Choose

Posted: February 7, 2013 in Wandering Thoughts
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Benjamin Rider wrote, ” You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You steer yourself any direction you choose. You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And YOU are the guy who’ll decide where you go. (Places)

On my journey there are and have not been any lack of things i have had to choose. As i make these choices my hope is that they make an impact on the world, but more realistically just those that are around me. Regardless of any effort or not, i want my choices to turn out to be right. Navigating my choices often feels like a full time job.

In some ways this conflicts with my thoughts about being just a simple creation of God’s, never doing anything noteworthy or significant to anyone or anything in this world. my significance would simply be that what i said and did was simply to make sure that God got the kudos, the pat on the back, the praise, honor and glory.

Perhaps it is time for me to once again read Dr. Suess’s Oh the Places You’ll Go! If memory serves me correctly it guides me through challenges, opportunities and unexpected turns that life offers…. no that life throws at me. It helps me to respond to those unexpected turns with creativity, courage, and imagination.

Perhaps i have lost sight of the idea that miracles are for today. As i look back on yesterday i do not sense that i saw or heard any such thing as a miracle. My definition or description of a miracle would not be just any miracle, but one designed by heaven just for me. One that may significantly change someone’s life for the better, or maybe even change my life for the better.

It seems that my life would be better if each and every day i would experience a, “i can’t believe what just happened! That was a miracle!” As i look back i have experienced many days that contained just such events, “I’ll never forget the time…”

It’s in those moments that i think that God is very personal and i am the only one He is thinking about at that exact moment, and it’s where i hear Him say something like, I’m here ed, I care about you ed, I can do for you what you can not do for yourself ed.

i know that i know God did not place me on this earth to notice Him at work only once or twice in my life. He did not create me to consistently miss out on the wonder of His presence. i believe i was created to wake up each and every morning knowing that i am where i am and doing what i am doing as well as being who i am being to deliver at least one miracle to one person.

CHOOSE: Pick out or select (someone or something) as being the best or most appropriate of two or more alternatives. Decide on a course of action, typically after rejecting alternatives: “he chose to go”.

Leave a Reply

