So Easily Forgotten!

Posted: April 17, 2012 in Am i There Yet?, Significance

i am unable to escape the results of my thoughts. Whatever my present environment may be, i will fall, remain or rise with my thoughts, my vision, my ideal. i will become as small as my controlling desire; as great as my dominant hunger and thirst.

i am unable to escape the results of my thoughts… i can’t tell you how many times i have said, “i have the mind of Christ, my thoughts are established in Him, my steps are ordered by Him.” But the next portion of the quote has a great effect on my thoughts, “whatever my present environment may be,”

At the end of last year i spent a great amount of time learning to remove my judgements of things. Example, there are no good days, no bad days. Since i everything comes from God, goes through God and ends with God, everyday must be good. i also spent time looking at the question of does God need me. i came to the conclusion that no God does not need me but, He desires me. i also thought about the idea of being just a simple creation of God and would that be enough for me. If i never did anything to be remembered for, if nobody knew my name, if there was no great accomplishment or legacy left behind, would i be okay with that. If i truly was… just His creation. The word just causes me pause as i say it. Is there such a thing as, just when it comes to God. “Just” sounds like i am limited or handicapped in being His creation. i spent several months working to remove “me” from the equation and to make Him the “only.” That’s an extrodinary environment to be in.

Then comes March like a roaring lion and i am thrown into moving the Onething Campus. A new environment and just 25 days to get the job done. i now must design 4000 sq. ft of space which will serve us for the next three years. This is right up my alley. I GET TO CREATE! Then the building process begins and at the end of every day i can look on the accomplishments of our labor. The results of a hard days work stand before me to evaluate. Then putting the decorating touches in place that Ann Marie has so wonderfully layed out. More results, more accomplishments! i am in “MY” element as a creative individual. For a week the finishing touches feed my hunger for seeing results and all the while claiming that it must be just right for those who use the campus. The day comes to move in and get ready for the campus to open and when it’s all done i remember standing there at the end of the day, wanting a few silent moments to gaze at the results, to take count of all the accomplishments. It was like being a proud papa.

For many reason i could not get my few moments alone and so i left that place thinking that i would capture my proud moments at another time. That did not happen. It was less than 24 hours before my proud moments were invaded with some dissatisfaction regarding the results from those around me. Hurt… yes. Disappointed… yes. my finest hour was gone and thus the disconnect which i now realize was my desire for significance. i am not usually one who needs a pat on the back and i do not particularly desire nor need recognition or even a thank you, but for some reason this time was different.

i told Ann Marie that when the hairs on my arms ache and every part of my body claims its own pains, when i am as tired as i am from all the hours, when we have given more money, time and effort than we agreed to do and i come to the place where i feel no significance there is something wrong. i had recently learned that blame does not work well for anyone so began looking to myself for what was wrong. It took a week and a half but God made it clear that i had forgotten the lessons regarding my significance. i was no longer for this brief moment willing to step back and be a simple creature of His, and now what? What am i to do now that this task is done? What is there for me to accomplish? Where will my significance come from? my current dominant hunger and thirst!

This morning i was led to Philippians 2:1-4 ed My son if you’ve gotten anything at all out of following Christ, if his love has made any difference in your life, if being in a community of the Spirit means anything to you, if you have a heart, if you care— then do me a favor: Agree with each other, love each other, be deep-spirited friends. Don’t push your way to the front; don’t sweet-talk your way to the top. Put yourself aside, and help others get ahead. Don’t be obsessed with getting your own advantage. Forget yourselves long enough to lend a helping hand.

Truth be told… all i did was lend a helping hand! No more than the countless others who helped. Oh maybe i spent more hours but every effort counted. Maybe we gave more money, but it wasn’t ours anyway and as we came to the end literally every penny is counting. i close for today with the words of Philippians 2:12-13 What I’m getting at, ed, is that you should simply keep on doing what you’ve already learned from the beginning. When I was living among you, you lived in responsive obedience. Now that I’m separated from you, keep it up. Better yet, redouble your efforts. Be energetic in your life of salvation, reverent and sensitive before God. That energy is God’s energy, an energy deep within you, God himself willing and working at what will give Him the most (significance) pleasure. my dominant hunger and thirst.

Comments
  1. Panama says:

    Some define success in terms of financial results – the accumulation of money and/or income streams. Others say “No”, other things are important – its not just money, and most would agree. You are not successful if your family life is a mess. Or your emotional life. Or your health. So you have to look at all these things and work out what success means for you. What if you achieved everything you set out to achieve in this life, and then spent eternity in hell because you lived a life without respect to God and His Word? Just suppose for a minute that that is possible. Would such a life be successful?

  2. Temeka Left says:

    Excellent site you’ve got here.. It’s hard to find quality writing like yours nowadays. I seriously appreciate people like you! Take care!!

  3. Elva Ashlock says:

    Everything is very open with a precise clarification of the challenges. It was really informative. Your website is very useful. Many thanks for sharing!

  4. Hi, I do believe this is a great blog. I stumbledupon it 😉 I am going to return once again since I bookmarked it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to help other people.

  5. Rosy Hochman says:

    Hello there! This blog post could not be written any better! Looking through this article reminds me of my previous roommate! He always kept preaching about this. I will forward this post to him. Pretty sure he’ll have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

  6. This is the perfect blog for anybody who hopes to find out about this topic. You understand a whole lot its almost hard to argue with you (not that I actually would want to…HaHa). You definitely put a brand new spin on a subject which has been discussed for many years. Excellent stuff, just great!

  7. Hi there! This post could not be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my previous roommate! He constantly kept talking about this. I will forward this article to him. Pretty sure he’s going to have a good read. I appreciate you for sharing!

  8. I’m impressed, I must say. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s both equally educative and engaging, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. The issue is an issue that too few people are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I found this in my search for something concerning this.

  9. Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude! Thank you so much, However I am going through difficulties with your RSS. I don’t know the reason why I can’t subscribe to it. Is there anyone else getting similar RSS problems? Anybody who knows the solution will you kindly respond? Thanks!!

  10. Very good article. I will be experiencing a few of these issues as well..

  11. Your style is really unique compared to other people I have read stuff from. I appreciate you for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I will just book mark this page.

  12. Karol Ausmus says:

    Hi, There’s no doubt that your website could be having web browser compatibility issues. Whenever I take a look at your web site in Safari, it looks fine however when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping issues. I merely wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Besides that, fantastic blog!

  13. Greetings! Very useful advice in this particular post! It is the little changes which will make the largest changes. Many thanks for sharing!

  14. I was more than happy to uncover this website. I need to to thank you for ones time due to this wonderful read!! I definitely loved every bit of it and I have you book-marked to check out new things on your web site.

  15. Spot on with this write-up, I honestly feel this amazing site needs much more attention. I’ll probably be returning to see more, thanks for the advice!

  16. I really like reading an article that will make men and women think. Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!

  17. Jessie Wells says:

    Spot on with this write-up, I actually believe this web site needs a lot more attention. I’ll probably be returning to see more, thanks for the information!

  18. It’s difficult to find well-informed people about this topic, however, you sound like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

  19. Great web site you have here.. It’s difficult to find high-quality writing like yours these days. I really appreciate people like you! Take care!!

  20. You have made some good points there. I checked on the internet to learn more about the issue and found most people will go along with your views on this web site.

  21. I blog often and I truly thank you for your information. Your article has truly peaked my interest. I am going to book mark your site and keep checking for new information about once a week. I opted in for your RSS feed too.

  22. A fascinating discussion is worth comment. I do believe that you need to write more about this topic, it may not be a taboo subject but generally people don’t speak about such topics. To the next! Best wishes!!

  23. I like reading an article that will make men and women think. Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!

  24. Vera Prizzi says:

    Pretty! This was an incredibly wonderful article. Many thanks for supplying this information.

  25. Spot on with this write-up, I truly feel this web site needs much more attention. I’ll probably be returning to read more, thanks for the advice!

  26. After going over a handful of the articles on your web site, I seriously appreciate your technique of blogging. I saved it to my bookmark webpage list and will be checking back in the near future. Please check out my web site as well and tell me your opinion.

  27. Arica Gurke says:

    You have made some good points there. I looked on the net for additional information about the issue and found most people will go along with your views on this website.

  28. Manie Asano says:

    You made some good points there. I looked on the web to find out more about the issue and found most people will go along with your views on this website.

  29. Vanda Neugin says:

    Very good info. Lucky me I ran across your blog by accident (stumbleupon). I’ve book-marked it for later!

  30. Good information. Lucky me I ran across your blog by chance (stumbleupon). I have book marked it for later!

  31. Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you writing this article and also the rest of the website is also very good.

  32. Bari Chiem says:

    Your style is unique in comparison to other folks I’ve read stuff from. Thank you for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I’ll just bookmark this web site.

  33. Aw, this was an incredibly nice post. Taking a few minutes and actual effort to produce a great article… but what can I say… I put things off a lot and don’t manage to get nearly anything done.

  34. May I simply just say what a comfort to uncover someone that actually knows what they are talking about on the web. You certainly realize how to bring an issue to light and make it important. More people must check this out and understand this side of your story. It’s surprising you aren’t more popular since you definitely possess the gift.

  35. Yon Schwenke says:

    Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Thanks, However I am experiencing troubles with your RSS. I don’t know why I can’t subscribe to it. Is there anybody else having similar RSS issues? Anybody who knows the solution will you kindly respond? Thanx!!

  36. I couldn’t resist commenting. Very well written!

  37. If you wish for to increase your knowledge only
    keep visiting this web page and be updated with the most recent news update posted here.

  38. Excellent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous
    to and you are just too great. I actually like what you have
    acquired here, certainly like what you are saying and the way in which you say it.
    You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it wise.

    I can not wait to read far more from you. This is really a terrific web site.

Leave a Reply

