My Addiction – Healing – Part 31

Posted: September 12, 2012 in My Addiction
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Peaceful Living – Comes from Acting on Basic Biblical Truths – Structured Into A Program For Daily Life

GROWING IN PEACE

“If the writing is honest it cannot be separated from the man who wrote it.” Tennessee Williams

my journey to intimacy began with a decision to reorder my life according to a different set of priorities.

i said that this is not about perfection but progress and i defined progress yesterday. i am not on this journey so that God will love me more or accept me more. i cannot be more accepted or loved than I am already and have always been.

Philippians 3:10 Amplified states my purpose clearly, [For my determined purpose is] that I may know Him [that I may progressively become more deeply and intimately acquainted with Him, perceiving and recognizing and understanding the wonders of His Person more strongly and more clearly], and that I may in that same way come to know the power outflowing from His resurrection [which it exerts over believers], and that I may so share His sufferings as to be continually transformed [in spirit into His likeness even] to His death, [in the hope]

i am exercising toward intimacy that doesn’t need a stirring message from the pulpit and doesn’t depend upon a great worship event but simply exists as a natural part of my walk.

i live in a spiritual environment where we talk spiritual talk and send spiritual emails and letters, we write spiritual pamphlets, and songs we do spiritual Bible studies, we answer spiritual ringtones and deal with spiritual concerns. But in the process of doing spiritual things (not religious things but real spiritual things) i have failed in the past to discipline myself for the purpose of Godliness. my environment does not make me deep.

There is a story about Dan Rather interviewing Mother Teresa: When you pray, asked rather, what do you say to God? I don’t say anything, she replied. I listen. Rather tried another tack. Well okay… when God speaks to you, then, what does He say? He doesn’t say anything. He listens. Rather looked bewildered. For an instant he didn’t know what to say. And if you don’t understand that, added Mother Teresa, I can’t explain it to you.

Comments
  1. Nice website over here! I’ll just wanna say thanks for that. If you like to visit my website check out our website to please! thanks for visiting!

  2. you’re in point of fact a excellent webmaster. The web site loading pace is amazing. It kind of feels that you’re doing any unique trick. Also, The contents are masterpiece. you have done a fantastic task on this topic!

  3. hello from across the ocean I’m laura I’m such a air head but I still really loved your posts

  4. Great blog you have here, continue the good function, enjoy studying your thoughts and want to follow a person for a long period, never thought I’d look for a great site like this one, many websites are extremely poor that you simply easy just waste materials your time and effort studying all of them!

  5. click here says:

    Not what I was searching for but excellent anyway! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

