Splat!!!!

Posted: June 7, 2012 in Jesus The Answer?

Isaiah 40:31 But those who wait for the Lord [who expect, look for, and hope in Him] shall change and renew their strength and power; PAUSE…

This sounds like the man at the pool. “Do you want to be well?” Do you want to change and renew your strength and power? If you do then wait (expect, look for, and hope in Him) for the Lord. Take up your bed and walk! i am not waiting for God but in God. God is actually waiting for me to answer the question as the healing or the provision is already in place.

they shall lift their wings and mount up [close to God] as eagles [mount up to the sun]; they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint or become tired. Isn’t that the same thing as “Take up your bed and walk?” Jesus didn’t pray over the man, He didn’t lay hands on Him, He didn’t speak in tongues, no blessed water form the Jordan and definitely no handkerchief that had been prayed for, no mumbo jumbo,. just five simple words “take up your bed and walk,” “Wait upon the Lord.”

i found much of the information regarding eagles to be no different that my own life.

Fortunately for me i am in the fifty percent that survive their first year.

For the past 10 years i have been in a season of repairing and refurbishing the nest until it meets my approval. Just like the eagle’s nest these continual additions to the my nest have often enlarged it to enormous proportions. Once the nest has been made egg-worthy the female lays one to three eggs, each a day apart. Incubation begins immediately with the female shouldering most of the nest-sitting duties. Her mate takes on the responsibility of hunting for both of them while they wait for the first egg to hatch, approximately five to six weeks after it was laid. Once the chicks hatch, they require near-constant attention and protection from the elements, with both parents sharing the responsibilities. Okay, i don’t lay eggs but it’s similar when a new renter comes to the campus.

The greatest survival challenge for eaglets in the nest comes from each other. i will keep my words to few so i don’t put my foot in my mouth, but my greatest survival challenges have come from those whom i thought were closest to me. Since the eggs are laid a day or two apart, the first-hatching chick will have a head start on second or third chicks. The larger chick will peck at and attack the smaller chick(s), gobbling up the lion’s share of the food. Many second and third-hatching eaglets fail to live beyond the first two weeks. Strangely enough, adults do not try to protect the eaglets from each other.

The bald eagle has not always enjoyed popularity and acceptance and neither have i. There have been those that thought i like the eagle was an insatiable predator with a taste for the kill. In truth, most of the “kills” attributed to eagles were actually the victims of other predators or natural phenomena as has been the same with me.

In closing i again use Carl Sandburg’s words: “There is an eagle in me that wants to soar, and there is a hippopotamus in me that wants to wallow in the mud.”

There are moments when i soar, the eagle in me wants to be made well and is willing to wait upon the Lord. Then for some strange reason i tilt my wings, begin to dive, and splat!! i find myself wallowing in the mud and  somewhere in the impact of the landing i have become a hippopotamus… and, AND… i’m enjoying every minute of it, comfortable like the man sitting by the pool for 38 years, content to tell my story of despair, without any change, strength or power.

Comments
  1. Ann Marie says:

    “The GREATEST survival challenge for eaglets in the nest comes from EACH OTHER”…things that make you go hmmmm OR OUCH, I’ll follow your lead and leave it there!!!!!

  2. I really like what you guys tend to be up too. This kind of clever work and
    exposure! Keep up the superb works guys I’ve you guys to our blogroll.

  3. I like what you guys are up too. Such clever work
    and reporting! Keep up the amazing works guys I’ve you guys to blogroll.

  4. I’m amazed, I must say. Seldom do I come across a blog that’s both equally educative and amusing, and without
    a doubt, you have hit the nail on the head.
    The problem is something too few folks are speaking intelligently
    about. I am very happy I came across this during my search for something
    relating to this.

Leave a Reply

