Surrender of it not surrender to it

Posted: October 2, 2012 in "While The Cats Away"

Hello, my name is Dan and I am a workaholic. It is a commonly used phrase in 12 step meetings by substituting whatever your life-controlling struggle is for workaholic. For some people it is drugs or alcohol but for others it may be your weight, work, gambling, sports or any behavior that continually raises its head to interfere with your plans and relationships.

Sometimes we feel that our addictions require us to fight harder or resist more, trying to overcome the lack of control it brings. What I discovered was the only solution was surrender. Not surrender to the addictive behavior but surrender of the addictive behavior or substance to the One who can control.

Acknowledging that I am a workaholic allows me to surrender the behavior to Him. Resisting and trying to control it myself leads me to more frustration and failure.

I tried many times to change my behavior, praying that God would give me the ability to overcome the madness brought on by my life-controlling struggle. It was giving up that allowed me to succeed.

What I could not do, God could, do but I had to surrender it to Him. Of course, I can’t surrender what I don’t possess.

It is your addictive behavior, claim it so you can surrender it, then God can control it.

Pastor Dan, Recovery Church

Comments
  1. click here says:

    Hey there, just became alerted to your blog through Google, and found that it’s very informative. I will appreciate if you continue this in future. Many people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  2. click this says:

    Hey there from many miles away! This is just what I was expecting, and you wrote it nicely. Thanks very much

  3. nice site says:

    Hellow my name is Jill and I’m a blogger and this site really aided me. I’m motivated! Thanks!

  4. b vitamins says:

    Hey sweetie from a teenage girlreader keep up the awe inspiring website

  5. read more says:

    hello from across the ocean I’m barbara I’m such a silly girl but I still particularly loved your work

  6. I came here looking for something else, but this inspired me regardless. Inspiring stuff!

  7. maydown says:

    Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it is very informative. I will appreciate if you continue this in future. A lot of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  8. derry says:

    Not what I was thinking but superb anyway! Good for you!

  9. Very interesting information!Perfect just what I was looking for!

  10. nice site says:

    I came here expecting something else, but this interested me regardless. Entertaining stuff!

  11. click this says:

    Hello from across the ocean! This is just what I was expecting, and you got it right. Thx

  12. sup I’m Sarah I’m such a blonde but I still really admired your posts

  13. Great info and superbly written. Keep up the wonderful stuff!

  14. І am extremely impressed with ʏour writing skills and alѕߋ with the layout on yoսr blog.
    Is thiѕ a aid theme or did you modify it yourself?
    Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, іt is rare to sеee
    a great blоg like this one today.

Leave a Reply

