Overwhelmed by Being Underwhelmed

Posted: November 11, 2011 in Wandering Thoughts

What counts in making a happy relationship is not so much how compatible you are, but how you deal with incompatibility. Daniel Goleman

Underwhelmed: to fail to interest or astonish. To fail to excite, stimulate, or impress.

That pretty much summarizes where i am today. i actually was not going to post but after doing it for so long i don’t seem to be able to get away from it so i have waited till late in the day to see if i would go from underwhelmed to overwhelmed. i did, i became overwhelmed by being underwhelmed. Why am i underwhelmed… i have no clue. How is it that i can be underwhelmed with a day that God has made? How can i be underwhelmed by all creation? How can i be underwhelmed by the breath i just took? Perhaps i am so engaged in doing things to achieve purposes of outer value that i forget the inner value, the rapture that is associated with being alive, is what it is all about.

There is nothing going wrong or some impending doom. On the other hand there does not appear to be some looming event that is going to overwhelm me either. This is not a good day nor a bad day, just a day of grace, some to enjoy and some to endure, as Graham Cook says.  The thought occurs to me that enduring a day seems like i would be missing something of God’s fullness. i believe i am to enjoy all days and that actually contributes to the overwhelming feelings caused by being underwhelmed. i don’t feel like i am just enduring and yet i’m not jumping for joy either.

Yesterday i had so many different topics to post on and today i have no interest in any of them.

i got it…! i am in neutral! Back to Webster’s, neutral: the position or state of disengaged gears or other interconnecting parts. Neutral is the state where i am not jumping ahead too quickly or moving too slow. Neutral does not mean i am being inactive, complacent or passive. It’s about a calm poise that allows for new information and new possibilities to emerge before taking further action. When in neutral i actually increase my sensitivity and intuitive intelligence. Neutral is fertile ground for new possibilities to grow from.

The day has been redeemed! i am in neutral!

Comments
  1. Ann Marie says:

    I will have to reevaluate my definition of neutral. Your definition of neutral sounds far more positive then mine. Your fertile ground for new possibilities to grow is much more intriguing then my neutral which usually causes me to get depressed because I FEEL like I’m ineffective, not moving which means I’m not going anywhere. Our prespectives our QUITE DIFFERENT of neutral. I need to adopt your definition BUT for me neutral is STILL not where I think I want to be. I would rather purpose to be stopped to plant or plan new growth than to be in neutral where I feel like I’m using up my energy but going no place. Things that make u go Hmmmmmm…

  2. Howdy! This article couldn’t be written any better! Looking through this article reminds me of my previous roommate! He always kept talking about this. I most certainly will send this information to him. Fairly certain he’ll have a very good read. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Maisie Goble says:

    This site really has all the information I needed about this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  4. So Pilette says:

    Aw, this was an extremely nice post. Taking a few minutes and actual effort to make a great article… but what can I say… I hesitate a whole lot and never manage to get nearly anything done.

  5. Aliza Henney says:

    Very good article. I absolutely love this website. Keep writing!

  6. I enjoy looking through an article that will make people think. Also, thank you for permitting me to comment!

  7. The next time I read a blog, Hopefully it does not disappoint me just as much as this one. After all, I know it was my choice to read, however I really believed you’d have something helpful to talk about. All I hear is a bunch of moaning about something that you could possibly fix if you were not too busy seeking attention.

  8. Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon on a daily basis. It will always be useful to read articles from other authors and practice something from other web sites.

  9. Kasey Napp says:

    After I initially left a comment I seem to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on each time a comment is added I get four emails with the exact same comment. Is there an easy method you are able to remove me from that service? Kudos!

  10. Having read this I believed it was rather informative. I appreciate you finding the time and energy to put this article together. I once again find myself spending a lot of time both reading and posting comments. But so what, it was still worth it!

  11. Mendy Ego says:

    Hi there! I just want to give you a big thumbs up for the excellent information you have got right here on this post. I will be returning to your site for more soon.

  12. You are so awesome! I do not think I have read something like this before. So wonderful to find someone with some unique thoughts on this subject. Really.. thanks for starting this up. This site is one thing that is needed on the web, someone with a little originality!

  13. Saved as a favorite, I really like your blog!

  14. Pretty! This has been an extremely wonderful post. Many thanks for supplying this information.

  15. Excellent post. I certainly love this site. Keep it up!

  16. Very nice post. I absolutely love this site. Keep it up!

  17. I blog often and I seriously appreciate your content. This article has truly peaked my interest. I will take a note of your site and keep checking for new details about once per week. I opted in for your Feed too.

  18. That is a great tip particularly to those new to the blogosphere. Brief but very precise info… Thanks for sharing this one. A must read post!

  19. Easter Keagy says:

    I love looking through a post that will make men and women think. Also, thank you for allowing me to comment!

  20. Aw, this was an incredibly nice post. Taking the time and actual effort to make a top notch article… but what can I say… I hesitate a whole lot and don’t manage to get anything done.

  21. Ann Merry says:

    Having read this I believed it was extremely enlightening. I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put this information together. I once again find myself spending a lot of time both reading and commenting. But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  22. Right here is the perfect site for anybody who hopes to understand this topic. You realize a whole lot its almost tough to argue with you (not that I really would want to…HaHa). You certainly put a brand new spin on a topic which has been written about for years. Great stuff, just wonderful!

  23. Great post. I am experiencing many of these issues as well..

  24. bookmarked!!, I like your website!

  25. Very good post. I am facing some of these issues as well..

  26. Excellent article. I’m experiencing many of these issues as well..

  27. This is a topic that’s close to my heart… Take care! Exactly where are your contact details though?

  28. Great site you have got here.. It’s hard to find quality writing like yours nowadays. I really appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

  29. This page truly has all of the information I needed about this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  30. Saved as a favorite, I love your blog!

  31. Hello colleagues, its impressive paragraph concerning teachingand completely explained, keep it up all the time.

  32. I don’t even know the way I finished up here, but I thought this post was once good.

    I do not understand who you might be however certainly you’re going to a
    famous blogger should you aren’t already. Cheers!

  33. Hello mates, good piece of writing and fastidious arguments commented at this place, I am in fact enjoying by these.

  34. Hello mates, good piece of writing and fastidious arguments commented at this place, I am in fact enjoying by these.

Leave a Reply

