Does God need Me – Part 2

Posted: November 9, 2011 in Does God Need me?

The following comes from the insightful writings of Oswald Chambers. “It is by God’s grace that He does not allow us to see all the effectiveness we have in the world.” How interesting! Often i yearn to see my own effectiveness and the fruit of my hard work. Why is God this way? Why does Chambers say that it is God’s grace that keeps me from seeing any of my successes? Maybe it is to protect me from taking pride in them. I am aware that all success belongs to the Lord. But maybe there is another purpose.

Perhaps God does not want me distracted into thinking that my goal in life is to bring about wonderful successes for Him. I know that may sound strange at first, but perhaps that is because in my present world I wear the glasses of success and believe that personal value comes in the things I accomplish.

I am sure that God is quite busy telling me in the Bible that my value does not come with all the things I can do. My function does not preclude my essence. The Psalmist says, “Your love is better than life” (Psalm 63). This goes against my success driven culture. If I cannot live, I cannot have success for God. How
could the Psalmist make such a ridiculous remark, to think that relating to God is more important than serving God? He says it because it is true.

Let me see if this brings any more clarity to the question. The prophet Jeremiah speaks of being called, being forced to become a prophet of God, despite his strongest protestation: If I say, “I will not mention him or speak any more in his name,” there is in my heart as it were a burning fire shut up in my bones, and I am weary with holding it in and I cannot.

And then in Matthew the same theme of urgency appears. Jesus is addressing his disciples and says to them: What I tell you in the dark, utter in the light; and what you hear whispered, proclaim from the housetops.

I think these words seem to say this: that whenever I am given an awareness of the extent of God’s passionate love for me – even for the most fleeting moment – whenever this happens to me, i have no choice but to proclaim it.

Leave a Reply

