My Addiction – Why Am i This Way Part 3

Posted: July 18, 2012 in My Addiction
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
One of the questions i have is “Why am I this way?” What possible reason can there be for my addiction? It has been suggested that addictions are a part of the sin nature.

In reality, it is most likely no-one’s fault per say; there is no agreement on one single reason behind the cause of addiction. The addiction and recovery process is complex, taking in nearly every aspect of my life. Most likely, it is a combination of the theories proposed by pastors, counselors, scientists and those who have lived and worked in recovery.

Nature: According to research, there is a good deal of evidence that genetics play a  part in how i react to my addiction.  This includes how enjoyable it will be.  These findings have helped me recognize family patterns of addiction without blame. For me i must include the spiritual aspect when i am talking about my nature.

i have a “nature” in three distinct ways:

1) By Birth – This is the good and upright nature with which i was created (Genesis 1:26-27; Ecclesiastes 7:29).

2) By Having Sinned And Come Short Of The Glory Of God (Romans 3:23) – This is a “voluntary nature” (Joshua 24:15; 1 Kings 18:21; Matthew 6:24). It is the nature that makes me an enemy of God, children of the devil, and “by nature the children of wrath” (Ephesians 2:3).

3) By Being Born Again (John 3:3) – This is also a “voluntary” nature in which i, by faith, become “a partaker of the divine nature” (2 Peter 1:4). In order for me as a child of God to “maintain” that “divine nature”, i must “voluntarily” and “continuously” be “transformed” and “renewed in knowledge after the image of Him that created Him” (Romans 12:2; Colossians 3:10).

The word “nature” in the Bible, when it refers to my birth, never refers to a “sinful nature”. This is shown in Romans 2:14, which says, “For when the Gentiles, which have not the law, do by nature the things contained in the law…” The word “nature” in this text does refer to the nature i received at birth. But it is evident that the word nature used here is not a “sinful nature”. For how would a sinful nature ever cause me to “do by nature the things contained in the law”? A sinful nature would only cause me to commit sin! (See Romans 1:26-27; Romans 2:14-15; I Corinthians 11:14). The word show that “my nature” teaches me the differences between right and wrong, but never “causes” me to do the wrong.

Nurture:Further research  shows that increased quantity and frequency of addiction use, actually changes the way my brain responds, eventually creating a physiological  need for the addiction. This “re-mapping” of the brain may cause  the sensation known as craving, which contributes to relapse. This is a biological explanation of the addiction habit or compulsion.

Mental Health: In addition to other biological factors, many inherited and acquired mental health disorders often co-exist with addictions. Approximately half of patients with  severe mental disorders struggle with some form of addiction. There are indications that addiction may be a form of self-medication – to ease the lows, lift depression, relieve anxiety, or get through the hard times.

Conclusion: To maintain that i was born with a sin nature, which by the way would help me with my addiction, is to charge God, the Author of my nature, with creating “me as a sinner”. i was not “born short of the glory of God.” i “sin and come short of the glory of God” (Romans 3:23). Jesus took on human nature and “was in all points tempted like i am, yet without sin” (Hebrews 4:15). Therefore, i can’t get away with believing that my human nature is sinful in itself and that’s where my addiction comes from. This means that i have no one to blame my addiction on and that leads me to conclude that the answer as to “why am i this way”… can only be, because i choose to be…

Comments
  1. silver price says:

    Semantic Range: Each word has a range of meaning, the specific meaning of which must be determined by its immediate context. Paul uses the same word (sarx) in different ways: physical body (Gal. 2:20), human accomplishment (Phil. 3:4)—and sinful nature.

Leave a Reply

