I Love You

Posted: December 29, 2011 in "While The Cats Away"

1 Corinthians 13:13 And now these three remain: faith hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

My name is Greg Nereim, the favorite son-in-law of Ed and Ann Marie Peterson, who will be called Papa and Nana Marie for the rest of this blog. I am married to their daughter Brooke (who loves to be talked about in posted material). We have been married for over 8 years. My son Ethan, who is 10years old has posted a couple blogs for Papa, and is an amazing child that fills our lives with laughter and love.

When Papa asked me to cover a blog for him, I am sure he did it with hesitation on what I would write about. I am sometimes unpredictable.  So Papa, you “forgot to say I love you” when you got off the phone with me. It gave me the topic that I am going to write about. Do I know Papa loves me? Sure I do! He has shown me in his actions that he loves me. During times that I hurt or needed his wisdom, he went out of his way to get a hold of me and help my healing process through words and prayers. As a side note to any readers, if you ask Papa and Nana Marie for advice, be prepared to hear words of wisdom you may not want to hear.  Except it and challenge yourself with it!

I strive to go out of my way to make my family and friends feel loved from me. Not only thru words, but also thru actions.  Sometimes I make friends uncomfortable when I tell them I love them. After awhile they get use to it and say it back. There have been times over the years when I say the three little words “I love you” and it is exactly what  the person needed to hear. A few times that was all I could say from the news I was hearing on the other end.

Having known Papa over the years, I have been able to witness his love for people. When doesn’t he stop and listen with a loving heart. When doesn’t he answer with a loving heart?  When doesn’t he pray with a loving heart?  I have seen him share Gods love with many people that most of us would never even take the time to start a conversation with. He shared Gods love to a hostess as she was bringing us to the table one evening. I never told him, but that was cool. How many times do we pass up the greatest gift God has given us? The gift of love and forgiveness God has given us is simple, not complex and needs to be shared. Some people may laugh at you or roll their eyes, but if done with a loving heart, I guarantee you  it will leave an impact. Jesus, Paul and Peter all teach us to love one another. Now I am no hippie that runs around and sings all we need is love, but if we do follow the teachings we have from the Living Word, there would be a lot more love in our lives.

So I challenge all who read this: who can you call or tell today that you love them? Better yet, who’s life could you impact today by sharing the love God has given us thru actions that back it up? Simple question from a simple guy.

P.S. Papa I LOVE YOU

1 Peter 5:14 Greet one another with a kiss of love. Peace to all of you who are in Christ.

See you soon Papa=)

Comments
  1. Brooke says:

    I love you my fantasticly wonderful perfect for me husband who is thoughtful, kind, loving, accepting, gracious and the best daddy a mother could ever ask for to bring up her child!

  2. me and I Am says:

    i love you Greg…. great job! Papa

Leave a Reply

