Regardless of Results Seen!

Posted: January 31, 2012 in Wandering Thoughts

As i face some complicated decisions for myself that involve many others i am tempted to look at results and base those decisions on those “results.” Without going into the details i will state the results as i see them, by going to Habakkuk 3:17. After almost 6 years this is where it would seem that i am ending at.

Habakkuk 3:17-19 Though the fig tree does not blossom and there is no fruit on the vines, [though] the product of the olive fails and the fields yield no food, though the flock is cut off from the fold and there are no cattle in the stalls,

i do believe that those words pretty much summarize where i am with Onething Campus and Onething Prayer Center, the results appear to be bleak at best (but God).

But Habakkuk 3:17 does not end there. It goes on to say, “Yet I will rejoice in the Lord; I will exult in the [victorious] God of my salvation!.” It says “I will exult in the VICTORIOUS GOD OF MY SALVATION.” i may not “feel” victorious because i am to absorbed in the results that i think others are looking at. Then too, i am looking at victorious me and this verse says it’s victorious God, the God of my salvation. Results… i won’t say that results are not necessary or that God doesn’t expect them but i will say that they do not deserve the prominence that i give them. The God of my salvation does not change by my results whether i or others deem them successful or not. “The God of my salvation…” how blessed am i!

What i love about God and His word is that neither, leave me where i am. They take me to where i need to go. They lead me with application to get me beyond where i am at the moment.

The Lord God (of my salvation) is my Strength, my personal bravery, and my invincible army; He makes my feet like hinds’ feet and will make me to walk [not to stand still in terror, but to walk] and make [spiritual] progress (not results) upon my high places [of trouble, suffering, or responsibility]! For the Chief Musician; with my stringed instruments.

Will make ed to walk, not stand still in terror, but to walk, and make spiritual progress, upon high place of trouble, suffering, or responsibility! Isn’t this where i need spiritual progress, in the tough and uncomfortable places. So why would i consider results, when i know that i have made spiritual progress during the past 5 plus years. Five years plus of trouble, suffering, responsibilities, and spiritual progress! But God!!

i close by using the Message to express the words a little more clearly. Actually this version includes Onething Life, into my previous words, ‘Though the sheep pens are sheepless.” whether there are sheep in the pens or not, i’m singing joyful praise to God.

Though the cherry trees don’t blossom and the strawberries don’t ripen, Though the apples are worm-eaten and the wheat fields stunted, Though the sheep pens are sheepless and the cattle barns empty, I’m singing joyful praise to God. I’m turning cartwheels of joy to my Savior God. Counting on God’s Rule to prevail, I take heart and gain strength. I run like a deer. I feel like I’m king of the mountain!

i am counting on God’s Rule to prevail, i am learning to take heart and gain strength just as David did in 1 Samuel 30, run as a deer, well that’s my mind at this time and we’ll work on the actual physical ability to do that. i am not a big “feel” person. i prefer to know that i am king of the mountain and right now i don’t think i know that.  It’s been a bit elusive, coming and going. So Lord i pray Habakkuk 3:17-19 for me.

Comments
  1. Ed,

    Thank you for sharing your heart with us today. Where would we all be without God’s Promises? For they are faithful and true!

    This morning I posted a comment on Facebook that went something like this…

    “Trusting God isn’t just a one time thing. It’s a day by day, moment by moment walk of faith ~ believing that God is right by your side every step of the way. No matter what your circumstances are!”

    I have to be reminded of this all the time. Especially lately when our own barns are almost empty. Life is hard and heaven is looking better every single day.

    How about we both shift our focus to this promise today…
    Commit to the LORD whatever you do, and your plans will succeed. Proverbs 16:3

    Keith & I are really enjoying your blog so keep writing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

