Counting Down The Days Until… 41

Posted: November 20, 2012 in Counting Down The Days Until...
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Until… 2012 ends and 2013 begins. Unlike past years i would be very excited to have just made it through another year, and almost dreadfully anticipating yet another year. Not this time! Rather than trying to teach something, i as always, will just share my personal journal of “Counting Down The Days Until… which is what i’m calling my journey through a book called “The Dream Giver.

Today’s post is backtracking a little bit, because i did not do Wasteland justice yesterday. So here’s a little closer look.

At this point in Ordinaries journey, he is expecting to find his dream. NOT! Ordinary didn’t find it. Instead, he soon found himself at the edge of a wide chasm. In the first half of 2012 i felt like i was standing on the edge of a wide chasm, straining to see what was below. A haze obscured the view. i can now say i’m glad i couldn’t see it then because i was not prepared for what was to come.

When he reached the bottom, he saw what lay ahead. And what he saw made his heart sink. He saw miles and miles of nothing but sand, rocks, and a few scraggly trees. He was standing on the edge of an empty WasteLand.

This is where the Dream Giver steps in and gives me Isaiah 43:18-20“Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the desert and streams in the wasteland. The wild animals honor me, the jackals and the owls, because I provide water in the desert and streams in the wasteland, to give drink to my people, my chosen, the people I formed for myself that they may proclaim my praise.

Great to get a word but it took me time to get it into my heart where it would serve it’s purpose. Meanwhile time passed. Ordinary’s skin burned. His feet blistered. His bones ached. All of which i can relate to. One day blurred into another as i shared in a previous post.

Ordinary got hungry and opened his case  …   and didn’t find anything to eat. He called out to the Dream Giver for food. But he got no answer.

Two days later, he ran out of water. He called out to the Dream Giver again. And again, he heard nothing.

Psalm 70 was a mixed bag of prayer for me. Make haste, O God, to deliver me; make haste to help me, O Lord! Let them be put to shame and confounded that seek and demand my life; let them be turned backward and brought to confusion and dishonor who desire and delight in my hurt. Let them be turned back and appalled because of their shame and disgrace who say, Aha, aha! May all those who seek, inquire of and for You, and require You [as their vital need] rejoice and be glad in You; and may those who love Your salvation say continually, Let God be magnified! But I am poor and needy; hasten to me, O God! You are my Help and my Deliverer; O Lord, do not tarry!

Again and again, Ordinary and i lost our way. Again and again, we cried out for the Dream Giver to show us the way. But no answer came. We sat on his suitcase and refused to move until the Dream Giver showed up with a plan. Ordinary and i had never felt so lost and alone. We became angry. We got angrier and angrier.

In closing… Matthew 4 Then Jesus was led (guided) by the [Holy] Spirit into the wilderness (desert) to be tempted (tested and tried) by the devil. And He went without food for forty days and forty nights, and later He was hungry. You can read the details for yourself but in verse 11 it says, “Then the devil departed from Him, and behold, angels came and ministered to Him.”

Comments
  1. You have a cool site over here. I just wanna say thanks for all the interesting stuff on it. I’ll follow your site if you keep up the good work!

  2. sexcontacten says:

    I found this weblog very usefull and I just wanna thank you for that. I hope you keep up the perfect work!

  3. Morintith says:

    An interesting discussion is worth comment. I think that you should write more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but generally people are not enough to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers

    cheap lv outlet

    San Diego Chargers Jerseys

Leave a Reply

