Take Aways – Intentional Relationships #1

Posted: January 11, 2012 in 1 Up and 1 Down

i have been thinking about my “Take Aways” from last Saturdays Onething Life. A ‘Take Away” is the practical application of a message or a word that is shared during our new Onething Life gatherings. On Saturday we heard a word from Andy Stanley on being in community and that it is vital to my Spiritual health.

One of my “Take Aways” was that, my friends determine the direction and quality of my life. i noted that i don’t do life with enemies, they are friends, for one reason or the other. i take the word friends very seriously, so i am not talking about just anybody i know. Some are because of where i work, while others are because it’s where i socialize. These are structured relationships. i listened to the word we heard about structured relationships at least 4 times and so i have been working on finding the right kind of relationships for some time. Onething Life is all about intentional living. i am very much aware that for the sake of my spiritual health i must find and enter into intentional, spiritual relationships. By the way you can go to www.onethinglife.com and watch the message.

The other “Take Away” for me was the idea that i gravitate toward acceptance… regardless of values. i disagreed with that the first two or three times i heard it, but finally realize that it’s true. For most of my life i have said that i didn’t care what people said or thought of me, but that’s not completely true. Specifically for the past 5 years i have tried to please people and find their acceptance of my thoughts and desires and please…. don’t ask me how that has worked. i like the next guy, enjoys a pat on the back or a word of thanks, yet i don’t die when i don’t get them, non the less i do expect them once in a while. That part about, regardless of values makes a huge difference. What i heard is that i am willing to put my values aside or at least compromise them to some degree in order to be accepted. This gets muddy as i consider the idea of acceptance, unity and not insisting on my own way. i have learned that i can disagree with someone and still have some kind of relationship with them, but, but, i must off-set those relationships with some like-minded relationships.

Jesus spent the day with the woman at the well, but didn’t go back day after day to have the same discussion over and over. He presented her with truth and opportunity to change her life. What she did after that was up to her. She had to go back to the same environment with the same people, including this man that she was with, who was not her husband and now figure out what to do with those relationships in light of this new relationship which told her to go and sin no more. Relationship, compromising values, truth or comfort, personal satisfaction or being found in Him.

Many times i read where Jesus leaves some form of structured relationship with people who do not think or believe the way He does, and finds a quiet place to spend time with His Father. He gives out and then takes in. i must find the same balance, giving out and then taking in. Being with people who i put into and then with people who put into me. As for acceptance… well that’s what i intend to intentionally work on, that my acceptance would come from the Father and that it would be enough. As for the values portion of it, i believe that His values would far out weigh mine and so i think i’m okay in doing life together with Him on that front.

In closing i realize that my “Take Aways” are not destinations to be reached in one week, they are lifestyle adjustments that i will be working on intentionally for the rest of my life. i am very fortunate to have some people in my life that i can begin with. For me it is easier to build upon that begin a new, so thank you to all those that are willing to take this journey. On the day when i do Take Aways the post will be a little different and for now i invite others that are doing Onething Life with me to share about their “Take Aways.” i am working on a better solution for doing this but i do not want time to slip away while doing so.

One last thought… if you think you are in relationship to change someone or help someone see the light, let me throw this thought out there. Consider how hard it is to change yourself and you’ll understand what little chance you have in trying to change others.

Comments
  1. You ought to take part in a contest for one of the highest quality blogs online. I will highly recommend this web site!

  2. Great post! We are linking to this particularly great post on our site. Keep up the great writing.

  3. I truly love your website.. Pleasant colors & theme. Did you create this web site yourself? Please reply back as I’m wanting to create my own blog and would love to learn where you got this from or just what the theme is named. Appreciate it!

  4. An outstanding share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a co-worker who has been conducting a little research on this. And he actually bought me lunch due to the fact that I found it for him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending time to discuss this subject here on your web site.

  5. Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you writing this write-up plus the rest of the site is very good.

  6. An outstanding share! I have just forwarded this onto a friend who was conducting a little homework on this. And he actually ordered me lunch because I discovered it for him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanx for spending time to discuss this subject here on your web page.

  7. I really like it when folks come together and share views. Great blog, continue the good work!

  8. Ashly Nocket says:

    I’m more than happy to uncover this site. I want to to thank you for your time for this fantastic read!! I definitely enjoyed every bit of it and I have you saved as a favorite to see new things on your site.

  9. I like it when folks get together and share views. Great blog, stick with it!

  10. Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on websites I stumbleupon every day. It’s always helpful to read through content from other writers and practice something from other websites.

  11. Everything is very open with a clear clarification of the challenges. It was truly informative. Your site is extremely helpful. Thanks for sharing!

  12. Hi, I do think this is an excellent web site. I stumbledupon it 😉 I may come back yet again since i have saved as a favorite it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to guide others.

  13. There’s definately a lot to know about this issue. I love all of the points you’ve made.

  14. This is a great tip especially to those fresh to the blogosphere. Simple but very precise info… Thanks for sharing this one. A must read article!

  15. An intriguing discussion is definitely worth comment. I think that you need to publish more about this topic, it may not be a taboo subject but generally people do not speak about such topics. To the next! Many thanks!!

  16. I have to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this website. I really hope to view the same high-grade blog posts from you later on as well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my own, personal blog now 😉

  17. I’m extremely pleased to find this site. I want to to thank you for your time for this particularly wonderful read!! I definitely appreciated every part of it and I have you saved as a favorite to see new things in your blog.

  18. Joana Stires says:

    You should be a part of a contest for one of the finest websites on the web. I most certainly will recommend this web site!

  19. Hello there! This blog post couldn’t be written any better! Looking through this article reminds me of my previous roommate! He constantly kept talking about this. I’ll send this post to him. Pretty sure he’s going to have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

  20. Ashlie Niez says:

    I have to thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this website. I’m hoping to see the same high-grade blog posts by you in the future as well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my own, personal blog now 😉

  21. I want to to thank you for this excellent read!! I definitely enjoyed every little bit of it. I have you bookmarked to check out new things you post…

  22. Mario Kisor says:

    A fascinating discussion is definitely worth comment. I do think that you ought to write more about this issue, it might not be a taboo subject but generally people don’t speak about such topics. To the next! Many thanks!!

  23. Alex Knott says:

    Greetings, I do believe your site might be having web browser compatibility problems. When I look at your website in Safari, it looks fine however when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping issues. I merely wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Other than that, great site!

  24. Elma Mazell says:

    Hi, I do believe this is an excellent web site. I stumbledupon it 😉 I will revisit once again since i have book marked it. Money and freedom is the best way to change, may you be rich and continue to guide other people.

  25. When I initially commented I seem to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now whenever a comment is added I recieve four emails with the same comment. Perhaps there is an easy method you can remove me from that service? Many thanks!

  26. Everything is very open with a really clear clarification of the issues. It was definitely informative. Your website is very useful. Thanks for sharing!

  27. Wonderful article! We will be linking to this particularly great article on our website. Keep up the great writing.

  28. Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you writing this article and also the rest of the site is also really good.

  29. Nice post. I learn something new and challenging on blogs I stumbleupon every day. It’s always exciting to read through content from other writers and use a little something from other websites.

  30. Daisy Mcafee says:

    I want to to thank you for this great read!! I certainly loved every little bit of it. I have got you bookmarked to look at new things you post…

  31. I blog frequently and I truly thank you for your content. This article has truly peaked my interest. I will bookmark your website and keep checking for new details about once per week. I opted in for your Feed too.

  32. I need to to thank you for this great read!! I definitely enjoyed every bit of it. I have you book-marked to check out new stuff you post…

  33. When I initially left a comment I appear to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on each time a comment is added I receive four emails with the same comment. Is there a way you are able to remove me from that service? Thanks a lot!

  34. I blog frequently and I genuinely thank you for your content. This article has truly peaked my interest. I will take a note of your site and keep checking for new details about once a week. I opted in for your RSS feed too.

  35. Alysa Rener says:

    An interesting discussion is definitely worth comment. I believe that you need to publish more on this subject matter, it might not be a taboo matter but generally people don’t talk about such topics. To the next! Many thanks!!

  36. Pretty! This was a really wonderful article. Thank you for supplying this info.

  37. Randi Troxil says:

    I used to be able to find good information from your content.

  38. You need to be a part of a contest for one of the best websites online. I’m going to recommend this web site!

  39. Aw, this was a really good post. Spending some time and actual effort to produce a very good article… but what can I say… I hesitate a whole lot and never manage to get nearly anything done.

  40. Right here is the right blog for anybody who hopes to understand this topic. You understand a whole lot its almost hard to argue with you (not that I personally would want to…HaHa). You certainly put a fresh spin on a subject that has been discussed for a long time. Wonderful stuff, just wonderful!

  41. An intriguing discussion is worth comment. I do believe that you need to publish more on this topic, it may not be a taboo matter but typically people do not talk about such issues. To the next! All the best!!

  42. Monserrate says:

    I’m gone to say to my little brother, that he should also visit this weblog on regular basis to obtain updated from most recent news update.

  43. Anika says:

    I like the helpful information you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently.

    I’m quite certain I will learn plenty of new stuff right here!
    Good luck for the next!

  44. Sherill says:

    you’re actually a excellent webmaster. The site loading speed is incredible.
    It kind of feels that you are doing any distinctive trick. Moreover, The contents
    are masterwork. you’ve performed a fantastic job on this
    subject!

  45. cheap-ticket says:

    Hi, I do think this is an excellent site. I stumbledupon it ;
    ) I will come back once again since I saved as a favorite it.
    Money and freedom is the best way to change, may you be rich and continue to help others.

  46. Hello Dear, are you really visiting this web page daily, if so then you will definitely get nice
    experience.

Leave a Reply

