Healing Femurs

Posted: December 13, 2011 in Wandering Thoughts

Someone asked the great anthropologist Margaret Mead, “What is the first sign you look for, to tell you of an ancient civilization?” The interviewer had in mind a tool or article of clothing. Ms. Mead surprised him by answering, a “healed femur” (thigh bone, for those of us who didn’t study biology).

When someone breaks a femur, they can’t survive to hunt, fish or escape enemies unless they have help from someone else. Thus, a healed femur indicates that someone else helped that person, rather than abandoning them and saving themselves. Isn’t that what we in philanthropy are all about? Healing femurs of one sort or another?

Isn’t that what i as a member of the body of Christ is to do, rather than abandoning them saving myself? The following are just a few of the verses given to me in the word regarding this idea.

Romans 15:5 Now may the God Who gives the power of patient endurance (steadfastness) and Who supplies encouragement, grant you to live in such mutual harmony and such full sympathy with one another, in accord with Christ Jesus, 6That together you may [unanimously] with united hearts and one voice, praise and glorify the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ (the Messiah). 7Welcome and receive [to your hearts] one another, then, even as Christ has welcomed and received you, for the glory of God.

1. i am to RECEIVE one another, just as Christ also has accepted us to the Glory  of God. Romans 15:7

2. i am to GREET one another with a holy kiss. Romans 15:16

3. i am to SPEAK to one another with psalms, hymns, and spiritual songs. Ephesians 5:19

4. i am to SUBMIT to one another out of reverence for Christ. Ephesians 5:21

5. i am to  LOVE one another, as He has loved us, so i must love one another. John 13:34

6. i am to offer HOSPITALITY to one another without grumbling. I Peter 4:9

7. i am to stop passing JUDGEMENT on one another. Romans 14:13

8. i am to with all humility and gentleness, with patience, showing TOLERANCE for one another in love. Ephesians 4:2

9. i am to be kind to one another, TENDER HEARTED, forgiving each other, just as Christ also has forgiven us. Ephesians 4:32

10. There should be no division in the body, but that its parts should have equal CONCERN for one another. I Corinthians 12:25

11. i was called to be free. But, i  do not use my freedom to indulge the sinful nature; rather, to SERVE one another in love. Galatians 5:13

12. i am to CARRY one anothers burdens, and in this way we fulfill the law of Christ. Galatians 6:2

13. i am to CONFESS MY SINS to one another and PRAY for one another so that i may be healed. James 5:16

14. i am to pursue the things which make for peace and the BUILDING UP of one another. Romans 14:19

15. i am to let the word of Christ dwell in us richly as i TEACH and admonish one another with all wisdom and as i sing psalms, hymns and spiritual songs with gratitude in our hearts to God. Colossians 3:16

16. i am to be full of goodness, filled with all knowledge and be able to ADMONISH one another. Romans 15:14

17. i am to ENCOURAGE one another and build each other up, just as in fact we are doing. I Thessalonians 5:11

18. i am to CONSIDER one another to provoke me to love and good works. Romans 10:24

19. Now may the God who gives perseverance and encouragement grant me to be LIKEMINDED with one another according to Christ Jesus. Romans 15:5

20. i am to be DEVOTED to one another in brotherly love; give PREFERENCE to one another in honor. Romans 12:10, I John 15:12, 13

This is my commandment, That you love one another, as I have loved you. Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends.

“Love is not the answer, it’s the assignment.”

Comments
  1. Ann Marie says:

    We praise God with what we say and what we sing. We WORSHIP GOD with what we DO and how WE LIVE. MAY I LIVE THESE VERSES NOT ONLY DURING THIS SEASON BUT EVERYDAY! Thanks for reminding us when the season throws us into stressful situations with family and friends we need to WORSHIP HIM THIS CHRISTMAS WITH OUR ACTIONS NOT OUR WORDS!!!!!!

  2. I seriously love your blog.. Great colors & theme. Did you make this site yourself? Please reply back as I’m trying to create my own personal blog and would love to learn where you got this from or what the theme is called. Cheers!

  3. Eula Holda says:

    I’d like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this website. I really hope to view the same high-grade blog posts from you in the future as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my own blog now 😉

  4. Dawn Lathern says:

    Oh my goodness! Amazing article dude! Thank you so much, However I am experiencing issues with your RSS. I don’t know why I cannot subscribe to it. Is there anybody else having the same RSS problems? Anyone who knows the solution can you kindly respond? Thanks!!

  5. Kate Cupelli says:

    Good information. Lucky me I discovered your blog by accident (stumbleupon). I’ve saved as a favorite for later!

  6. Marry Tuy says:

    Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve visited your blog before but after going through a few of the posts I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely happy I discovered it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back regularly!

  7. Hello there, There’s no doubt that your site may be having browser compatibility problems. When I take a look at your web site in Safari, it looks fine however when opening in I.E., it’s got some overlapping issues. I merely wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Aside from that, fantastic site!

  8. Everything is very open with a precise clarification of the issues. It was definitely informative. Your website is useful. Thank you for sharing!

  9. Great information. Lucky me I ran across your site by accident (stumbleupon). I have saved it for later!

  10. Marisol Koon says:

    Excellent write-up. I definitely appreciate this site. Keep it up!

  11. Hi, There’s no doubt that your blog could possibly be having browser compatibility problems. When I take a look at your site in Safari, it looks fine however, when opening in I.E., it’s got some overlapping issues. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other than that, great website!

  12. Adam Zollo says:

    This web site truly has all of the information and facts I wanted concerning this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  13. I blog often and I really thank you for your content. This great article has really peaked my interest. I am going to take a note of your website and keep checking for new information about once per week. I subscribed to your Feed too.

  14. Kara Deppert says:

    Spot on with this write-up, I truly believe that this website needs a lot more attention. I’ll probably be returning to read through more, thanks for the advice!

  15. Cecil Capata says:

    I must thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this site. I’m hoping to view the same high-grade content by you later on as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own, personal site now 😉

  16. Aretha Peca says:

    Aw, this was an extremely nice post. Spending some time and actual effort to generate a great article… but what can I say… I hesitate a lot and never seem to get nearly anything done.

  17. Great site you have got here.. It’s hard to find quality writing like yours these days. I really appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

  18. Your style is unique in comparison to other people I’ve read stuff from. Many thanks for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I will just book mark this blog.

  19. Chau Shabazz says:

    That is a good tip particularly to those fresh to the blogosphere. Short but very accurate info… Many thanks for sharing this one. A must read article!

  20. After going over a number of the blog posts on your website, I seriously appreciate your technique of writing a blog. I bookmarked it to my bookmark site list and will be checking back in the near future. Please check out my web site as well and let me know your opinion.

  21. Lona Valcin says:

    Howdy, I believe your website may be having web browser compatibility problems. Whenever I take a look at your website in Safari, it looks fine however, when opening in IE, it’s got some overlapping issues. I merely wanted to give you a quick heads up! Aside from that, excellent website!

  22. I want to to thank you for this excellent read!! I absolutely enjoyed every bit of it. I’ve got you book-marked to check out new things you post…

  23. I like looking through a post that can make men and women think. Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!

  24. Allyn Nevil says:

    Hi, I do believe this is a great site. I stumbledupon it 😉 I will come back yet again since i have book marked it. Money and freedom is the best way to change, may you be rich and continue to guide other people.

  25. Kathe Seidt says:

    That is a really good tip particularly to those new to the blogosphere. Brief but very precise info… Many thanks for sharing this one. A must read article!

  26. You need to take part in a contest for one of the finest blogs online. I am going to recommend this site!

  27. Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you writing this write-up plus the rest of the website is also very good.

  28. You should take part in a contest for one of the finest blogs on the net. I will recommend this website!

  29. Excellent post. I definitely love this site. Continue the good work!

  30. Lanell Espey says:

    Excellent blog you’ve got here.. It’s hard to find quality writing like yours nowadays. I seriously appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

  31. Hi there! This post could not be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my previous roommate! He constantly kept preaching about this. I will forward this information to him. Pretty sure he’ll have a good read. Many thanks for sharing!

  32. I’m amazed, I have to admit. Seldom do I come across a blog that’s both educative and interesting, and without a doubt, you have hit the nail on the head. The problem is an issue that not enough people are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy I stumbled across this during my search for something regarding this.

  33. The very next time I read a blog, I hope that it won’t disappoint me just as much as this particular one. After all, I know it was my choice to read through, nonetheless I truly thought you would have something useful to say. All I hear is a bunch of complaining about something you can fix if you weren’t too busy searching for attention.

  34. This is the perfect website for anyone who would like to understand this topic. You realize so much its almost tough to argue with you (not that I personally will need to…HaHa). You definitely put a brand new spin on a subject that has been written about for decades. Wonderful stuff, just great!

  35. Darlena Redd says:

    You’ve made some good points there. I looked on the net for more information about the issue and found most people will go along with your views on this website.

  36. An interesting discussion is worth comment.
    I do believe that you need to write more about this issue, it may
    not be a taboo matter but generally people do not discuss these subjects.
    To the next! All the best!!

  37. Keep this going please, great job!

  38. I’m extremely inspired together with your writing skills as smartly
    as with the format for your weblog. Is this a paid subject matter or did you
    modify it yourself? Either way keep up the excellent high quality writing, it’s uncommon to
    see a great weblog like this one nowadays..

Leave a Reply

