God Wrote A Book About me! Part 1

Posted: March 5, 2012 in Am i There Yet?

i have worked long and hard on realizing who i am in Christ and how much He loves and wants me, to fulfil my destiny of having a personal, intimate and eternal relationship with Him. Then if… no, as He desires i can fulfill my earthly purpose here on earth as well. i am not surprised that God desires and wants me, after all He created me. He specifically designed me and has mapped out an entire plan prior to my actual birth. As the psalmist David said, “You saw me before i was born. Everyday of my life was recorded in Your book. Every moment was laid out before a single day had passed.” Psalm 139:16 Don’t get confused, it is His book, but it is all about me.

i am realizing more and more each day that this is a book written about my life… yes the Bible is a book about my life. i have always thought of it as a book of short stories about others who have gone before and made a way for me. i have also thought of it as THE book about God, Jesus and the Holy Spirit. But i am becoming aware that it’s a book about me. Sometimes a manual for me to follow. Other times a story book to capture my attention. Then other times a book filled with dreams and stories of what is possible for me. This brings an element of excitement to my reading of this book. I often like to see what lies ahead… yet other times not so much.

I must admit that the questions about my life’s bad choices, bumps, bruises, and wrecks seem hard to imagine as something God would write about or plan for my life. Then again He left “decisions” to me and it’s those decisions that cause most of the bumps, bruises, and wrecks. Right now i’m recalling the story of the little train that could. i think i can, i think i can, i think i can. i can read the book, and i think i can, i think i can, choose to follow the story and believe in what is written. Even in the midst of bumps, bruises and wrecks God wrote repentance and restoration into the story of my life. He knew i’d need it!

Here’s one of the greatest things i have read about in my story. God knew what manner of evil would try to overtake me, He knew all the tribulation and adversity i would suffer and He made paths for me to escape and even come out as more than a conqueror and… He calls me an “overcomer.” Hebrews 12:1 says that i run with endurance the race that has been set before me.

The book, the story says, that i run the race and live out this story of my life relentlessly, and in doing so finish strong.

Comments
  1. megan says:

    Something you said here reminded me of a question that came to me this week…Does God always get what He wants? Because we tell a hurting, broken world that God never WANTED bad things to happen like rape, murder, the Holocaust, etc…yet that kindof sets them up to believe that God must not be ABLE or the all-powerful like He says He is to stop things from happening that He doesn’t want.

    More in person on this!

Leave a Reply

