An earthquake would terrify us, as would fire, or a mighty wind, but He knows the still small voice will touch something deep inside us. He created us to be loved by Him and when He speaks in simplicity our hearts are drawn.

I’m learning to seek God in simplicity in everything. When my son smiles at me, I thank God for Him. When I am scrubbing my toilet, I thank Him. When I feel the breeze I think of His love. When things don’t go according to plan I have to trust that God’s got a better plan.

It’s a simple trust, a simple hope, a simple love. It’s a choice. We must choose to simply know God’s nature and to trust that He makes all things work together for my good.

Simple.

Comments
  1. Ann Marie says:

    I don’t know what was in your previous 3 hours of blogs that you wrote and deleted But I’m glad u did because this one is just perfect! You’ll love the God story about this one and what God has been telling us while we have been hear. One Holy Spirit working no matter the distance that separates. Miss u all!

Leave a Reply

