Ephesians 3:14-20 – Prayer Pauls Way

Posted: January 4, 2012 in Love

One thing i notice when i read things written by Paul is that he wrote out, or mentioned his prayers in nearly all of the letters.  my impression is that for Paul, prayer was nearly synonymous with breathing.  He thanked God, and prayed for God’s grace and mercy again and again.  He prayed for the general, and at times for the specific.

Paul not only mentioned his own prayers, but mentioned others who prayed, and asked those he wrote to pray as well.  Even if none of his prayers are an example — the prominence of prayer is an example.  Paul tells the Thessalonians to “Pray without ceasing” (I Thessalonians 5:17),  and he told the Philippians to pray and not worry. (Philippians 4:6)  Paul behaves the same as he recommends by praying to God instead of worrying.

Contents of this prayer

Prayer TO God who Calls every family on Earth

When looking at various translations, you may see some disagreement on which preposition to choose.  I understand this part to mean that Christ calls all people — The Greek into English seems to me to say: “Each descendant in heaven and on earth is called by him”.

Paul is praying to a God with a mission as broad as his own, to bring Salvation, and a new identity of Christ to the whole world.

Prayer TO God – The one with more than we can ask or think.

It is deeply tempting to believe that “God helps those who help themselves”  It’s quoted this all the time, but this is not the doctrine of the gospel.  In truth, i seek God’s help because i cannot help myself.

There is a Latin word, Omnipotent, to describe God’s power.  Rene Descartes described this power better than the word itself by suggesting that a person imagine the greatest most powerful being he could.  The true omnipotent God has power even greater than what can be imagined.  Paul addresses God using the same metaphor later described by Descartes.  God is more than i can ask for, or imagine.

Prayer for the people That i may be Strengthened

It seems sane to consider that when Paul prays that God give the readers strength, that he does not wish them to rely on their own strength but God’s strength.  Paul has wrote extensively explaining that man is in no way good enough but needs God’s grace.  Paul does not tell the people to “be stronger” but calls on God to give them strength.

Prayer TO God  – That Christ may dwell in my heart

For many of us, this is basic Christianity. Children speak of Christ in their heart — though, we often find this basic idea difficult as well… how is it that Christ dwells in our heart?

Whether conflict, or success, or failings, our lives have been connected with Christ… whether Christ “dwells in our hearts” because he is always in our thoughts, and we pray just as we breathe”, or if this is something deeper. Paul’s prayer is that i am tied more and more closely with Christ.

Prayer TO God – To Be rooted and grounded in love

Paul also prays that i become rooted in love.  In Ephesians, Paul explains how Salvation is among other things the healing of human relationships.  Paul prays that God will grant the readers a solid love — to keep their feet stead… or love solid as the ground under my feet.  This standard is stated over and over again from Christ, throughout Church history.

Prayer TO God – Understand… breadth, length, height, and depth

Paul is using physical dimensions when calling me to understand.  It is pure speculation to point this out — but, I count four words of dimension — while our senses recognize only three.  Paul prays that God gives me understanding… beyond what i have.  Some see more clearly than others, but it takes special revelation to understand what is beyond our senses.

Prayer TO God – Christ’s love

Paul prays that i will understand Christ’s love that “surpasses all understanding”.  With my mind, i can reason that the whole of Christ’s life and death on this earth are a testament of His love.  The choice to give His own name and reputation to replace the one i earn for myself is a testament of His love.  Many people focus on the details of the cross — as the whole of life of Christ seems to much to understand.  i may focus on salvation from hell, as i cannot comprehend salvation from a life of focusing on myself instead of Christ.  If Christ roots me in love for one another, and He has killed conflict between men on the cross – this is part of Christ’s love for me.  i spend a lifetime understanding this love… and it is deep enough for a lifetime of epiphanies. ( i like that word)

Prayer TO God – That you may be filled with all the fullness of God

Paul also prays i may be filled with “all the fullness of God”  Paul’s prayer is something that is definitely a continuous process.  No matter how much i grow, there is more fullness to fill me.

Comments
  1. Very good article. I’m going through a few of these issues as well..

  2. An interesting discussion is definitely worth comment. I do believe that you ought to publish more on this subject matter, it may not be a taboo matter but generally people don’t speak about these subjects. To the next! All the best!!

  3. Hello there! I simply wish to give you a big thumbs up for your great info you’ve got here on this post. I am coming back to your site for more soon.

  4. I needed to thank you for this good read!! I absolutely loved every little bit of it. I have you book-marked to check out new things you post…

  5. The very next time I read a blog, I hope that it doesn’t fail me as much as this one. After all, Yes, it was my choice to read through, however I really thought you would have something interesting to say. All I hear is a bunch of moaning about something you could fix if you weren’t too busy searching for attention.

  6. This is the right blog for everyone who hopes to find out about this topic. You know so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I actually would want to…HaHa). You certainly put a new spin on a topic which has been discussed for years. Excellent stuff, just wonderful!

  7. Good post. I learn something totally new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon everyday. It’s always exciting to read through articles from other authors and use a little something from other sites.

  8. That is a really good tip especially to those new to the blogosphere. Brief but very accurate information… Appreciate your sharing this one. A must read article!

  9. Good information. Lucky me I recently found your site by chance (stumbleupon). I have book marked it for later!

  10. That is a very good tip especially to those fresh to the blogosphere. Brief but very precise information… Thank you for sharing this one. A must read post!

  11. Agueda Cimko says:

    Can I simply say what a comfort to find someone who genuinely knows what they are discussing on the web. You certainly understand how to bring a problem to light and make it important. A lot more people really need to check this out and understand this side of the story. I was surprised you aren’t more popular because you certainly possess the gift.

  12. Very nice blog post. I definitely love this site. Keep it up!

  13. I absolutely love your site.. Excellent colors & theme. Did you make this website yourself? Please reply back as I’m hoping to create my very own blog and would love to learn where you got this from or what the theme is called. Kudos!

  14. Can I simply just say what a comfort to uncover somebody who really knows what they are discussing online. You definitely realize how to bring a problem to light and make it important. A lot more people need to read this and understand this side of the story. I can’t believe you’re not more popular since you most certainly have the gift.

  15. It’s hard to come by knowledgeable people about this topic, but you sound like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

  16. Excellent web site you have got here.. It’s difficult to find excellent writing like yours these days. I seriously appreciate people like you! Take care!!

  17. Yasuko Friou says:

    Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you writing this article and also the rest of the site is also very good.

  18. Mozell Borge says:

    After I initially commented I seem to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now every time a comment is added I receive four emails with the exact same comment. Perhaps there is a way you are able to remove me from that service? Kudos!

  19. Hi, I do believe this is an excellent site. I stumbledupon it 😉 I may revisit once again since i have book-marked it. Money and freedom is the best way to change, may you be rich and continue to help others.

  20. I was able to find good information from your blog articles.

  21. An impressive share! I have just forwarded this onto a friend who was doing a little homework on this. And he in fact ordered me dinner simply because I discovered it for him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thanks for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending some time to talk about this subject here on your web site.

  22. Pretty! This was an extremely wonderful post. Thank you for providing this info.

  23. Hi there, I believe your blog might be having internet browser compatibility problems. Whenever I take a look at your site in Safari, it looks fine but when opening in IE, it’s got some overlapping issues. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other than that, great website!

  24. Kyla Hobart says:

    Spot on with this write-up, I seriously believe that this web site needs much more attention. I’ll probably be back again to see more, thanks for the advice!

  25. I truly love your site.. Pleasant colors & theme. Did you develop this amazing site yourself? Please reply back as I’m attempting to create my own personal blog and would like to know where you got this from or exactly what the theme is named. Thanks!

  26. Mara Voitier says:

    I was able to find good info from your content.

  27. I was extremely pleased to discover this great site. I want to to thank you for your time for this wonderful read!! I definitely liked every little bit of it and i also have you saved as a favorite to look at new things in your site.

  28. Deidra Unga says:

    There’s definately a lot to find out about this topic. I really like all of the points you have made.

  29. Elene Ceroni says:

    Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after looking at some of the articles I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m certainly delighted I found it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back frequently!

  30. Dona Flippin says:

    Pretty! This has been a really wonderful article. Many thanks for providing this info.

  31. It’s nearly impossible to find well-informed people about this subject, however, you sound like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

  32. Marita Lacki says:

    I could not resist commenting. Perfectly written!

  33. Having read this I thought it was really informative. I appreciate you spending some time and energy to put this information together. I once again find myself spending a significant amount of time both reading and leaving comments. But so what, it was still worth it!

  34. Lauri Maille says:

    Pretty! This was an incredibly wonderful post. Thanks for providing this info.

  35. I’m extremely impressed with your writing talents as smartly as with
    the structure in your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it your self?
    Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it’s uncommon to peer a nice weblog like this one today..

  36. Latoyia says:

    Very interesting details you have noted, regards for putting up.

  37. I pay a quick visit every day a few sites and
    sites to read articles or reviews, however
    this website provides feature based posts.

Leave a Reply

